We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!!! Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!!! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our stay at the Springs Resort was nothing short of incredible. From the time we arrived at the reception until the moment we left, the staff went out of their way in every possible way to make sure our stay in Arenal was enjoyable and perfectly coordinated.

Our room was beautiful and spacious and even had a jacuzzi on the porch (highly recommended). The various springs, hot tubs and water slide around the resort are amazing and is a great way to relax after a day of fun filled adventure activities. The concierge and staff truly go above and beyond to make every need and request is attended to and everything is done with a smile.

The manager Luis did everything in his power to make us comfortable and happy, we've never experienced such hands on treatment from management and it went a long way.
Charlie in the kitchen made sure all our meals were a cut above the rest and met our standards. Jason and Alex at the front desk worked hard to extend our stay at the hotel as we had a late flight and needed a place to change and get ready after a long day of activities. Jose and Erick did their best to fulfill all of our requests, no matter how small they were. Johnny and Nicole at the concierge made sure to coordinate some of our trips last minute and went out of their way to make sure we could accomplish all we wanted. Fabian on the night shift was great as well. In particular, the different activities at Camp Rio on the hotel premises is highly recommended especially the river tubing.

For anyone looking for a top notch yet comfortable and relaxed environment in Arenal, look no further - The Springs is the place to be!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi on the porch is a great room to get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    170
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
458
598
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield,CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the springs for a 10th anniversary trip with the kids. Our room was lovely and the hot springs were very nice. The resort is very clean and housekeeping was fantastic. Some of the staff went out of the way but others ignored you. The breakfast buffet is varied but otherwise the food is awful and it is a 40 dollar trip to town, which makes you feel like you are trapped. They seem concerned with customer service in words but not so much in actions. We had special silver bracelets that were supposed to alert the staff that we were celebrating, but no one mentioned a word the whole stay. Everything is very expensive and the tours cost a fortune but at least you get a chance to see all the country has to offer. All in all, I wish the staff had been more attentive and the food up to par.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This property is simply stunning; from the rich warm woodwork that adorns the walls, to the beautifully tiled flooring, and amazing views from nearly every inch of the main building and guest rooms.

Upon arrival we were promptly greeted by the staff, given a quick tour of the property, which included a cold beverage that tasted very good after our 4-hour ride from the airport. The property is a bit remote, but it’s well worth the journey if you’re in search of such a hidden gem.

The guest rooms are perfectly designed. Amazing views, lots of room to store your stuff, great lighting with dimmers (nice) and enough flat surfaces to satisfy those of us who need to spread out. Electrical outlets are everywhere. The adult beverage selection within the room was extensive and included a nice selection of wine, liquor, beer and soda. A full size coffee maker or maybe a single cup brewer would have been the only thing that could be improved. The small 4-cup hotel version is not sufficient for those of us that enjoy several cups while sitting on the balcony in the morning.

The food was fresh and tasty with several options for dining. Club Rio which is located on property, provides a great opportunity to see flowers, waterfalls, gecko’s and even the occasional frog. And the birds, of every shape and color are everywhere.

The property was spotless clean. I witness them dusting the light fixtures, every archway and even under the trash cans daily. The restrooms were always spotless as well.

The staff was a bit of a mixed bag. Some were excellent, many more were very good, and a couple stood out as outstanding. I’m admittedly very critical in this area, so fair warning.

The shuttle driver who took us from the main building to Club Rio was outstanding. He ran the shuttle on a Swiss watch schedule, was very welcoming, remembered us, and pointed out interesting birds and other animals along the brief one-mile ride down the Club. The housekeeper who was sweeping the leaves from the roadway (yes, actually sweeping the road) saw me from 100 feet away and could have easily kept right on working, instead, took the time to stop sweeping, looked up, made eye contact, smiled and waved a big good morning! WOW! I felt like the only person in the world she cared about at that very moment.

An opportunity for improvement – for a hotel of this caliber that only has 47 rooms, I don’t expect to have to get up and look for someone to bring me more coffee during breakfast. I don’t expect to have to wait even 15 seconds for two staff members to finish their conversation before acknowledging me waiting to speak with them. And I don’t expect to have to go find umbrella’s myself when it’s clear to the staff members standing in the same area that it’s pouring rain and I’m trying to figure out how to get to my guest room without getting soaked. Truly world-class staff anticipates the guests needs and meets them before the guest even realizes they need help. As an example, when staying at another property recently – my wife and I had finished breakfast, well I had finished I should say. My wife was still trying to drink down a bit more coffee as I was rushing her onto our next location. A waiter noticed this from afar and rushed over with a to-go cup for my wife. We didn’t even need to ask. In fact we hadn’t even thought about asking. He saw the pending need and took care of it before we even realized it was a need!! That’s world-class service.

Overall I would highly recommend The Springs Resort & Spa. It’s a world-class property that was designed by a brilliant architect, has views and views and views, is spotlessly clean, serves great fresh food and offers very good to outstanding service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a huge facility and actually pretty fun, even for a 59-year old couple! There are several different types of restaurants and many, many pools, with about half of them being fed by natural hot springs. The pools are man made, pretty tastefully, and several are connected. We had these pools to ourselves many times. We even made a challenge for fun of making sure we got in every single one of them! The little kid in us came out!

The restaurants went from an outdoor grill to an upscale dinner service only restaurant. La Ventanas is the “fancy” one and we ate there three of the nights we stayed. The food was delicious and much more creative than the other restaurants. Except the Sushi one. We enjoyed that twice and found we liked sitting in the outdoor sushi bar. No matter where you eat you can purchase a bottle of wine and they will keep it for you, retrieving it later at which ever place you eat. The grill and the large “regular” restaurants had mediocre food where they appeared to try to make western food and not quite getting it. We found it hard to find Costa Rican food at this resort. But, the breakfast buffet was great!

Our room was very nice and had a patio with a spring fed hot tub. We really enjoyed this as the rains came! Our view was of the volcano which was just beautiful. The bathroom was really nice and large. We were extremely happy with the room and recommend the hot tub ones. The only down side was the sounds we could here from other guests all around us. One was the screen doors slamming every time someone came in or out of their room. We could also hear every conversation going on in the surrounding rooms when they were on their patio….so be careful what you say!

Overall we had a good time but next time we will try some other place and see if we can find something that is more Costa Rican and our taste.

Room Tip: Room with a spa on the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is the place to go if you have an active family. We loved the tubing and horseback riding-- all on property. There is a fun and fast waterslide that splashes you down into a 93 degree mineral pool. The kids loved it. After you are done with your hiking or other adventure there are countless thermal pools to relax in-- the brochure says 18, but I swear there were more! I highly recommend the "Calcium Trail" down in Club Rio where you will find hidden mineral pools that you can most likely enjoy by yourself. We were not fortunate during our 4 night stay to see the whole of Arenal Volcano but the area is beautiful in itself. The positives of this hotel far outweigh any complaints, but I will mention that the food, while mostly good, was hit or miss. The beef, in particular always seemed to be tough.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, consider that there will be a lot of heavy rain, especially in the rainy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was one of my favourite hotels I've ever been too. There was lots to do here, but also plenty of places to relax. The property was amazing. It was lush and had amazing views of the volcano. We stayed in the Toucan building and the room was exceptional. The view while just lying in our bed was so great, I brought my camera to bed to take a picture of my wake-up view. The balconies were comfortable, with large cushioned chairs and hammocks.
The property was beautiful. There were hot spring pools everywhere, and even a waterside for my kids. There was also a normal pool if you didn't want hot water. The restaurants and property were beautiful. You could eat sushi by the bar, eat burgers in an open restaurant overlooking the rainforest, or even the main restaurant was mostly outdoors and amazing.
Club Rio was great and so much fun. My 9 year old daughter and I did the Tubing in the river. The guides were great and experienced, and made sure my daughter was safe and having fun. We also did the tour of the wildlife sanctuary, and the guide (Christian) was very knowledgeable.
In short, I have no complaints and if I could get to this resort without the 3 hour drive from a major airport, I would probably come back every year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Springs in Costa Rica is an amazing haven of relaxation and beauty. The design of our room, which was the baseline (Vista Guest Room, first level), felt as if just as much thought and beauty went into the design as any other venue at the property. Our room, with a king bed, had a bathroom that almost 1/2 the size of the room - very spacious. The porch, which would be a balcony on the other levels, still provided an amazing view of the Aernal area volcano. The ceiling fan, which we opted to use, but the room also has A/C, was a little noisy but we preferred it to the A/C. My husband and I knew that we would be visiting at a time of year (late May) when there would most likely be a lot of rain and cloudy weather, so we planned accordingly. There was a wide range of activities that you could take part in or just luxuriate in the natural beauty of the resort. We did the tour of rescued animals, but if you are interested in this aspect, then I highly recommend their sister property, The Peace Lodge at the La Paz Waterfall and Gardens. We spent a lot of time relaxing on our porch hammocks reading, watching the birds visit the flowers that framed the porch and of course the clouds lazily moving in front of the volcano until we were rewarded with an amazing view of the top of the volcano. We opted for the SkyTrek adventure and the coordination by The Springs with the SkyTrek facility, including securing a driver for us, was seamless and worry free. We found that the thermal pools were just as warm as the signs advised and we had no problem staying in the pools during an afternoon rainfall (these were not thunderstorms); however, your drinks will get wet! If you elect to stay at the resort, then you should be ok with the prices for the drinks and food at the resort. Keep in mind that those prices help to pay the salaries for the amazing staff that work at the resort. We ate at the breakfast buffet every morning, which was very plentiful with choices and the staff was always courteous and helpful in getting us what we needed. This included Roxana, Adrien, Renso and Juan. On our last day, the owner of the resort, Lee Banks was on property and guests were providing direct feedback to him. The Crazy Monkey drink prepared by Henry down at the Rio Club Bar was a favorite of ours. Las Ventanas, the fine dining restaurant, provided the level of service and cuisine expected of a fine dining restaurant. Luis and Armando alternated providing us with amazing service every night that we dined there during our stay. Ginger Sushi provided some tasty appetizers and all of the fish tasted fresh. Treetops Grill was good to grab a burger, but we didn't find it to be highly rated. We weren't concerned given the gorgeous view and the cervezas were cold, so it was a satifsfying lunch overall. We had an amazing stay and highly recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. We opted for the private driver service to and from the property and found that its to your advantage to use it unless you plan on traveling to other parts of Costa Rica on your own. The price is on par with renting a car on your own but without the hassle of driving or being responsible for managing the process if you are involved in an accident, which appears to be very easy to do. The two lane roads in Costa Rica are paved but are extremely winding and steep and all bridges are one lane, so drive with extreme caution on your own - it may be very exhausting just to travel 25 miles, which could take up to an hour.

Room Tip: Its all based on what you are willing to pay, but you won't have a bad view no matter what level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.