We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is magical!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ledgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This place is magical!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The owner spared not one expense at the Springs (except maybe for the buses to Club Rio)! It is simply gorgeous! We only stayed one night but wished we had stayed for more, so hope to be able to return! In our short time there we got to enjoy tubing (which I loved), visiting the animal reserve and relaxing in some of the mineral springs near Club Rio. It rained by the time we left the adventure area, so we didn't get to go in the other pools near the hotel but did enjoy spending time in the gorgeous room and ate a delicious meal in the hotel.

A couple of things to take note of is the portobello mushroom vegetarian meal is absolutely delicious but tiny; I awoke 3 hours later with my stomach growling. Also, the workers seem to expect a lot of tips so bring a wad of dollar bills with you. The hotel is also situated on a hill, requiring a lot of walking. We loved the exercise but are not sure if the elderly would enjoy this.

The beds have comfortable plush mattresses with exceptionally wonderful pillows. The rooms are just about soundproof. We barely knew there was a thunder storm. And, there must be some type of dehumidifier in the room as my thick bathing suit managed to dry here, but at no other hotel. They also provide a down comforter which does seem silly in the warm rain forest. I woke up too hot from that. I think they should give a thin blanket instead.

All in all, an absolute magical place that was like a dream to us.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor and were very happy, but did have to get a shuttle when it was time to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    173
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
460
610
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Springs is an absolutely beautiful resort with about 18 natural hot springs located all over the huge property. Check in was easy with a welcome drink and a tour of the resort. We had the Vista room, which is their entry level, but it is very large and nicely appointed. Ceiling height about 12 feet in the room with the king bed facing the Arenal volcano. Huge windows and 2 doors to the large patio with 2 rocking chairs, a table & 2 chairs and 2 hammocks! There is total privacy in each of the rooms. Ours was 102. The bathroom is also very large with a deep soaking tub/jacuzzi, great shower and separate toilet area. Two vessel sinks and nice toiletries.
There is quite a walk up from level 1where the Vista suites are located to level 5 where reception is located but you can just call for a golf cart ride. Service is very friendly and welcoming. We went to several of the hot springs and it was great. One area called Perdido Springs (lost springs) is very secluded and we were in those about dusk, which was very special. We really enjoyed dining at Las Ventanas with wonderful food and service and a great view from the large windows. The sun sets early in October so our view was of a spectacular lightning storm but we could imagine a lovely dinner there watching a sunset over Arenal volcano. We also loved our massages at the spa.
Don't miss going down and experiencing Club RIO on the property.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying the upgrade if possible to the Alta Vista rooms for a higher view of the vo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our stay here and it was amazing! Beautiful property, rooms, view, and people! Meals were the same price as in the us, a cheeseburger w fries 12, steak 27, drinks were around 9, that being said every meal was delicious! I would return if ever in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacó, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Enjoyed a fascinating stay since our first contact with our Reservations department which
service was amazing, till our entrance to the Hotel, Bellman, Front Desk, our concierge was great!

Restaurant Staff was amazing friendly & helpful all the time.
Housekeeping provided us with beautiful decorations at the room & assistance.

The experience of being in that FASCINATING Resort which provides you with the most AMAZING Views, a BEAUTIFUL SPA, AWESOME Gym & all the options for your choice of Restaurants.
My FAVORITE Guest Room decoration & ELEGANT Restroom with private Jacuzzi plus the extra pleasant feeling of Springs, Rainforest & Wildlife an extraordinary front Arenal Volcano view plus the Springs Club Del Rio makes it just like Heaven……#1 Top Resort in the World!

Thank U so Much to all your team for an Spectacular Experience & an Unforgettable Blast for my B-Day!
Rossana & Russ.

Room Tip: U can't go wrong with choosing any rooms at the Springs Resort & Spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I have had the good fortune of traveling all over the world, and this is one of the most spectacular properties I have ever visited. The magnificent rooms, with bathrooms to die for and spectacular views of the Arenal Volcano, were a treat, and the hotel, its facilities, many pools and springs, and numerous activities make this a perfect center-piece for a Costa Rican vacation. The resort looks like nothing else I have seen. Exceedingly lush and magnificent landscaping, the generous use of native woods and stone, and a truly welcoming and warm staff make this a world class resort. Sadly, we only had one night here, and were supposed to take two side tours off property during that time. When we arrived, we quickly cancelled the side tours to maximize our time at this fabulous resort The top restaurant was superb, and the breakfast buffet extensive. Multiple bars, including a swim up bar, and extensive spa and fitness center are all available. In my opinion, this is a far more distinctive and superb experience than the Four Seasons Resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

No stone left unturned.
From the moment we arrived and were greeted by staff who knew our names, took us to our AMAZING room, and showed us the property. The hotel spans for miles laden with mineral pools and hot springs in every size shape and temperature through out. The

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DADE CITY
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This resort is by far the grandest place I have ever stayed. Beyond my dreams. I can't imagine I will stay at any grander place in my lifetime. I wish this experience for everyone. What a wonderful place for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: I was able to experience a room with a private spring jacuzzi outside with a phenomenal view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.