We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, friendly staff, bit on the pricey side!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, friendly staff, bit on the pricey side!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I loved this resort, the rooms were very high end, beautiful, tasteful and most of all had huge balconies with rocking chairs and hammocks with views across the lush green to the volcano.

I enjoyed the food in the sushi restaurant the most and the least in the main restaurant. The breakfasts were just right.

The resort was large and you felt that your rooms were secluded - you rarely heard other people.

There is no shortage of things to do on the resort itself, hot springs, kayaking, tubing, wildlife center, spa, games center, gym etc.

One word of caution is that the Springs at the resort are open to the public during the day so it can get very busy additionally they play terrible techno music very loud throughout the relaxing springs. Maybe I'm old and boring but I would have much preferred to listen to the sounds of the rainforest around whilst relaxing. If there were some springs which were reserved for the paying guests and that did not have the terrible music I would think that this would be a perfect spot.

Without quesiton though this is an expensive resort and whilst I would say it is definitely the best hotel in the area without question I would consider next time looking at a less luxurious place just because the price differential is so extreme - but if money is no problem go for this one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    173
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
460
610
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Springs is a truly spectacular resort in an amazing country that must be visited. The staff, and especially the owner ensures an incredible experience whether you're there for hot spring relaxation and spa with your spouse or girlfriends or a more athletic vacation filled with hiking, ATVing, kayaking, tubing, rappeling and ziplining. This is not a "sit at the pool or the beach" vacation. This is a complete immersion in nature and all its beauty. Their attention to detail is foremost in the service level practiced by everyone from the front desk to the wait staff to the concierge. Lee Banks has created a paradise within a paradise. Be sure to visit Peace Lodge first for a night or two and appreciate the closeness to nature that you'll never experience anywhere else. They've created a sanctuary that is hard to rival elsewhere. i only hope they have the coconut flan when you visit! They make it hard to come back to reality.

Room Tip: The villas are a treat. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Springs Resort and Spa made our honeymoon kickoff spectacular. With breathtaking views from the room to secluded "perdido springs" nestled in the thick jungle beside the resort, this made the perfect romantic getaway. While we were only able to stay one night due to cost, I wouldn't trade the experience for anything. The room was straight from a magazine, and left nothing wanting. Hammocks, jacuzzi hot tub, and complimentary wine to celebrate our honeymoon.

Several amazing restaurants, all with incredible views. Las Ventanas restaurant was the best dress-up dinner we had the entire time in Costa Rica, and the service was second to none.

A word on cost: This is definitely not a cheap resort, and for good reason - in addition to the incredible service, rooms, springs, and the immaculate landscaping, there is actually an animal preserve on the lower portion of the property, with toucans you can feed and jungle cats you can visit. Our guide explained that the owner of The Springs started the sanctuary when the state-run program funding such preserves tanked. It was incredible to see the care of the animals, and the passion of the workers.

HELPFUL TIP: We visited Costa Rica and The Springs Resort in early September. This was the beginning of their 'slow season' with tourism, allowing us all the beauty and amenities with few other guests. For a honeymoon, this was better than we could have imagined. Every hot spring pool, every guided tour, every meal was basically just us! We walked hand in hand, and commented that this may as well be the Garden of Eden, the true paradise.

~B&C Van Soest

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms :) Every single room has a view of Arenal, the volcano. Lower level rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We only stayed here for one night and I can say that this hotel is the most beautiful hotel that I've ever seen & been to. Everyone that works there are so sweet. Because we came in late on Friday we were able to leave our bags with them in a secure room and do the horseback riding and see the animals. One of the workers there named Marvin was extremely nice and helpful. He is so sweet and really made us feel like we were at home and that we we've known each-other for years! We talked about trips we've taken and our next trips and he's going to Oakland and we wish him the best time over there! If you're ever in LA we'll be sure to make you feel as welcome as you made us.

My husband and I went horseback riding with Nano and my fear of horses is really bad due to an experience as a child but Nano made sure he was always by my side and I must say if it wasn't for him I don't think I would ever have rode a horse again so thank you Nano!

This will not be the last time that we go back to the hotel. We will tell all of our friends and family to start saving now since it is pricey but its worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for only three nights before going to the Pacific side for some ocean water sports but will return again soon for more . The hotel was amazing offering all you need to un plug or be adventurous. We went Kayaking , Waterfall repelling, and ATV riding the staff was very helpful and courteous going above and beyond. what ever you needed or wanted. we visited the bird and sloth refuge at the resort.dinner every night at the main bar with Christian for our lighting show. The view from our standard room was beautiful with the volcano right there.All the vistas were gorgeous don't see how you could have a disappointing time here. Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Amazing hotel. The vistas of the volcano are spectacular at every juncture; our rooms had incredible views of the volcano, which changed with the time of day. The restaurant and pool areas also provided breathtaking views of the volcano!

The service was incredible. Everyone is so friendly and kind here. My daughter ended up getting an ear infection while at the hotel. The front desk staff was incredible in assisting us. First, they called for the doctor, who it turned out, was unable to come due to other calls. The kind gentleman explained the paramedic could come and was trained similar to a nurse and could write scripts. We asked for him to come and he was literally there in 15 minutes. The gentleman from the front desk not only waited with us until he came, he stayed to help with any translation issues, which was so kind. (Our trip was in March 2013 so I cannot recall his name. He did have 2 daughters though)
The paramedic confirmed she had an ear infection and provided us with a prescription and ear drops right there, based on her age and weight. (Okay, the visit, plus 3 medications totaled $90. Enough said)
Additionally, the concierge team at the hotel is really helpful. I do recommend doing the hanging bridges tour and requesting the owner of the company, whose name I believe is Martin. He is passionate and enthusiastic about nature and the environment, incredibly knowledgeable and humorous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a beautiful property! We stayed at a neat by resort but our travel agent added a day pass to The Springs in our package and we wish we had stayed there Also. Our day pass included a big cat tour, dinner for two, and relaxing in the many mineral spring pools along a jungle path. The resort is gorgeous, and dinner was so good with excellent service. After dinner we went Nd changed into our swim suites and enjoyed the mineral pools in the dark down a well lit path there were also two swim up bars. We relaxed while watching a lightning storm in the distant mountains, and one pool even had a slide. We returned the next day for the big cat tour. We were the only ones on the tour and all the cats are rescue animals. It was raining so we were provided umbrellas for our tour. The resort also has river rafting on site. Worth the drive down the bumpy dirt road to get there!

Room Tip: Didn't get to see the rooms but I'm sure they are S nice as the resort is. Want to stay ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.