We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not stay at the Springs but had a day pass.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Did not stay at the Springs but had a day pass.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Some friends of ours were travelling through Costa Rica and an opportunity presented itself for us to meet up with them in the Arenal / La Fortuna area so we took the 3½ hour drive from the Central Pacific coast to meet them. We stayed overnight and over the two days we took the opportunity to visit the hot springs. We chose the Springs Resort and Spa as they offered a very good value “special two day pass” We found the staff to be very helpful from the moment of arrival to the moment of our departure, even the front gate security man was friendly and helpful and helped our friends get pictures of the waterfall at the front gate. The first day we arrived in the mid-morning and opted to go down to the “Club Rio” and enjoy the hot springs and river there. On arrival at the club we were met by staff and guides and first went on a tour of the wildlife rescue sanctuary where we had a chance to see a variety of Toucans, Sloths, various monkeys and the highlight the wild cats, Margay, Ocelot, Jaguarundi and Puma. The walk through the sanctuary was up hill and toward the end my “gammy” leg was protesting so Jorge our very helpful guide called for a mini bus shuttle to take me and the rest of the group back down to the club. We then sampled the various hot springs pools all of varying temperatures, the hotel provides towels for day pass visitors and there are very good changing and shower facilities at the various locations and after a late lunch at the riverside restaurant we left to explore more of the area. Next morning saw us back at “The Springs” to partake of the waters once again, this time opting for the pools in and around the hotel and after copious amounts of soaking in hot water and a cocktail at the swim up bar (with volcano view) we moved on to lunch at the “Treetops Restaurant”. Sadly it was then time to depart, our friends were off to the hanging bridges and we heading back to Central Pacific coast. We found the Springs to be a place that we would happily return to at any time, staff were friendly and helpful, drinks and food was not over expensive considering the location and although we did not stay in the hotel overnight we are sure that the great service extends to residents.
There are other activities available at the “Club Rio” tubing, kayaking, and rappelling and rock wall climbing, great for the more agile visitors. There is a complimentary shuttle bus every 30 minutes between the hotel and the “Club Rio” as well as golf cart shuttles on request between the various hotel levels. We will be back…………….

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear TMSEgypt,

Thank you for your recent visit as a day pass guest! We appreciate your feedback. Our staff strives to provide each and every guest with the best possible service. I would like to especially thank you for all of the kind comments about our Club Rio Outdoor Center. I will be sure to congratulate Jorge on a job well done. We hope to see you back soon - hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy our guest rooms!

From all of us at The Springs Resort and Spa... Pura Vida!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    167
    52
    20
    11
See reviews for
455
584
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Colombia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was one of my favorite trips to a hotel. The grounds are marvelous and our room (319) had a phenomenal view of the volcano. The room was gorgeous, very large and decorated nicely.

The staff was all very very nice. I have nothing seen such nice staff before. They were all helpful. They even knew our names. They even gave our friends who were on their Anniversary a bottle of wine in their room, which was nice of them.

When you compare the price of this hotel to the others in Arenal, you'll see there isnt much difference and is in fact more affordable than most of the other options. I can say from experience that nowhere else I have stayed comes close to this place in terms of the grounds, hot springs, food, cleanliness, etc. Even the buffet was great. I will certainly go back as its now my favorite hotel in Arenal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear highper,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and all of the other amenities we offer! Your nice comments about our food and cleanliness are greatly appreciated. I hope that we were able to make your friends anniversary unforgettable. From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Most important thing for you to know is, if you can get a reservation, BOOK HERE! Still new and immaculately maintained this facility provides everything you need for both relaxation as well as activities. Communications from initial booking through departure were exceptional and thorough. The drive there (from San Jose can take 2-3 hours, depending on traffic) takes you through beautiful country and provides a preview of the spectacular volcano that will greet you up close every morning because every room and angle at The Springs has an unobstructed view. Upon check-in and welcome tour you know you've arrived somewhere special and will find that when staff tells you to let them know if you need anything, they mean it and will do everything in their power to make things happen. Our room, second floor alta vista, was roomy with a private terrace, well appointed with huge bathroom and rain shower with great pressure, double sink vanity, step-up garden tub with plenty of hot water and private toilet area. We enjoyed fresh coffee each morning in jammies on the private terrace without having to leave our room thanks to the generous portions of coffee and pot in-room. Spotted several tropical birds, including a toucan, from our terrace. Concierge Johnny helped us plan our days at Club Rio and around La Fortuna and we were able to go horseback riding (Oscar and Nonno were wonderful guides), visit the wild animal sanctuary, hike the primary rain forest, experience Extreme ATVing through another area of the primary rain forest (Andre even brought us to his home and gave a tour of his farm, also stopped at a small local store for a cool drink), went whitewater rafting and rafted on a local river, and hiked the rainforest and hanging bridges, providing more monkey, bird and insect sightings, including a huge spider at least a foot in diameter! Each activity provided breathtaking views and up-close-and-personal animal and insect sightings - leaf cutters marching across the rainforest, howler monkeys, huge iguanas, owls, a panther(!), deer, snakes, several species of bird, turtles and a crocodile-yikes! There were more, just can't remember all. We didn't book anything prior to our trip, preferring to wait and obtain more info on site and had no problem at all booking exactly what we wanted when we wanted it. Raft trip was with Canoa Aventura, have Johnny request Pablo and Jorge as your guides, they were great, never rushing, have trained eyes to find and point out amazing creatures, were humorous and engaging and also brought us to a private farm for home made snacks and drinks mid-trip. Before or after your adventures relax at one of the many, many pools at The Springs, both fresh water and volcanic, right on property. Have lunch or beverages delivered to you right in the water. There are so many pools to choose from and you can sun privately tucked around a smaller pool. Stroll the extensive grounds and enjoy the magnificent surroundings. Everything you could possibly want is right here, enjoy and take advantage. At first booked a rental car, after more research elected to cancel that and hire a driver from The Springs to pick us up at San Jose Airport and really glad we did. Wish I could remember driver's name, he was wonderful, knew the routes (huge advantage) provided water, inquired of our comfort and offered to stop throughout the trip. Found we didn't need a car while in La Fortuna as taxis and drivers are available for anything you may want to do. Renting a car in Costa Rica can be expensive and a hassle as they require extreme insurance and other proof, driving the narrow two-lane roads with bikers and walkers also on road seemed harrowing, and after speaking to others were happy and relieved we left the driving to others and simply relaxed and enjoyed the ride. While our reservation said European plan and we thought daily breakfast was included found it wasn't, so be aware. Buffet was massive and good at $15, lunch and dinner in same location are from the menu. We found the food at the fine dining, sushi bar and Treetop restaurants to be more enjoyable than main restaurant. It wasn't bad, just nothing memorable. Be aware there is a 10% service charge on every food bill. This is the tip. We generally added to it but didn't know exactly what the service fee was for first few days so tipped VERY generously at first, still added more even after we learned what it was, felt servers earned it. Employees at The Springs frequently speak of their boss, developer Lee Banks, with respect and admiration ("Mr. Lee Banks is often here working alongside us.") His positive attitude and high level of service and attention to detail is reflected throughout. Everyone spoke excellent English everywhere we went in La Fortuna so that was never a problem. Suggest you bring both sunscreen and insect repellant with you as it was expensive to purchase there. Bottom line: we wanted something special to celebrate our anniversary and got EXTRAORDINARY! Thanks to everyone at The Springs. Wish we could mention you all by name.

Room Tip: Every room is quiet and has an excellent view, alta vista (second floor) makes you feel that much cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear JayHawk17,

Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for your kind and genuine comments about your recent stay. Our staff strives to provide each and every guest with flawless service and a memorable vacation experience. I will be sure to share your wonderful comments with each of the staff members you mentioned. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your trip to Arenal/La Fortuna. Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any help booking your next visit!

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Melanie@thespringscostarica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This resort was absolutely amazing. The rooms have the most spectacular views facing the Volcano. The multiple Hot Springs and pools were so relaxing. The Spa was beautiful and the staff were so wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Dana N,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. We hope your stay was a highlight of your vacation. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to book your next stay!

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the Springs in January 2013 in a two bedroom suite; we were travelling with good friends. Initially, I had agreed to spend a few nights at the Springs because of its location though all the while thinking that I would miss the beach. As well, I was concerned that it might be too quiet, not enough to do, weather not as reliable. Actually, it was beyond our expectations! - a unique location, absolutely beautiful surroundings, and excellent over-the-top service. We enjoyed it so much that we extended for several days and shortened our stay at our next location, a large hotel chain at the beach. We travel quite often and have stayed at many 5 star resorts throughout North America and the Caribbean both all inclusive and not all-inclusive and we agreed that this one one of our favorite experiences to date. Our room was spacious and unique, beautifully designed to match the location. The staff at The Springs were wonderful and our trip was filled with many details that really made us feel as if they were truly going the extra mile. Service was very quick, friendly, and accommodating not just for drinks and food but all elements such as getting a shuttle, changing a mattress, delivering to our room, concierge bookings, etc. This resort has the benefit of being small in size only 40+ rooms but having a wonderful array of amenities, activities - you do not feel limited in any way. The hot springs were wonderful. Our stay started out with a super resort tour from Harriol; already learning so many things about Costa Rica and the beautiful vegetation and wildlife around us, we were hooked! We had excellent meal service and friendly chats continually from Maikol and Manuel and, on departure, Johnny did a fabulous job coordinating a private transfer for us to Los Suenos along with a coffee plantation tour and a tour with lunch at the sister property, The Peace Lodge. Gabrielle at the spa arranged our treatments and even set up extra special touches to make the experience memorable (without specific requests being made - I was surprised!). Many thanks to the wonderful staff and kudos to the owner for staff selection and retention - in our ten-day vacation it was easy to see that the owners are well respected in Costa Rica. We also did some external tours as well as river tubing at the Club, toured the animals there, and had dinner in town one evening at a local restaurant on recommendation. We can't wait to return (and maybe even bring our young families)!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Arobert01,

Thank you for your thoughtful review! I am happy to hear we were able to exceed your expectations about our resort and its location. It is an honor to be compared to other great properties and know we were able to provide you with an amazing experience. Our staff aims to provide the best possible service to each and every one of our guest, and I am glad we were able to meet this goal for you and your family. I will be sure to congratulate Maikol, Manuel, Johnny, and Gabrielle on a job well done.

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The hotel is nice but I would not consider it luxury. If you are thinking 5 staff quality and service this is not the place. More of and adult Disney or camp. The staff is fine but do not go out of there way to make you feel special or pampered. Towels and paper cups are left throughout the property for way to long without anyone coming over to cleanup. On the good side they make the hot springs seem really natural and the property while big is not overcrowded even when fully booked.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear VVacation2013,

I would like to personally apologize that your expectations of our resort were not met on your recent visit. Our staff strives to provide top notch service for each and every one of our guests. Our maintenance crew currently works 24 hours to ensure our property remains spotless. I am saddened to hear we did not meet our goal during your time with us, however, we appreciate your kind comments regarding our natural hot springs.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The grounds are beautiful. The staff/service at the restaurant are not.

We did not sleep here but rather opted to pay for the pools and dinner package at $86.00 a person (including $5.00 locker fee). If u come here u are better off just paying for the "hot springs" access and forget about dinner.

The hostess (1st impression) was aloof. We were seated (segregated) far-far away from any kind of attentive service. (I waited tables for 22 years, so I know the business and hence, the reason why I never write poor reviews) But, this was ridiculous. We paid a lot of money to come and enjoy what should have been a memorable, happy experience. Instead, we were "served" by one of 4 waitors who truly seemed CONSTIPATED and cold (the opposite of Costa Rican Pura Vida!). We really don't know what his problem was but he ruined it for us :(
Let me please emphasize- we are not difficult patrons by any means.

We were, basically, neglected in the dark corner. Time passed by as we waited forever and a day for our food-culminating in to a poor excuse of a dessert-bland whipped cream covered cake that I could have done without had I known would leave me so unsatisfied and peeved! The restaurant wasn't even busy-that's what made it worse. We were left with only 2 hours of "hot spring" time since we waited so long to be served. It really left a bad taste and feeling with us.

That being said, the "hot springs"-fake or not-were fun.

Just DON'T PAY for the DINNER PACKAGE!!!-it ruined the experience :(

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Travelhereandthere0,

I wanted to take this opportunity to personally apologize for not meeting your expectations. Please know that we strive to deliver flawless service and unforgettable experiences to our guests. I am saddened that we did not meet our goal during your visit. I can assure you that your experience was out of the ordinary, and will not happen again.

I would appreciate if you contacted me directly so that I may have the opportunity to discuss your problems with our service. My email is Melanie@thespringscostarica.com and my phone number is (506) 2401-3300. I cannot contact you directly because I don't see a name or contact information on your TA profile. I would also like to give you the direct contact information for our Operations Manager, John Picart. You can email John@thespringscostarica.com.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Melanie Marsell
Director of Groups and Events
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.