We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Specatular Property - Luxe Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Specatular Property - Luxe Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a 5 star everything. There is nowhere else like it. The property is spectacular as everything is situated to take advantage of the incredible areas and especially the views of Arenal. This is a huge property with plenty of space for business meetings, families, and intimate couples. Located on the property is another area for sports, horseback riding, a rescue area for animals that you can view and much more. They have over 12 pools all fed by the hot springs at various temperatures. They have a little water slide, a place to tube, kayak, and more. There are bars and a variety of restaurants as well as gift shops and business office. Breakfast was included and it was lovely spread with a freshly made juice bar, make your own omelets, lox and bagels, fruit, you want it they had it.

The room had the best stocked bar I've ever seen at a hotel. We stayed in a ground floor room which was a bit less expensive but all luxury. It had the enormous bathroom with a full shower, large soaking tub with jacuzzi jets, two sinks. The patios has two hammocks. The beds were great. I never wanted to leave. I can't wait to come back with my girlfriends or other family members.

Room Tip: All the rooms were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay along with all of the amenities we offer. We strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and hope that we were able to do that for you. From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again when you come back with your friends and family!

Respectfully,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    187
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
487
651
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

It really is hard to say how fantastic this place is without sounding like I work there (I don't). All of the staff go out of their way to do whatever you need, and they all seem so happy to be there its remarkable. The rooms are spacious with huge bathrooms, giant showers, dual sinks, and a big deck with rockers, a table and 2 hammocks. Not to mention spectacular views from every room and every restaurant & bar on the property.

Definitely go tubing on the property, its not a long run but you do it twice and its fun. Also recommend the evening nature walk where you go through their wildlife rescue area meeting the staff and the monkeys. You also get to watch the big cats get fed.

We went on a bunch of off-property tours. Hanging Bridges were great, white water rafting suffered from low water levels but was also great. Ask about the horseback ride to La Fortuna falls. its not a standard tour but they can arrange and well worth it. Arenal volcano hike didn't have as much in the way of wildlife as Hanging Bridges, but lots of flora, including many orchids.

Spa is as good as anything anywhere. Like the rest of the place, everything is spotless.

Other pluses: free wifi in rooms and common areas; water is safe to drink, we just filled bottles from sink every morning; hot springs are incredibly comfortable after an active day.

Only downside is that its really off the beaten track, ~3 hrs from San Jose airport, but worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcano. We were on the bottom level and so I think one of the less expensive roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Joshua C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offer. Our staff works hard every day to ensure we provide the best service. It was a pleasure hosting you on your vacation.

From all of us here at the The Springs Resort and Spa, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again!

Respectfully,

Melanie Marsell
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledgewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This place is like visiting paradise. The hot springs, the rooms, the staff, the food, the atmosphere - all top notch. Expensive, but worth every penny. You will never forget this place. Definitely, one of my top hotels of all time. Zip lining & quading - must do. Breathtaking views of the volcano!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

you have to start with the people the minute you arrive you are amazed by the location and then you are greeted by the most friendly and welcoming staff . You can tell that they take pride of their surrounding and great pleasure in being your host . The resort it self is magnificent every detail in the design , incorporating the natural surroundings . the rooms all have a special flair with great views .We had the honeymoon room with private outdoor natural spring water Jacuzzi with the view to the volcano . The food is first class and you have many choices . the pools and I mean plural I stopped counting at 50 ...so many natural mineral pools and Bars . You will feel right at home when meeting some of the guys and girls ..watch out for Donald ,Michael and Oscar ( the showman and Band leader ). When you will need help to coordinate the numerous activities available ( do the ATV with Andre he is most accommodating and friendly) do not hesitate to look for Johny and Jocelyn they are amazing and will make your stay so much more enjoyable . Part of the resort is Club Rio where you can do tubing Kayaking and much more But before make sure to stop for lunch and drinks at the bar facing the river and see Jerry . have fun

Room Tip: the presidential HOUSE comes with its own golf cart ....there are 40 rooms and all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I spent the afternoon in this beautiful resort and must say it was absolutely gorgeous. Everything is open to the outdoors and the volcano is right in front of the resort, so you basically have a perfect view of it from almost everywhere!
We came here to spend time at the hot springs and do not regret it! They have about a dozen "pools" - most are a 5 min. walk from the resort (but still part of the grounds) and you feel completely secluded in nature. They are all different temperatures so you can try them all. We would definitely stay in this hotel overnight if we are ever in the area again.
The one thing I would advise everyone is not to wear a white or very light colored bathing suit: the springs have minerals in them and will discolor your bathing suits to a reddish color!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

What an amazing time at the Springs Resort and Spa. The staff was exceptional. Jason and Hairol made us feel welcomed immediately. The breakfast buffet was delicious and meals were all the more enjoyable with friendly staff (Renzo, Dennis, Mikuel and Jose Antonio).

The grounds are huge and with only 40 some rooms, at times we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. It was easy to find multiple springs to enjoy without crowds of people around us. We loved exploring the springs.

The rooms are fabulous-clean and have charming decor. We were able to get a roll-away and each night came back to towel animals on the bed and in the bathroom.

Views of the volcano are breath-taking. It was so relaxing to just sit in the sun or a hot spring and soak up the view.

We can't wait to go back. This was a wonderful place to stay.

~The Koehler Family

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matthews nc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I can only add my complete agreement to all the reviews that rate The Springs as heavenly and blissful and perfect....the rooms, the view of the volcano, the lush and glorious grounds, the pools and springs, Club Rio,the food, the main building....all simply cannot be beat. I can find absolutely nothing to criticize in the least. I can, however, find one feature that makes The Springs stand head and shoulders above any place we have ever stayed (including down the road from this hotel!) and that is the staff!! Every person we encountered, even if just in passing, looked us straight in the eye and smiled and if there was time, chatted with us. We have never stayed in a place where the employees seemed as happy as the guests! Special thanks to Jaimie, the new guest services director, and her husband for happening upon us and stopping for a long time to give us tips and advice and info and just chatting about our trip, our hometown in the states, etc. We felt as if we were old friends! Made us feel so very welcome. Front desk and bell staff, Keilor and Fabian, were so very friendly and helpful as well. And we kept running into one employee all over the place, Renzo, and he instantly recognized us whether at the pool grill or Tres Cascadas Restaurant or wherever, and every time we shared some great laughs and friendly banter. I wanted to take him home with us!!! Our hats are off to the owner here for encouraging a work environment where the employees show such genuine rapport and friendliness with the guests. Everyone there is contented and happy and it shows! We stayed at a very highly rated hotel 10 minutes away, too, and instantly noticed the stiff and polite but "trained to be friendly" atmosphere! No comparison! Do yourself a big favor and stay at the Springs and enjoy paradise in the surroundings and genuine friendliness and helpfulness in the employees!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.