We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
McAllen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I went with my kids July 21 through 28. People there are very nice and constantly ask how everything is going. Johnny the concierge was very helpful and really cares about customer service. The resort is very clean and has a lot to offer. I really enjoyed the animals that they have their in captivity and was very impressed with their habitats, they were better than zoo's in USA. I would definitely go back and highly recommend. Thanks, Omar

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Omar,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with your family at our resort. We greatly appreciate your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our wildlife reserve and other facilities. I will be sure to congratulate Johnny on a job well done at Concierge.

Once again, thank you!

Pura Vida!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    168
    52
    20
    11
See reviews for
456
590
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

What a beautiful resort. We asked if it was at capacity b/c it was so quiet and we were told it was at 90%. I believe there were only 40 something rooms. We felt as if we had the entire resort to ourselves. Very peaceful and beautiful. As a travel agent I will tell you, this is definitely a luxury resort. The people were friendly. The only complaint I have was the prices of the food, very expensive! The rooms, the property, the people and Club Rio were top-notch. Will go back when we return to CR for sure!

Room Tip: Not sure if you could go wrong with any room here. Views are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I don't even know where to start, everything I experienced at The Springs was amazing. The hotel grounds were breathtakingly beautiful. Soaking in the hot springs with a view of the volcano is an unforgettable experience. Club Rio offers a multitude of fun activities. Some of these actives include horse backing riding, river rafting, and tours of the resort's animal conservatory. The amenities at the resort exceeded my expectations and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Some of the staff members that truly stick out in my mind that made my experience at the springs wonderful include Melanie, Nicole, Marvin, and Nano. If anyone is considering visiting Costa Rica I HIGHLY recommend staying at the Springs Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Springs resort and staff was amazing! The venue itself is beautiful, clean, and the views are to die for. The hot springs have to be the most amazing part of the resort. So relaxing and beautiful. The resort's Club Rio accommodations were awesome as well. We went on a horseback ride and took a tour of their wild animal conservatory. Nichole was so helpful in preparing us for our ride and Nano was our wonderful tour guide. Marvin was our tour guide for the animal conservatory. He took his time with us and had lots of great information about the animals. The staff was also very helpful with setting up activities outside of their facility. Melanie helped us reserve our zip lining tour, which was also a breathtaking experience. The food was amazing and fresh. The staff was so friendly and helpful. I felt so welcomed. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We ended up grabbing a last minute long weekend break at The Springs Resort and Spa the last weekend in July and ended up enjoying a magical weekend at their Villa Guayaba. Arenal is one of our favourite places to go here in Costa Rica and having stayed at a few hotels already I was very excited about finally getting to try out The Springs.

Villa Guayaba was even more beautiful in real life than in the pictures we had seen before on the website. The Villa sleeps four people with the chance to add a roll-away and/or crib for children. It has two bathrooms, one jacuzzi inside and a private plunge pool outside on the terrace. The Villa has a well equipped kitchen as well which was fantastic when traveling with children. We went to stock up on food and drinks to please everyone at the local Super Christian just outside of La Fortuna before retreating to our wonderful private paradise in the jungle.

The best thing with the Villa was that it comes with your personal golf cart so you can whizz up and down the mountain whenever you feel like it. I think this was one of the favourite things around here for my husband and my little girl.

When she was not riding the golf cart, our three year old was up and down in the hot springs here on the property as well as enjoying lots of time in the private plunge pool. The hot springs were very beautifully laid out, but not as hot as at Tabacon which was a bit of a disappointment. Although, having our own private pool with heating and jets made up for that, as did the fact that we could supervise her from the hammocks!

A must see attraction right on site is the Club Rio adventure center that they have set up at the bottom of the canyon. You can take the bus from just outside the lobby every half an hour to head down there throughout the day. We had a walk around in the jungle, discovering little secluded hot springs here and there as well as checked out the river where you can do tubing and rafting. They also offer rock wall climbing, horse back riding and there is an animal rescue centre where you can all kinds of animals. And there is a restaurant as well in case you get hungry. What's amazing with this set up is that you do not even have to leave your hotel to get to do all these activities while from many other hotels you have to be bussed for hours for these experiences.

In general the experience was fantastic, the staff on site was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The cleaning personnel was amazing and took great care of us throughout our stay, leaving fun towel animals in their wake every time they stopped by for the three year old to discover. At the Villa we had cleaning once in the morning and then they stopped by at night again wanting to "prepare the bed for the night". We actually never ended up having this second cleaning service as the children were already asleep by the time they showed up (7.30pm), but they left us chocolates instead to make up for that.

We only enjoyed the breakfasts at the hotel and instead chose to cook all the other meals at the house. The breakfast selection was extensive and they even offered egg white omelets and freshly squeezed juices of your own choice which was great. I had a cheeky cocktail one night as well to try out how well the bartenders can whip up a Caipirinha, they excelled at the task and I got to enjoy a delicious treat in our lit up plunge pool while listening to the sound of the jungle and the stream next door. Best of all, the bartender told me I can just give the bar a call if I want another one and he will personally deliver it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We just got back from CR and WOW! What an amazing family vacation. Things we loved about this hotel:
- EVERYONE on staff was super friendly, helpful and accommodating
- despite the rain (and there was a lot during our visit) there was plenty for the family to do
- Food was very good (not WOW) and restaurants were very accommodating to tastes - you could even order from another restaurant on property
-rooms were spacious, clean and made us feel like we were in CR. We were in room 217 which had 2 bedrooms. Kids (ages 10 and 13) slept in twin beds in one room. 2 full bathrooms. back patio with hot springs jacuzzi tub/pool and hammocks
-Club Rio is this hotel's activity center. The hotel buses you to Club Rio (about an 8-10 min ride) You can rock climb, go horseback riding, see exotic animals up close, river tubing and more. The staff is great and the amenities are super...even the bathrooms.
-The kids' game room was also great. It felt different than other hotel "game rooms." Andre was on staff and engaged with the kids. In addition to some xbox type games there was ping pong, and board games and puzzles. We did not fly all the way to CR to let our kids hang out in the game room, but when they did, Andre ensured everyone was safe and engaged.
-concierge - johnny and nicole were awesome. I tasted some salsa linzano at one of our trek adventure lunches and wanted to bring some back home. I was told I could get some at any local grocery store. Johnny picked some up in plastic bottles (good for travel) at his local grocery store. WOW!
- housekeeping....left cute towel-gami animals on our beds. I asked one of the housekeepers if she could dazzle us with a few more animals and when we came back...wow! a frog, dinosaur, alligator and cat were waiting for us.
- for the ladies - nice hair blowers in the room...better than the mini travel ones we can't stand!
-organized....we planned several adventures thru different companies and the hotel staff made sure we went on our different adventures with the right company.
Can't say enough great things about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

When traveling outside of the United States for vacation, it's difficult to find a place that has great food, a safe environment, and amazing accommodations and amenities. The Springs Resort exceeded all of our expectations and Costa Rica didn't disappoint. We will definitely bring our family on this adventure again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;