We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I were so impressed with this resort. The rooms are amazing. They have so much character and the balconies are huge! I love the two hammocks. Customer Service is top notch!! All of the activities that we booked through the concierge were spot on. One piece of advice, unless you are the adventure seeking person, I would call the concierge and have a driver pick you up at the airport. It was very reasonable considering its a 3 hour drive from San Jose. The directions to the hotel are very obscure and I don't think we would have ever been able to find it on our own. The drivers are the hotel were super friendly and even took us to a local coffee shop on the way in. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to our resort! We are happy to know we were able to exceed you and your husbands expectations. All of our staff strives to provide each and every guest with the best customer service. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our drivers.

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,054
    159
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
427
568
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Full Disclosure: I did not actually stay at The Springs but I did spend two full days at the resort.

The original title of this review was going to be something like: "How to Enjoy a $600 a night resort for $25 a day." While that title seemed a bit long and wordy, it should accurately describe the amazing deal we found at the Springs.

The Springs Resort is flat out amazing on so many levels. It is gorgeous. It is beautifully maintained. The service is excellent. There are enough different pools you need at least a couple days to enjoy them all. I've heard the resort described by some as "artificial" or "disneyesque" but I'd have to disagree. The place is simply incredible.

The one problem with The Springs however is the cost. In season, when we were in La Fortuna, you're looking at around $600 per night. I realize there are probably deals to be had if you plan ahead but unfortunately this was a last-minute kind of trip so we were out of luck to actually stay at the resort. Never fear however as the resort offers a day pass program that makes it possible for cheapos like myself to enjoy this amazing place.

For $50 you actually get full use of all the pools, hot springs, bars, and restaurants for two full days. Apparently there are a total of eighteen different pools so having two days is definitely a good thing. In addition to the pools and restaurants, your $50 also gets you a tour of their wildlife preserve. I have to admit I was a little skeptical of what I'd get for my "free" tour. I pictured a few cooped-up animals that would leave me more depressed than when I got there. Luckily the preserve is anything but. There is a wide variety of animals all kept in a beautifully maintained area. It was as good as many small zoos I've been to. Even better is you actually get to go in with the Toucans; an experience not to be missed.

Also during our time at the Springs we checked out their Club Rio area, a place best described as an outdoor adventure center crossed with a zoo. There are many activities available, kayaking, a climbing wall, horseback riding and several others. We did the river tubing and had a blast. It's not what you'd call extreme. It's about 500 yards of Class II rapids that you actually do twice. We actually took our mothers along with us, aged 68 and 72, and they loved it. Club Rio also has their own set of hot springs plus a bar/restaurant so it's a place you could spend an entire day if you wanted to try out several of the activities.

To give some idea of how relaxing and luxurious The Springs Resort is, on our last (half) day in the La Fortuna area we had two options:

1. Actually do the volcano hike in the national park, the main activity we drove 4.5 hours from Potrero to do.
2. Spend three more hours in the hot springs and pools.

I'm somewhat embarrassed to admit that it wasn't much of a decision to make, the springs were just too good to pass up. As a matter of fact, I was so impressed by this resort I want to go back to Arenal; not to visit the volcano, but to compare and contrast the other springs at Tabacon and Baldi. Maybe next time. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience with us! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are glad to hear that your whole family was able to enjoy our Club Rio Outdoor Center. It is a very special place with many activities for all ages! Our wildlife center is dedicated to providing the best possible life for our animals. We work very hard to ensure that they are well taken care of. We appreciate your great comments as this is a part of the resort that we truly take pride in.

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights, and what a beautiful experience! From the moment we arrived we were totally impressed. The grounds and buildings are gorgeous and the view of the volcano hard to describe.
The accommodations, the food, the springs, the spa, the services, just perfect.
Every one of the staff was ready to help you with everything you need to make your stay comfortable at any time. It was an unforgettable experience that we can't wait to repeat again. One of the most relaxing, beautiful and romantic resorts we have ever been in.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Elisa F,

We truly appreciate your great comments! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about our property. Our staff strives to exceed all of our guests expectations and hope we were able to do that for you. I am glad you were able to relax and enjoy the food, springs, and spa!

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

You can not imagine how beautiful this resort is unless you experience it for yourself. Top of the line all the way. They cater to you in the most gorgeous surroundings of the rainforest. The staff are one of a kind there to make sure you have a wonderful experience. You can just relax in the many several private springs all day long or you can have adventure that they provide for you so easily.. I recommend this vacation spot as one of my favorites, the owner is truly impressive and did a spectacular job creating this hotel and spa. The amenities that are offered such as the spa and the restaurants and the open feeling of the rooms and the lobby make you feel so special..hats off to this gem of a place in Costa Rica ..

Room Tip: There is a choice of two and only 46 rooms, all good, but I liked the top level for the view was out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Donnamarie B,

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind and genuine comments. Our staff strives to exceed all of our guests expectations and hope we were able to do that for you.

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you back for your next vacation!

At your service,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a 5 star everything. There is nowhere else like it. The property is spectacular as everything is situated to take advantage of the incredible areas and especially the views of Arenal. This is a huge property with plenty of space for business meetings, families, and intimate couples. Located on the property is another area for sports, horseback riding, a rescue area for animals that you can view and much more. They have over 12 pools all fed by the hot springs at various temperatures. They have a little water slide, a place to tube, kayak, and more. There are bars and a variety of restaurants as well as gift shops and business office. Breakfast was included and it was lovely spread with a freshly made juice bar, make your own omelets, lox and bagels, fruit, you want it they had it.

The room had the best stocked bar I've ever seen at a hotel. We stayed in a ground floor room which was a bit less expensive but all luxury. It had the enormous bathroom with a full shower, large soaking tub with jacuzzi jets, two sinks. The patios has two hammocks. The beds were great. I never wanted to leave. I can't wait to come back with my girlfriends or other family members.

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay along with all of the amenities we offer. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and hope that we were able to do that for you. From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again when you come back with your friends and family!

Respectfully,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

It really is hard to say how fantastic this place is without sounding like I work there (I don't). All of the staff go out of their way to do whatever you need, and they all seem so happy to be there its remarkable. The rooms are spacious with huge bathrooms, giant showers, dual sinks, and a big deck with rockers, a table and 2 hammocks. Not to mention spectacular views from every room and every restaurant & bar on the property.

Definitely go tubing on the property, its not a long run but you do it twice and its fun. Also recommend the evening nature walk where you go through their wildlife rescue area meeting the staff and the monkeys. You also get to watch the big cats get fed.

We went on a bunch of off-property tours. Hanging Bridges were great, white water rafting suffered from low water levels but was also great. Ask about the horseback ride to La Fortuna falls. its not a standard tour but they can arrange and well worth it. Arenal volcano hike didn't have as much in the way of wildlife as Hanging Bridges, but lots of flora, including many orchids.

Spa is as good as anything anywhere. Like the rest of the place, everything is spotless.

Other pluses: free wifi in rooms and common areas; water is safe to drink, we just filled bottles from sink every morning; hot springs are incredibly comfortable after an active day.

Only downside is that its really off the beaten track, ~3 hrs from San Jose airport, but worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcano. We were on the bottom level and so I think one of the less expensive roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Joshua C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer. Our staff works hard every day to ensure we provide the best service. It was a pleasure hosting you on your vacation.

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again!

Respectfully,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledgewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This place is like visiting paradise. The hot springs, the rooms, the staff, the food, the atmosphere - all top notch. Expensive, but worth every penny. You will never forget this place. Definitely, one of my top hotels of all time. Zip lining & quading - must do. Breathtaking views of the volcano!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.