We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort I've ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Resort I've ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My Husband, myself, and another couple booked a four day three night mini vacation to the Springs Resort and Spa. A few weeks before our arrival we were told that no rooms were available on the first night of our arrival so they were going to put us in a two bedroom Villa...Oh how lucky for us! Villa Calatea was so amazing!! A fully stocked kitchen, a living room separated the two king size bedrooms which both had gorgeous bathrooms, his and hers sinks, shower and lovely deep Jacuzzi tub, your own separate patio and an outside shower to boot! The Villa also included a pool and a golf cart. Of course we wanted to stay in our Villa but the next day we were moved to our "regular" rooms...but OMG lets just say these are NOT your regular hotel rooms.... we were greeted with an amazing picture window with a magical view of the Arenal Volcano! The room was large and beautifully appointed with a bathroom as large as the Villa!
The Resort itself is an oasis after after the 3 hour drive from San Jose airport. The grounds are immaculately and the employees couldn't do enough for you!
Lee Banks the owner got it sooooo right!!!!

Room Tip: The second floor is probably preferred but every room has an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for spending four days with us! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Villa Calatea as well as in our Vista Guest Room. The owner, Mr. Lee Banks, sends his thanks for your kind and genuine comments. It was a pleasure serving you and we welcome you back for your next vacation - hopefully sooner rather than later!

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa... Pura Vida!

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,078
    164
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
440
572
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The Arenal Mountain view is extraordinary!! The rooms have a full wall of windows with unobstructed views of Arenal. The large balcony includes table, chairs and two hammocks to enjoy the scenery. The rooms are large, modern and well maintained with friendly, accommodating staff. There are many activities for all ages both on and off the beautiful property. The hot springs are plentiful and placed around the property in varying sizes and shapes. Near the river on the lower property there are animal enclosures including monkeys, large cats and butterflies with guided tours. Food services are also plentiful with everything from casual to fine dining. We thoroughly enjoyed our times at The Springs and recommend it to couples and families of all sizes.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation. Our staff strives to exceed all of our guests expectations and I am happy to know we were able to do that for you. I am glad you were able to enjoy our many hot springs and on property activities. We will be looking forward to your next trip!

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa... Pura Vida!

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Springs Resort is such an amazing place. We stayed one week at this fabulous resort but wanted to stay longer. The beauty and peacefulness is uncomparable. We enjoyed the mineral pools throughout the property and we also enjoyed having our private mineral spa in our patio. We had such a great time with all the activities on and off the property while also enjoying the water slide almost every day. The food at all the restaurants was very good. The staff was very friendly and attentive, reminding us of our stay at the Hotel Chain "The One and Only" where the staff went beyond. Jay and Jaime are always there to listen to you and take care of whatever needs you have. They are a very dedicated couple and love what they are doing. We would like to mention other names like Michael, Armando, Tatiana, Jonny, Jocelyn, Roxana, Renso, Bernardo, Roberto, Cesar, Dennis, Oscar, Ushuba, Matt, David Jose, and Jose. Over at Club Rio, a big thanks to Roberto, Pablo, Jonathan, Giovanni, Alfredo, and Luis our guide at the Hanging Bridge. We couldn't get enough of the place, that is why we are going back next year, and hopefully for years to come. A big thanks to everyone, we miss you all and the beautiful resort, Pura Vida, Elsa and Rod from Southern California

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear valued guest,

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your week long stay with us! Thank you for your kind and genuine comments. Our staff strives to exceed all of our guests expectations and I am happy to know we were able to do that for you. I will be sure to recognize each of the staff members you mentioned personally for their exemplary customer service. It will be our pleasure to host you again - hopefully in the near future!

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa... Pura Vida!!

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I were so impressed with this resort. The rooms are amazing. They have so much character and the balconies are huge! I love the two hammocks. Customer Service is top notch!! All of the activities that we booked through the concierge were spot on. One piece of advice, unless you are the adventure seeking person, I would call the concierge and have a driver pick you up at the airport. It was very reasonable considering its a 3 hour drive from San Jose. The directions to the hotel are very obscure and I don't think we would have ever been able to find it on our own. The drivers are the hotel were super friendly and even took us to a local coffee shop on the way in. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to our resort! We are happy to know we were able to exceed you and your husbands expectations. All of our staff strives to provide each and every guest with the best customer service. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our drivers.

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Full Disclosure: I did not actually stay at The Springs but I did spend two full days at the resort.

The original title of this review was going to be something like: "How to Enjoy a $600 a night resort for $25 a day." While that title seemed a bit long and wordy, it should accurately describe the amazing deal we found at the Springs.

The Springs Resort is flat out amazing on so many levels. It is gorgeous. It is beautifully maintained. The service is excellent. There are enough different pools you need at least a couple days to enjoy them all. I've heard the resort described by some as "artificial" or "disneyesque" but I'd have to disagree. The place is simply incredible.

The one problem with The Springs however is the cost. In season, when we were in La Fortuna, you're looking at around $600 per night. I realize there are probably deals to be had if you plan ahead but unfortunately this was a last-minute kind of trip so we were out of luck to actually stay at the resort. Never fear however as the resort offers a day pass program that makes it possible for cheapos like myself to enjoy this amazing place.

For $50 you actually get full use of all the pools, hot springs, bars, and restaurants for two full days. Apparently there are a total of eighteen different pools so having two days is definitely a good thing. In addition to the pools and restaurants, your $50 also gets you a tour of their wildlife preserve. I have to admit I was a little skeptical of what I'd get for my "free" tour. I pictured a few cooped-up animals that would leave me more depressed than when I got there. Luckily the preserve is anything but. There is a wide variety of animals all kept in a beautifully maintained area. It was as good as many small zoos I've been to. Even better is you actually get to go in with the Toucans; an experience not to be missed.

Also during our time at the Springs we checked out their Club Rio area, a place best described as an outdoor adventure center crossed with a zoo. There are many activities available, kayaking, a climbing wall, horseback riding and several others. We did the river tubing and had a blast. It's not what you'd call extreme. It's about 500 yards of Class II rapids that you actually do twice. We actually took our mothers along with us, aged 68 and 72, and they loved it. Club Rio also has their own set of hot springs plus a bar/restaurant so it's a place you could spend an entire day if you wanted to try out several of the activities.

To give some idea of how relaxing and luxurious The Springs Resort is, on our last (half) day in the La Fortuna area we had two options:

1. Actually do the volcano hike in the national park, the main activity we drove 4.5 hours from Potrero to do.
2. Spend three more hours in the hot springs and pools.

I'm somewhat embarrassed to admit that it wasn't much of a decision to make, the springs were just too good to pass up. As a matter of fact, I was so impressed by this resort I want to go back to Arenal; not to visit the volcano, but to compare and contrast the other springs at Tabacon and Baldi. Maybe next time. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience with us! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are glad to hear that your whole family was able to enjoy our Club Rio Outdoor Center. It is a very special place with many activities for all ages! Our wildlife center is dedicated to providing the best possible life for our animals. We work very hard to ensure that they are well taken care of. We appreciate your great comments as this is a part of the resort that we truly take pride in.

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights, and what a beautiful experience! From the moment we arrived we were totally impressed. The grounds and buildings are gorgeous and the view of the volcano hard to describe.
The accommodations, the food, the springs, the spa, the services, just perfect.
Every one of the staff was ready to help you with everything you need to make your stay comfortable at any time. It was an unforgettable experience that we can't wait to repeat again. One of the most relaxing, beautiful and romantic resorts we have ever been in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Elisa F,

We truly appreciate your great comments! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about our property. Our staff strives to exceed all of our guests expectations and hope we were able to do that for you. I am glad you were able to relax and enjoy the food, springs, and spa!

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

You can not imagine how beautiful this resort is unless you experience it for yourself. Top of the line all the way. They cater to you in the most gorgeous surroundings of the rainforest. The staff are one of a kind there to make sure you have a wonderful experience. You can just relax in the many several private springs all day long or you can have adventure that they provide for you so easily.. I recommend this vacation spot as one of my favorites, the owner is truly impressive and did a spectacular job creating this hotel and spa. The amenities that are offered such as the spa and the restaurants and the open feeling of the rooms and the lobby make you feel so special..hats off to this gem of a place in Costa Rica ..

Room Tip: There is a choice of two and only 46 rooms, all good, but I liked the top level for the view was out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Donnamarie B,

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind and genuine comments. Our staff strives to exceed all of our guests expectations and hope we were able to do that for you.

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.