We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful facility, far from town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility, far from town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Overall this facility is beautifully laid out with many pools to choose from and one fun little waterslide (it went a lot faster than we expected which as fun). It was definitely nicer for couples as it did not have a waterpark feel as some of the other springs did and there were very few children. I would recommend buying a hot springs package once you actually arrive in arenal/la fortuna as there are many deals and packages to be found. The only downside to this location is that if you are not staying there, it is quite an expensive ride to get there and back so factor that into your cost. Our pass included dinner which was good and a day pass to the springs facilities. We had only been eating at small local restaurants for the majority of our 2 week trip so this was kind of a splurge.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,053
    159
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
427
568
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Dora, FLorida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Entering The Springs Resort is an adventure in itself. We turned right onto a rutted road that goes for quite a while. You wonder what is at the end of this road and how does anything but an 4X4 get there. When you arrive, you are so glad you are so glad kept going. At the end of the road, you come upon a hotel on a precarious perch at the base of the Arenal Volcano. This place is a paradise. Our rooms had amazing views of the volcano. Picture Perfect. The weather changing constantly around the volcano made for interesting views all the time. There are 28 hot springs heated by the volcano (which is active) and are amazingly soothing and wonderful to soak in after a day of activities. You could stay at this hotel for your entire trip as there is so much to do from kayaking, a small zoo, spa, tubing, etc However, there is plenty to do around the area and the town of La Fortuna is a great place too. This is not a typical Costa Rican hotel. It is very Americanized. Definitely 5 star!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a view of the Volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We came here as part of an excursion to the area... sure made me wish we had booked the entire trip at this resort. The grounds are astounding - multiple natural hot springs to lounge in (one that includes a monkey slide), a small zoo on the premises, rock-climbing wall, kayaking, tubing, spa, and on-and-on... The food is delicious! Service was above and beyond.
Supposedly this is also where Will Smith stayed while filming "After Earth"....
Would go back in a hearbeat :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Absolute Paradise on Earth- We went for our 10th wedding aniversary and it was the best trip we have ever taken,the resort is absolutely georgious, the view of the volcano mountain is impeccable and the all the pools and hot spring's are to die for. Make sure to keep your dates open because you will not want to come back from this place.

The service was out of this world, never had to ask for anything, every need is taken care off

The must to do things: Book everything through conciere's very professional and accomodating and a lot less expensive than travel agent - Club Rio, Horse back riding, Twilight tour, kayaking in the river

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Springs is a destination all of its own. And it delivers all that it promises. However, I wouldn't say it's a true representation of the soul of Arenal. But it's definitely something to experience, but would hesitate to stay there. It's too perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been to Costa Rica more times than the average traveler because part of what I do for a living is take groups to visit this tropical paradise. My advice to anyone planning on visiting a few area’s when you come to Cost RIca is make the Springs resort in Arenal your last stop because nothing else will compare!

From the time you arrive to the time you leave you are in awe of this beautiful resort. Details, details details....The owner Lee has created a virtual paradise. He has injected his vision into every single detail and every single staff member. The result is the most amazing experience you will find in Costa RIca.
As you enter the main lobby the first thing you notice are the wooden peaks that reach for the sky, this frames a perfect view of Arenal volcano where ever are standing in the lobby. The main lodge is 5 stories high with multiple dining options. As you meander down the stairway to the main pool and hot springs you can’t believe how perfect this hotel really is, each level is set up for your convience. You don’t have to travel far to work out, go to the spa, eat, shop or just enjoy the many swim up bars and natural hot springs. They even have a sushi bar for your enjoyment.

Can we talk about the rooms! I like to describe them as sleeping on a cloud. Comfortable, cozy, spacious and again I would like to mention the attention to detail. Every room has a amazing view of the volcano yet you feel as though you are the only one staying at the resort. Beautiful manicured gardens surround your private patio. I could have stayed in my hammock all day and just watched the many hummingbirds that visited all the tropical flowers. From the outlet set under my night stand so I could charge all my devices to the smoke detector that is painted like wood to blend in to the beautiful teak woodwork, I couldn't get over the thought that must have gone into creating this perfect oasis in paradise.

Internet, well if you have ever been to Costa Rica you know that internet is spotty. Here I had no problem.

So, I would have been happy at this point but it actually gets better! The resort has 2 other area’s to visit. The first is thermal hot springs within walking distance to your room. This is open all day and in the evening so if you are looking for a romantic spot to relax this area is made for you. I had fun popping in and checking out the temperatures of all the various pools. I felt a little like baby bear when I finally said “this one is just right.”

The other area that I should mention is a place called Club Rio set aside a beautiful river. You need to hop on a bus that leaves every 30 minuites to get there but well worth the short ride! More thermal hot springs set in the rainforest and many activities that you can sign up for like rock climbing, white water rafting and kayaking. They even have horse back riding with beautifully maintained horses that are so well mannered any level rider will enjoy their experience. If you get hungry they even have a restaurant. Details: changing rooms, lockers, clean towels galore and even the railings are created to look like wooden twigs that lead you from pool to pool.

Finally and most importantly, the Springs is home to numerous rescued wild animals that if not for the kindness of the owner Lee they would have not had a place to live out there lives. Here you can get up close and personal to pumas, ocelots, monkeys and sloths not to mention the toucan house where you can actually feed the toucans right out of your hands. I would definitely not miss cat tour in the evening where you can feed and learn all about these large cats that are disappearing from the natural world.

I would not miss this resort if visiting Costa Rica. I think I would live here if I could! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, all with a breathtaking view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our first impression of The Springs Resort was "WOW, Why aren't we staying here?" We came to The Springs to visit Club Rio, an organized adventure land for families. Upon arrival we were greeted by Joseline, the concierge who took care of everything! Down at Club Rio our kayak/tubing guides, Marvin and Daniel, were professional and took personal care of all our needs and desires to have FUN! We felt like we were their only customers. Then we went horseback riding where our guide Nano gave us a personalized tour of the countryside. This was no boring scenic tour. We galloped over hills and splashed through the river! Nano was very knowledgeable of the area, the plants and wildlife. Then we had a free tour of the Resorts efforts to help recovering animals in their natural habitats. Our guide Christian, who just started speaking English 3 months ago, was able to provide humor and interesting information about each of the animals. The facilities were 5 star! Later than day our waiter, Donald Olate, and the evening concierge, Susanna, completed the pampered visit. We can't wait to go back to Costa Rica and stay for an extended visit at this Resort! Another noteworthy comment...not once did any of the guides mention "tips"! It actually took effort to find an envelope to provide their well-earned tips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.