We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful day at the springs resort!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
La Virgen, Costa Rica
1 review
“wonderful day at the springs resort!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we went with our family and spent the day doing kayaking, horseback riding, climbing and of course we were blown away by the vasriety of hotsrpings all over the resort grounds and forests. the veiws were amazing. all the help at the hotel was fantastic and the food was great too!! i have tried several of the hotsprings resorts in la fortuna area and this is by far the best!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    973
    145
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
387
535
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Coco was the driver that the Springs sent to pick us up in San Jose and we requested him for all of our outings needing transportation. He was very helpful and made us all comfortable. I cannot imagine staying anywhere other than The Springs if we go back to the area. Everyone on the staff was extremely helpful and so friendly. Renso was our waiter a few times and was most enjoyable. From check in, to house keeping to waiters & waitresses everyone was great. The only place that I have every been that everyone was so pleasant. Joselyn was the concierge that helped us most of the time and did a fantastic job in helping us choose outings and informing us on the area. All outings were amazing and we wished we had time for more. We did the zip lines tour from The Springs, Waterfall rappeling, ATV'ing, and tubing at Club Rio. All were well done and a suggestion might be to purchase a GoGo camera to take video during the events (some places rent them). Our room was very comfortable, clean perfectly with towel sculptures daily. Each room has a wonderful flower arrangement that is prepared daily on site with many local flowers. There are almost as many pools as there are rooms so it is no problem to find a quiet spot to relax and soak. The Springs is perfect for couples or families. All of the restaurants served the freshest food which was wonderfully prepared. Most of the food was organically & locally grown leading it to be far better than what is served in USA restaurants. We did not try the The WIndows (it looked very good) as the weather was always so nice we wanted to eat outside. The breakfast buffet had so many delicious things it was hard not to go overboard. The second half of our trip was to Guanacasta which was nice but left us thinking of the relaxing tranquil experience of The Springs. Thank you and nice job to all the Springs staff.

Room Tip: we were in 215 but I think all of the rooms have an awesome view. First level may have a few trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently stayed for five days in a two-bedroom villa at the Springs. The resort itself is really beautiful. It's very private. It sits a significant distance off the main road and the rooms look directly across the valley at the volcano (the pictures do not do the view justice). There are a ton of hot springs, which are very nice (though as other reviewers note, the minerals will stain your skin and clothes). The pools and slides are great too -- kept our kids busy for hours. The rooms are very large, with enornously high ceilings and very high end furniture. In fact, they are probably the largest rooms I've seen in a hotel (we were with another family that stayed in the main property, and their rooms were huge as well). Our villa had a full kitchen (with granite countertops and stocked with wine, spirits, and other types of alcohol) that we never used, but I suppose it could be useful for those wishing to cook meals. It also had its own (and large) backyard patio and a very large spa that looked directly at the volcano. The restaurants on property are good, but not great.

Would really recommend this place for families -- with kids of all ages. That said, in speaking with the manager, the owner is interested in putting a casino on property. I worry that will totally change the dynamic of this beautiful, family-friendly place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We finished our family vacation to Costa Rica with a few days at the Springs - incredible place. At first we were a bit worried as the lobby felt like Disneyland but the experience was fantastic. Many things for each of us to do, great food and the nicest staff. Both Donalds (Perdidos Bar and the Sushi Bar) were particular highlights, made us feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lay down in a top-end bed to have a unobstructed view of Arenal Volcano.Golf cart to your room or walk to your temperature choice hot springs spa, meals on a patio viewing the volcano, take the bus to on the property animal preserves where rescued animal are maintained, kayak, tube or swim the "rapids" walk the rain forest or simply sit in a springs hot tub....All available on a 176 acre Resort.....The only draw back is the 3 hour drive to get there. But now, you can fly to Fortuna

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in a hotel up the road from the Spa and spent an afternoon dipping in all of the wonderful heated pools. The staff was great and the service was excellent. The are many different pools to choose from, some hotter and some not so hot. The best part is that you are allowed to take beverages into the pools with you so you can stay hydrated... including beer - NEVER happen in the states. If you are looking for some comfort and a really neat jungle spot, this is it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights last week and it was paradise. The springs were relaxing and plentiful. We had a great time going down the slide and tubing in club rio. The room was perfect and great for a romantic getaway. The view of the volcano was picture perfect. The staff was excellent. Allan was our hotel guide when we checked in and he was so helpful. We enjoyed meeting Jay and Jamie at the "guest night" happy hour. This hotel may seem pricey but it was worth it. The resort is so spacious you always felt like you could be completely alone if you wanted to. I wouldn't stay anywhere else and we will definitely go back. Oh and don't miss breakfast! Tasty!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.