We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We traveled to this resort with our two children (ages 5 and 8). The staff was incredibly friendly and treated our children like family. Although the photos may imply that this is a very large resort, it is not, and even if it is at capacity, you will not feel the presence of a crowd. If you want privacy you can find it. If you want to avoid kids, you certainly can. The hotel and rooms are beautiful and the grounds are amazing. The pools are everywhere and most are fed by volcanic hot springs. We spent much of our pool time at the two pools joined by the slide.
One great feature of this hotel is Club Rio, the 'campus' that is on the grounds of the resort, but a long walk, short shuttle ride away. We spent almost every day there with the kids riding horses through the jungle, rock climbing, kayaking and swimming. The staff at Club Rio was very professional and exceptionally accomodating. They are very attentive to detail and very conscious of safety.
This resort is the nicest in the area by far and is a great launching point for tours of the Arenal area. There is plenty to do. I suggest the ATV tour which leaves from the hotel. A great way to learn about the area and see the backroads and some of the wildlife. Also the twilight feedings with Jorge are awesome.
While we were at the resort, one of my children developed swimmers ear, not surprising given her constant immersion in various hotel pools for the prior 8 days. (We were at another hotel in Guanacaste previously and we were not aggressive about preventatively putting in drying drops). I called the hotel for a recommendation to a doctor. Within 1 hour, I was sitting in front of the area doctor getting the appropriate script. The staff at the hotel lined up a fluent bilingual taxi driver and assisted me with getting my daughter's passport number when I failed to bring her passport to the doctor. They could not have been more accomodating.
The staff at the hotel, especially Donald and Keilor were outstanding. All of the staff at Club Rio including Melanie and Tim were great. And we would adopt Nano and the horses from the horse barn if there were a way to do so.
I'm sure we will return to the Springs Resort in the future as we only scratched the surface of this great country.

Room Tip: Go for a room that is on the second floor and does not adjoin a stairwell. Less morining traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    967
    143
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
383
532
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The space granted by tripadvisor is too small to do justice to the Springs. Set in the tropical rainforest of Costa Rica with views dominated by the cone of the Arenal volcano, this is far more than "where Disneyland meets Indiana Jones". Pricey by absolute standards, its facilities provide incredible value for money. While superlatives are hard to avoid, the friendly, service-oriented staff deserves special mention.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I like all of the food here in this resort but my main course which it was stake leave me with temptation to go back also the cocktails and the drinks were amazing I was also please with the attention received

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is amazing, the most important part is the food is awesome, delicious, fresh and the people are special, I love this hotel, is so romantic, everything is special, and the pools.are awesome, I love this place, excellent

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My friend, My husband and I were thrilled when we arrived in The springs Resort...greeted by a lovely staff member who showed us around, after first giving us a fruit libation. There are so many things to do...or you can just relax and enjoy the hot springs and also see a view of the Volcano from every room...outstanding architecture...fantastic service. Nothing left undone. Great for families !!! Go online and see the resort!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Mirage, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have never been to a place this amazing. It is honestly so private and beautiful, me and my family dont have one bad thing to say what so ever. The service is amazing anything and everything you could ever need and want they have it! The love for animals and people at this resort is absolutely unbelievable and heart touching. My family loves nature and animals very much and so did this place, me and my dad went out for a very nice horse ride with a wonderful guide named Nano and i have to say this was my absolute favorite part! He took just me and my dad since he knew we were more experienced than other riders he rode with us and told us about the hotels major love for animals which made us love the place even more i have to say he offically made our trip the best one ever. I would definataly go back to the Springs anyday and take another beautiful horse ride! All over the greatest life changing experience ever. Have nothing but good things to say, we loved it <3

Room Tip: The hole resort is very private and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our first stop on our family trip was to The Springs Resort and Spa at Arenal. What a great way to be introduced to Costa Rica! Our drive to the hotel from the airport in San Jose was about 3 hours, but the time passed very quickly as we had a wonderful driver (through Costa Rica Vacations) who was also an excellent tour guide. He even spotted a sloth with a baby in a tree by the road! Bucket List check! At The Springs we were met with open arms and quickly led to check-in. We were given a very extensive tour of the grounds and a delicious passion fruit drink (alcoholic or not-your choice).

ROOM
Our room was a two room suite on the top floor (room 419 and 420). We were traveling with our adult children, and this set-up was perfect. There are two entrances to the rooms. The first room had two twin beds, an elaborate bathroom, and a jucuzzi soaking tub (separate from the bathroom) that faces a picturesque window with views of the volcano. The second room is the "master" room. This room has a sitting area, a huge king-sized bed that faces a HUGE window with balcony and volcano views, a GORGEOUS bathroom,and two doors on to the most breath-taking balcony EVER. The balcony has two rocking chairs, a table and chairs, and two hammocks. It also has a ceiling fan which helps with air flow and bugs! Again, the view is of the volcano. When we were there, the volcano was mostly cloud covered, but every now and then it would appear in all of its glory. The bathrooms are fully stocked. There is a bar, but careful! $$$$$ The room also has a safe and LOTS of closet/storage space.

POOLS
The hot springs pools were so wonderful! The water temperatures vary in each pool. We used the lower pools at night. There is a bar available and a pool with a slide. These are all VERY MUCH in the jungle area. The lighting at night is so pretty! The pools closer to the main lobby are more hotel-like. There are several chlorine pools there. We didn't use them because we stayed in the mineral-infused hot springs pools.

FOOD
The food was fine, nothing spectacular. There are several places to eat on the grounds. The service is fine as well. Although they may not move quite as quickly as the waiters in the states, the wait staff was friendly and engaging. They were very happy to accommodate us. The buffet had an assortment of traditional Costa Rican breakfast foods and American food. The meals are costly. Keep that in mind. This is NOT an all-inclusive hotel.

TIPS:
1. Go zip lining at Arenal with Sky Trek. AWESOME!!!!
2. Club Rio received rave reviews from other guests although we didn't go down there (we had another excursion planned, and we were only there 2 days). The excursions at Club Rio have a fee. Several activities there do not.
3.Yellow billed Toucans fly from tree to tree--BEAUTIFUL!
4.The waterfall sounds and bird songs are intriguing and relaxing. Take binoculars!
5. Lay in the hammock and take a nap.
6. Geckos are EVERYWERE. When we turned on our balcony light, they were on the ceiling above us. They eat the mosquitos and bugs, so keep telling yourself that they are your friends! ha
ha
7. Room service runs at about 45 minutes to an hour.

Room Tip: Any room will be fantastic and face Arenal. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.