We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Of A Lifetime Booked Through Groupon! Yes, Groupon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Anniversary Of A Lifetime Booked Through Groupon! Yes, Groupon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stumbled upon The Springs on Groupon and after reading raving reviews, we knew this was the place to celebrate our 1st Anniversary!! We were able to correspond with the Front desk and Concierge prior to our arrival and arranged for transportation to and from the hotel. Our driver Errick was INCREDIBLE. A warm, friendly man, who made the 3 hour pass quickly. He pointed out many interesting things along the way, stopped for restrooms, a snack and really made us feel comfortable.

When we arrived at The Springs, both my husband and I were speechless! The resort is spectacular and immaculate! Such detail went into every part of this very special resort! We were greeted by many people, but Allan showed us around. The views were stunning! After a quick check-in, we were given silver bracelets. It was explained to us that these allow the staff to know we are guests of the resort and to also make them aware that we are celebrating an anniversary! What a memorable touch! While Allan gave us "the tour" he stopped by the bar and presented us with welcome drinks! Our room was not ready when we arrived, we were early, so we decided to head over to Treetops Grill for lunch and some drinks. Allan said he would come find us once the room was ready and that they would put a rush on it! Treetops Grill was delicious. The view was amazing. It was as though we were having lunch in a tree house! After lunch, as promised, Allan found us and escorted us to our room. We were in Toucan Room 205! Beautiful room, huge bathroom and a lovely balcony. We had a note waiting for us, congratulating us on our anniversary and a bottle of wine from the owner! Unique touch! All of the rooms are facing the volcano, which is just beautiful!! We spent a fare amount of time on the balcony relaxing, and listening to the birds.

The food overall was very good and fresh at all of the restaurants. We made a reservation at Las Ventanas, their fine dining restaurant. The food was presented beautifully and we were given free dessert for our anniversary! The only thing I would have enjoyed more would be seeing those views during the day. At night, you cant see anything. My favorite was the sushi bar!

We were very excited about the excursions that were offered both on and off the resort! The Arenal Volcano Hike, The Twilight Tour and The Safari Float Tour were the 3 we chose for our 5 day stay. Victor was our tour guide for the Arenal Volcano Hike & Safari Float Tour! We can not compliment him enough! He really went out of his way to find as many animals as possible during our tours. He would grab branches dangling in the middle of the river to show us a special bird, crocodile and even monkeys! He taught us so much about the plant life, animals and history of the National Park! We really lucked out during our stay. November is apparently their "slow season". We had the pleasure of private tours both days with Victor because no one else signed up! Again, we were the only ones who signed up for The Twilight Tour at Club Rio as well, so we had Jorge all to ourselves! He has been with the resort since they opened in 2008! He is responsible for taking care of all the animals that Mr. Lee rescued! It was incredible to see these animals during their peak activity level! Feeding the toucans was an experience we will never forget! Truly unforgettable!

The mineral springs on this property are breathtaking! They range in temperature, so there is a pool for everyone! Many were private and very romantic! We spent time in all of them, however, our favorite was down at Perdido Springs!

I have but two complaints. These are the two reasons I gave a four star rating instead of five stars! The towels were extremely rough! Some of them really felt like sand paper. Also, the food served at the breakfast buffet was cool (temperature wise) all three days we ate there. It would have been nice to have a hot breakfast!

Overall, I will say that this resort is one of a kind. My husband and I travel often and have never experienced this level of superior customer service The Springs has to offer. The employees honestly want their guests to feel like Kings and Queens! We were greeted by our first names, and many of the staff would say "We see you're celebrating an anniversary! Congrats, how long?" This type of service needs to be recognized and commended. For example: I love sushi, however, my husband does not. We were welcomed at the sushi bar and my husband was given 2 different menus to order from, so that I could enjoy sushi! Wonderful customer service!

A special thanks to Renso, Adrian, Allan, Jorge and the manager John! Everyone was wonderful, but these men really stood out to us! Thank you for a memorable 1st anniversary! We will be back to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,236
    190
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
502
663
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is more like an all inclusive resort for families. We could have stayed busy with all that they offer for at least a couple of days! Beautiful views and awesome staff. You get a guided tour as soon as you arrive. Also upon arrival they have a delicious beverage waiting for you! We wish that we would have had more time to explore the property but we only stayed one night with a busy next day! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is 3.5 kilometers off the main road along a very bumpy track so fasten your seat belts. However, when you arrive you will be wowed with the number and variety of hot springs on the property as well as the spectacular views of the Arenal Volcano. We could lie in bed and see the volcano as well as the lush and fertile land between. Food and accommodations are excellent and staff helpful and friendly. The big drawback is the hike from guest rooms to lobby, spa or dining areas - it is long and steep although by calling 350 a buggy is available. Plenty to do on property including rafting, horseback riding and viewing the cats. Outside the property there is zip lining and more extreme sports. We used Aventura Mundi who had a great team and even got me at 77 doing all 12 zip lines.

Room Tip: Difficult to determine which are best rooms - all have this long hike but our room,103, was good but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I had researched various places to spend our 20th year anniversary, and for some reason knew this was the place! We read the reviews, looked at the beautiful pictures and decided to go for it. That was the greatest decision ever, and we are ready to go back ASAP! We were picked up the airport in San Jose by the wonderful driver, Rodrico (sp), which the Springs had prearranged. He stopped along the way and showed us the roadside stands, introduced us to new tasty fruits, as well as being delightful the whole time! We also met his brother Eric who was equally great! We arrived at the Springs and were totally speechless. The people who checked us in were great and I'm ashamed we can't remember all the names. The rooms were even more beautiful than expected, and the greatest view of the Volcano. We woke up to the thrilling sounds of wildlife, birds singing, hummingbirds flying on the balcony.... it was really like a dream. The bed was so comfortable and reminded us so much of the Ritz Carlton, ( that's a BIG PLUS in our book)! The room service was excellent....we picked up the phone to make a request, and they were practically there before we could hang it up! We came back to our rooms everyday, with beautiful towel arrangements the sweet maids had created for us. We loved the Springs and couldn't get over how "over the top" they were. I had been suffering with a terrible back pain 2 months prior to our trip, with numerous trips to the doctor/chiropractor. I literally sat in the springs (103 degrees) the first night, for about an hour and couldn't believe it.....instant relief and not another bit of pain!!!! We did the zip-line adventure at Sky Trek ( which was a blast) and had another great driver, Carlos. Johnny Castillo, the Concierge @ The Springs, was the best at arranging the outings, as well as the transportation! Club Rio was so much fun...we did the River Tubing, the Cat Tour... the staff there was also terrific! They were so helpful with everything and always greeted us with the sweetest smiles, and kind words. We fell in love with Jerry, who works at the restaurant at Club Rio...he had a great personality and a big smile! All the restaurants were great, from the delicious breakfast buffets to the wonderful tasting sushi! Thank you Rosi for your precious smile every-time we walked into the gift shop, you were always helpful with your suggestions! Thank you Donald Ulate @ Perdidos Bay...we appreciated all you did for us and always with a smile! A big thank you to Jose Antonio who always went out of his way when assisting us at dining times. All and all this was by far the greatest vacation we have ever experienced and certainly plan on returning...it was PERFECT in every way! A BIG Thank you to everyone at the Springs....you have truly stolen our hearts, and we love you all! (We know the word "smiles" were used quite often in our review....that's because we witnessed so many)!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Alta Vista Guest Room. It was up a level and we loved the view. The only noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

On this 180 acre tract near the Arenal Volcano, the spectacular hotel is not the cast of the show, the surrounding natural beauty is. The stars are the hot springs that are scattered around the property, so many that you can always have one to yourself. Some of the springs are tucked into the tropical flora, others have decks and small bars with music around them. Everything about the architecture of the hotel itself is in service to these springs, meadows, jungle, and river. And everything about the hotel and its staff is in service of you. Management appears to follow a business ethic that goes beyond "the customer is always right" to a philosophy that that says that point should never come up-- that the needs and wishes of the guest should be understood and anticipated before the guest can say a word. It may be the finest service I have encountered in my global travels. It is unforgettable.

Room Tip: Its simple-- just be willing to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I are staying at the springs resort and spa and this place is pure bliss! It has been nothing but amazing! It is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, and we feel like a king and queen here!! They even upgraded us to a bungalow suite for no extra cost! It is a perfect place for a honeymoon! The only thing I would change is the road coming into the resort. It is long and VERY bumpy! Other than that I give it 5 star! Thank you everyone at the springs for making our honeymoon so memorable!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day getaway to the Springs Resort. It was our first time in Costa Rica and we didn't know what to expect. What we found was a spectacular experience from start to finish. The pickup at the airport (arranged by the hotel) was flawless. Our driver, Minor, was very welcoming and accommodating on the 3 hour ride from the airport to the hotel. The drive to the hotel gave us a good view of much of Alajuela province and some beautiful towns along the way.

From the time we arrived to the the time we left this 45 room hotel, the service was flawless. We were given a tour of the facility and a delicious drink upon arrival. All of the staff, from gardeners and maintenance staff to the guest facing staff, always said hello. Any of the staff who interacted with us remembered our names from that point forward and greeted us by name. Octavio and Renso were particularly friendly, although all we encountered were helpful and nice.

The rooms were gorgeous. Normally, when I see a picture of a room on a website, I assume that what I find in reality will be about 1/2 as nice. In this case, as beautiful as the rooms seem on the website, they are even nicer in reality. Beautiful woodwork throughout. We booked a room with the vaulted ceiling (room 216) and absolutely loved it. The bed was incredibly comfortable (wish we could have taken it home with us) and the rest of the room was well appointed in every respect. Best of all was the full window wall that looked out to the balcony (two rocking chairs, two hammocks, table and 2 chairs) and gave us a perfect view of the Arenal Volcano. We were there during rainy season and fully expected not to see the volcano at all. Instead we saw some or all of it every day -- awe inspiring.

Soaking in the water from the hot springs in the beautiful surroundings of the hotel made all other cares go away and brought a sense of utter peace and tranquility. Truly delightful.

At the spa, Mayra gave me the best massage I have ever had and Ruby gave my wife a terrific facial and neck and back massage. The aromatherapy that accompanied the massage and everything about the setting of the massage was perfect.

We loved our meals at the Springs (which is a good thing because unless you have a car, it is not easy or cheap to go off the property for meals). The empanadas served at the Treetops grill were to die for and the arroz con pollo was excellent. Prices for meals were equivalent to what you would pay in many places in US. Breakfast buffet roughly $20 per person, lunch $10-20 and dinner $30-40 per person (before alcohol). Service at every meal was excellent. Again, when there are only 45 rooms on the property, they can give everyone a lot of personalized attention.

The property is well positioned for spectacular views of the volcano and the surrounding valley from a whole host of vantage points. Because it is situated on a hillside, there are views from many different levels of the main building as well as the residence buildings. Speaking of the hillside, this is not a property for someone with significant mobility impairment. Going from the rooms to the main building requires a walk up a gently sloping ramp, some stairs and then some more stairs or an elevator.

Since we only did one experience at Club Rio (the twilight tour) we can't comment on those activities, although guests we spoke to who had done them liked them a lot.

The concierge desk was very helpful in arranging off-site activities. We did a zip-line adventure and a trip into the nearby town of La Fortuna.

The housekeepers were great. Our room was always clean, cleaned early in the day, and we always had some very intricate towel creature left on our bed. Oh, and then there was the fresh flower arrangement in our room each day. Amazing.

I saw one comment about the "Disney" nature of the facility. I think what the writer must have meant is that the property is not built around existing springs but pumps the spring water into the natural-looking pools that they have built. In that sense, the environment is one that was created rather than found, but because it is well done, it feels natural, especially with wild howler monkeys, turkey vultures, toucans, hummingbirds and more in and around the rainforest that surrounds the property.

In short, we had one of the most relaxing and enjoyable vacations we have ever had and would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if, as we did, you get your room through a vacation discounter like Jetsetter.

I have three small suggestions for management: First, I think the gift shop is a bit overpriced and is not open late enough in the evening. Second, I was surprised at checkout by the request to add a tip to be shared among the front desk staff. I was not used to this custom and had assumed that their compensation would come fully from the hotel. If the hotel wants people to add a gratuity at the point of checkout, I think they should mention it somewhere in the materials so it does not come as a surprise. Third, I agree with the suggestion I saw in another review to have Las Ventanas open at lunch or at breakfast so that one can appreciate its spectacular view in the daylight.

Room Tip: Our room, 216, was perfect. I like having the vaulted ceiling since I think it helped us get a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.