We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pure bliss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I can't express in words how beautiful this resort is. The views of the volcano and vista are spectacular. Based on pictures and other reviews, our expectations were high and boy did this place deliver. Even though we didnt stay here, we purchased a two-day pass that allowed us access to the springs, restaurants, and activities. We did white water kayaking, tubing, rock climbing, and visited the wild cat sanctuary. My six-year-old son and 72-year-old mom both loved the kayaking and tubing. The staff are amazing and took special care of both of them helping them in the river the entire way down. The food at this resort is also fantastic. There are many springs to choose while in La Fortuna. I can't imagine why anyone would go any place else. My only regret is not staying here. DON"T MISS THIS RESORT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    171
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
458
604
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Breathtaking views, unbelievable services, five-star amenities. This is as good as it gets. Staff are very customer-oriented. Everyone knows your name, and we even got hugs when we were leaving. I've traveled the world and never stayed at a property more beautiful than this, and never have I encountered more gracious staff. Pura vida!

Room Tip: My only complaint is that the rooms aren't soundproofed enough. You can sometimes hear people wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time at the springs. We were here in may and now we returned with our friends which also enjoyed it. Beautiful view if the volcano from every room in the property. Kids and adults alike will have fun. Many activities to do as well as many places to relax. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything from booking our rooms, taking care of us when arriving, making reservation for resto, etc... they know how to make sure you get the best service. Food is great and the different hot springs are really worth trying. We had an awesome view of Arenal Volcano. We travelled in August, which is their winter and green season, so the clouds barely let us have a full view of the volcano. Still great and worth the stay.

Room Tip: Familly suite is great but the one with rooms side by side is better than the one on two storeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel near the Arenal Volcano. The staff was very professional and helpful. My family of four stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Costa Rica. It is pretty pricey, but worth it for a couple of days. There are 27 thermal pools on the property, all fed by thermal springs. Each one has the temperature posted on it. We tried out just about all of them. This hotel is a long way from anywhere, and the last 20 minutes are on an unpaved road. So we chose to stay at the resort and take advantage of the many activities that Club Rio had to offer. Besides enjoying the thermal pools, we also took a white water tubing adventure, and also walked through the onsite animal sanctuary. We got to feed toucan's! They also have horseback riding and volcano tours. The Arenal Hanging Bridges is "nearby" so we walked those on our way to our next hotel. Definitely worth a trip off property if you have a half day. For any "Bachelor" fans, they filmed part of Brad's season here. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Every room as a view of the volcano from a picture window in your room, so they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family (my husband, two teens, ages 16 and 13, and myself) stayed at the Springs in July 2013. Our jaws dropped when we walked into the lobby and pretty much stayed that way during our stay. The hotel is luxury...the amenities are spectacular (we used the gym, the hot springs, the pool, the restaurants, and Club Rio...we did not use the spa, but it looked great from the outside)...the service was always above and beyond. We loved waking up to the view of Arenal every morning. The restaurants were also all very good, but our favorite was the sushi restaurant. Our time at the hotel was the best part of our vacation. If I had to say something less than positive about this Resort it would be that the road to the hotel is really bad and I would think that with all of the time, money and attention that they put into the resort, that they would be able to repair the road a little. However, once you arrive, you are easily able to forget about everything on the outside and relax in amazing surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first visit to the Springs resort. We stayed in La Fortuna in a villa, and our objective for our trip was to relax, see nature and hit the hot springs.. We had heard so many good things about the Springs Resort, and were pleasantly surprised that a 2 day pass was $50. Compared to the other options at the other resorts, this seemed to be the best deal at a great property.
Upon arrival, the staff was helpful and attentive. One of the highlights was the guided tour by Jorge - he has limitless knowledge of Costa Rican wildlife based on his past work and current work at the Springs. They have set up several natural areas to protect wildlife that had been donated by the government rescuers and individuals as well. They have toucans, monkeys, cats that are all well cared for, and kept here since they are not able to be safely relased back to the wild. The story behind this told by Jorge was very interesting.
Overall, the experience was well worth it, and we'll be back. The various springs are well divided to not feel like your intruding on someone else's getaway. Don't forget to go down the hot springs water-slide - I don't know how many times I did, but I kept telling myself "one more time"!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.