We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise - fun for kids too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Paradise - fun for kids too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved this hotel, the staff was very attentive, the views are beautiful the rooms are amazing and it is fun, fun, fun! We started by going into EVERY single hot spring (there are many - kids will love this part) and spent another day tubing on the river and touring the animal rescue center. We were concerned that it would be honeymooners only but there were plenty of families and the kids had a blast. The honeymooners were quite gracious and understanding. It is super expensive during spring break (we went in March) but worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    170
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
458
598
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

On our honeymoon in Costa Rica, we made a 2-day trip to the springs resort, to use the hot springs.

This place was unbelievable, prior to our trip, we heard that they were showing Costa Rica on the bachelor, and tuned in. We did not dream that we would have the opportunity to check out the place featured on the show. It was amazing, probably our favorite 2 days on our 10 trip. The pools were beautiful, and secluded, It was not crowded at all. The view of the Volcano was unreal.

I suggest checking out the Springs - either to stay, or at least to use their hot springs, and spas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Springs hotel is a beautiful property. All the various pools are wonderful and relaxing. The food is excellent . Club Rio is a great place for families where the activities are all close by and there is so much to do. My 13 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the kyaking and horse back riding as well as the nature tour. Our guide for horse back riding, Nano is wonderful. He is accomodating to all levels and very encouraging to us novices. The golf cart service is great if it is late and you don't feel like walking the property. The service is quite relaxed, staff is friendly and accomodating. I would definitely recommend this resort, It is great for families. There is so much to do a shuttle ride away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The springs resort and spa at Arenal is like a dream.
The hot springs are very relaxing to stay inside and each has a different temprature. The gardens are so beautiful
The rooms are big and well equipped and from the terrace you have a view of the Arenal volcano which changes all the time according to the clouds arround
I warmly recomend the hotel
It is a little bit expensive but you get a great value for it
It is 3.5 kilometers from the main road so you should have a car/ Better to have a 4x4 vehicle

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

M husband and I are pretty well versed in travel. We have visited top 5 star hotels in many different countries all over the world. We came to The Springs for just two nights, at the end of a fun filled Costa Rican Vacation. We actually stayed here, as opposed to getting a "day pass". The beautiful property of this hotel is simply stunning. It overlooks a volcano, and is probably one of the prettiest premises we have ever stayed at.

And now for the not so good: at a 5 star resort, when you are paying a premium per night, you expect the staff to treat you like royalty. At this resort, they seem to rest on laurels of the property, and hire non professionals (aka college students) to run the resort. We felt they lacked knowledge on some of our activities, and lacked the fine service and training a 5 star hotel should have.

But, the thing that bothered( especially my husband) the most- the "DAY PASSES" (which the staff complained to us about at checkout- day pass guests being loud and causing issues for the hotel). With a day pass, these guests received all of the amenities of the hotel, 2 activities (which they charge people staying at hotel additionally for), a lunch, and free reign from morning till late night of the rainforest all hot springs for practically NOTHING. Basically, a tenth of what we spend to stay A NIGHT.

Would we stay here again? Probably not. Not unless this day pass situation seriously changes. AND management reach to us. And service improves.

We decided to wake up at 5 AM the day of our departure to go birdwatching. Our guide was totally inexperienced and the guests along with us, knew far more and pointed just a few birds along the way. At checkout, we were charged $80 for this "birdwatching", when it was raining-with a non experienced guide-and hardly seeing any birds. We never signed off on spending $80 to birdwatch. When we complained to the reception that we refused to pay this portion of the bill, they made us feel like cheapskates. We actually got a LECTURE---finally after speaking to a manager for the third time--and throwing a fit--they removed it from the bill.

We paid a premium to stay at this hotel, ate every meal there, paid for our every excursion...while the Day Pass people would have gotten access to every hot spring, birdwatching plus one other activity, for as long as they want---for free.

We are all about luxury and travel, but very saddened at our experience. Yes, we understand this hotel is beautiful, but feel they really need to step it up.

Room Tip: Every room faces the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overall this facility is beautifully laid out with many pools to choose from and one fun little waterslide (it went a lot faster than we expected which as fun). It was definitely nicer for couples as it did not have a waterpark feel as some of the other springs did and there were very few children. I would recommend buying a hot springs package once you actually arrive in arenal/la fortuna as there are many deals and packages to be found. The only downside to this location is that if you are not staying there, it is quite an expensive ride to get there and back so factor that into your cost. Our pass included dinner which was good and a day pass to the springs facilities. We had only been eating at small local restaurants for the majority of our 2 week trip so this was kind of a splurge.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Dora, FLorida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Entering The Springs Resort is an adventure in itself. We turned right onto a rutted road that goes for quite a while. You wonder what is at the end of this road and how does anything but an 4X4 get there. When you arrive, you are so glad you are so glad kept going. At the end of the road, you come upon a hotel on a precarious perch at the base of the Arenal Volcano. This place is a paradise. Our rooms had amazing views of the volcano. Picture Perfect. The weather changing constantly around the volcano made for interesting views all the time. There are 28 hot springs heated by the volcano (which is active) and are amazingly soothing and wonderful to soak in after a day of activities. You could stay at this hotel for your entire trip as there is so much to do from kayaking, a small zoo, spa, tubing, etc However, there is plenty to do around the area and the town of La Fortuna is a great place too. This is not a typical Costa Rican hotel. It is very Americanized. Definitely 5 star!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view of the Volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.