We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Resort In Service of Natural Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Key Biscayne, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Resort In Service of Natural Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

On this 180 acre tract near the Arenal Volcano, the spectacular hotel is not the cast of the show, the surrounding natural beauty is. The stars are the hot springs that are scattered around the property, so many that you can always have one to yourself. Some of the springs are tucked into the tropical flora, others have decks and small bars with music around them. Everything about the architecture of the hotel itself is in service to these springs, meadows, jungle, and river. And everything about the hotel and its staff is in service of you. Management appears to follow a business ethic that goes beyond "the customer is always right" to a philosophy that that says that point should never come up-- that the needs and wishes of the guest should be understood and anticipated before the guest can say a word. It may be the finest service I have encountered in my global travels. It is unforgettable.

Room Tip: Its simple-- just be willing to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,139
    174
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
614
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I are staying at the springs resort and spa and this place is pure bliss! It has been nothing but amazing! It is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, and we feel like a king and queen here!! They even upgraded us to a bungalow suite for no extra cost! It is a perfect place for a honeymoon! The only thing I would change is the road coming into the resort. It is long and VERY bumpy! Other than that I give it 5 star! Thank you everyone at the springs for making our honeymoon so memorable!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day getaway to the Springs Resort. It was our first time in Costa Rica and we didn't know what to expect. What we found was a spectacular experience from start to finish. The pickup at the airport (arranged by the hotel) was flawless. Our driver, Minor, was very welcoming and accommodating on the 3 hour ride from the airport to the hotel. The drive to the hotel gave us a good view of much of Alajuela province and some beautiful towns along the way.

From the time we arrived to the the time we left this 45 room hotel, the service was flawless. We were given a tour of the facility and a delicious drink upon arrival. All of the staff, from gardeners and maintenance staff to the guest facing staff, always said hello. Any of the staff who interacted with us remembered our names from that point forward and greeted us by name. Octavio and Renso were particularly friendly, although all we encountered were helpful and nice.

The rooms were gorgeous. Normally, when I see a picture of a room on a website, I assume that what I find in reality will be about 1/2 as nice. In this case, as beautiful as the rooms seem on the website, they are even nicer in reality. Beautiful woodwork throughout. We booked a room with the vaulted ceiling (room 216) and absolutely loved it. The bed was incredibly comfortable (wish we could have taken it home with us) and the rest of the room was well appointed in every respect. Best of all was the full window wall that looked out to the balcony (two rocking chairs, two hammocks, table and 2 chairs) and gave us a perfect view of the Arenal Volcano. We were there during rainy season and fully expected not to see the volcano at all. Instead we saw some or all of it every day -- awe inspiring.

Soaking in the water from the hot springs in the beautiful surroundings of the hotel made all other cares go away and brought a sense of utter peace and tranquility. Truly delightful.

At the spa, Mayra gave me the best massage I have ever had and Ruby gave my wife a terrific facial and neck and back massage. The aromatherapy that accompanied the massage and everything about the setting of the massage was perfect.

We loved our meals at the Springs (which is a good thing because unless you have a car, it is not easy or cheap to go off the property for meals). The empanadas served at the Treetops grill were to die for and the arroz con pollo was excellent. Prices for meals were equivalent to what you would pay in many places in US. Breakfast buffet roughly $20 per person, lunch $10-20 and dinner $30-40 per person (before alcohol). Service at every meal was excellent. Again, when there are only 45 rooms on the property, they can give everyone a lot of personalized attention.

The property is well positioned for spectacular views of the volcano and the surrounding valley from a whole host of vantage points. Because it is situated on a hillside, there are views from many different levels of the main building as well as the residence buildings. Speaking of the hillside, this is not a property for someone with significant mobility impairment. Going from the rooms to the main building requires a walk up a gently sloping ramp, some stairs and then some more stairs or an elevator.

Since we only did one experience at Club Rio (the twilight tour) we can't comment on those activities, although guests we spoke to who had done them liked them a lot.

The concierge desk was very helpful in arranging off-site activities. We did a zip-line adventure and a trip into the nearby town of La Fortuna.

The housekeepers were great. Our room was always clean, cleaned early in the day, and we always had some very intricate towel creature left on our bed. Oh, and then there was the fresh flower arrangement in our room each day. Amazing.

I saw one comment about the "Disney" nature of the facility. I think what the writer must have meant is that the property is not built around existing springs but pumps the spring water into the natural-looking pools that they have built. In that sense, the environment is one that was created rather than found, but because it is well done, it feels natural, especially with wild howler monkeys, turkey vultures, toucans, hummingbirds and more in and around the rainforest that surrounds the property.

In short, we had one of the most relaxing and enjoyable vacations we have ever had and would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if, as we did, you get your room through a vacation discounter like Jetsetter.

I have three small suggestions for management: First, I think the gift shop is a bit overpriced and is not open late enough in the evening. Second, I was surprised at checkout by the request to add a tip to be shared among the front desk staff. I was not used to this custom and had assumed that their compensation would come fully from the hotel. If the hotel wants people to add a gratuity at the point of checkout, I think they should mention it somewhere in the materials so it does not come as a surprise. Third, I agree with the suggestion I saw in another review to have Las Ventanas open at lunch or at breakfast so that one can appreciate its spectacular view in the daylight.

Room Tip: Our room, 216, was perfect. I like having the vaulted ceiling since I think it helped us get a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The owner spared not one expense at the Springs (except maybe for the buses to Club Rio)! It is simply gorgeous! We only stayed one night but wished we had stayed for more, so hope to be able to return! In our short time there we got to enjoy tubing (which I loved), visiting the animal reserve and relaxing in some of the mineral springs near Club Rio. It rained by the time we left the adventure area, so we didn't get to go in the other pools near the hotel but did enjoy spending time in the gorgeous room and ate a delicious meal in the hotel.

A couple of things to take note of is the portobello mushroom vegetarian meal is absolutely delicious but tiny; I awoke 3 hours later with my stomach growling. Also, the workers seem to expect a lot of tips so bring a wad of dollar bills with you. The hotel is also situated on a hill, requiring a lot of walking. We loved the exercise but are not sure if the elderly would enjoy this.

The beds have comfortable plush mattresses with exceptionally wonderful pillows. The rooms are just about soundproof. We barely knew there was a thunder storm. And, there must be some type of dehumidifier in the room as my thick bathing suit managed to dry here, but at no other hotel. They also provide a down comforter which does seem silly in the warm rain forest. I woke up too hot from that. I think they should give a thin blanket instead.

All in all, an absolute magical place that was like a dream to us.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor and were very happy, but did have to get a shuttle when it was time to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Springs is an absolutely beautiful resort with about 18 natural hot springs located all over the huge property. Check in was easy with a welcome drink and a tour of the resort. We had the Vista room, which is their entry level, but it is very large and nicely appointed. Ceiling height about 12 feet in the room with the king bed facing the Arenal volcano. Huge windows and 2 doors to the large patio with 2 rocking chairs, a table & 2 chairs and 2 hammocks! There is total privacy in each of the rooms. Ours was 102. The bathroom is also very large with a deep soaking tub/jacuzzi, great shower and separate toilet area. Two vessel sinks and nice toiletries.
There is quite a walk up from level 1where the Vista suites are located to level 5 where reception is located but you can just call for a golf cart ride. Service is very friendly and welcoming. We went to several of the hot springs and it was great. One area called Perdido Springs (lost springs) is very secluded and we were in those about dusk, which was very special. We really enjoyed dining at Las Ventanas with wonderful food and service and a great view from the large windows. The sun sets early in October so our view was of a spectacular lightning storm but we could imagine a lovely dinner there watching a sunset over Arenal volcano. We also loved our massages at the spa.
Don't miss going down and experiencing Club RIO on the property.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying the upgrade if possible to the Alta Vista rooms for a higher view of the vo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our stay here and it was amazing! Beautiful property, rooms, view, and people! Meals were the same price as in the us, a cheeseburger w fries 12, steak 27, drinks were around 9, that being said every meal was delicious! I would return if ever in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacó, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Enjoyed a fascinating stay since our first contact with our Reservations department which
service was amazing, till our entrance to the Hotel, Bellman, Front Desk, our concierge was great!

Restaurant Staff was amazing friendly & helpful all the time.
Housekeeping provided us with beautiful decorations at the room & assistance.

The experience of being in that FASCINATING Resort which provides you with the most AMAZING Views, a BEAUTIFUL SPA, AWESOME Gym & all the options for your choice of Restaurants.
My FAVORITE Guest Room decoration & ELEGANT Restroom with private Jacuzzi plus the extra pleasant feeling of Springs, Rainforest & Wildlife an extraordinary front Arenal Volcano view plus the Springs Club Del Rio makes it just like Heaven……#1 Top Resort in the World!

Thank U so Much to all your team for an Spectacular Experience & an Unforgettable Blast for my B-Day!
Rossana & Russ.

Room Tip: U can't go wrong with choosing any rooms at the Springs Resort & Spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.