We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fantastic honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here for part of our honeymoon. The resort is very private and gorgeous. The honeymoon suite was amazing, very spacious with a jacuzzi tub and private hot spring on the balcony over looking the volcano. The service was great. The food was good at all the restaurants. I wouldn't recommend staying for a full week as the restaurant choices are limited in the area. The spa was great, my husband and I both had wonderful treatments. I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    168
    52
    20
    12
See reviews for
456
590
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Let me start by saying that Costa Rica is a beautiful place. It is not, however an easy place to get around. My wife and I travelled to San Jose quite easily from the States.The bus from the resort was there to greet us at the airport. Being a typical impatient American, I was ready to start my Costa Rican adventure. Unfortunately, getting anywhere in Costa Rica requires time and patience. We were immediately swept up and taken to Peace Lodge in La Paz. This took about an hour.
The peace lodge is far within the rain forest. The owners have created a magnificent nature preserve there. We went through the butterfly preserve, which was nice but I found their monkey, panther, puma, sloth, exotic frogs, and toucan exhibit far more interesting. The most fascinating exhibit is the hummingbird grounds. One can actually feed the hummingbirds by hand! To give a perspective, later in the trip we were talking with another couple about their experiences in the country. They said that they were able to take pictures of monkeys and toucans off in the distance with their high powered camera. My wife and I didn't have the heart to tell them that I had fed a wild monkey by hand and held a toucan on my arm at the Peace Lodge. The rooms at the Peace lodge were created to fit in with the landscape. When touring this place, my only thought was that I wish my kids could see this. I was truly sad to get back on the bus and steal away from this beautiful place.
We then travelled to The Springs Resort. The resort is nearest to the town of La Fortuna at the base of the Arenal volcano. The resort is strategically placed on a mountain ridge adjacent to the volcano. The rooms all have eight foot windows to allow full view of the Arenal volcano. We arrived after dark and were sped to our rooms by the staff in a golf cart. I later realized that this was necessary because the resort is built into the side of a mountain. When I awoke in the morning and opened the curtains of our room, I was taken aback at the view. I have seen many beautiful vistas in my life, but wow, there was a real life huge smoking volcano! Of course my first question to the locals was "Is that thing gonna blow?". I was assured that it had not had any activity since 1967.
Now that we had cleared that up, we started our first day. After a hike up to the main pavilion, (which is 5 stories) to the restaraunt. I finally made it to the 4th floor for breakfast. Breakfast is a buffet. Let me qualify my review... I hate buffets. Most are just piles of poorly cooked meat, runny eggs, stale bread, old fruit, and greasy potatoes passed off as hash browns. I was pleasantly surprised. There is an omelet bar (which I didn't trust at first but later found to be quite good) lox and bagels (fresh), full fruit bar, etc, etc,... We were then whisked off by bus to the river. The resort has a pavilion placed at the base of its mountain ridge by the Arenal river. The pavilion also has a rock climbing tower, full bar, access to the artesian springs, horseback riding, toucan reserve, and three toed sloth reserve. Our first morning in the pavilion was spent doing yoga. I am not necessarily a big yoga guy but I must say that I was rather limber after the hour long session. The instructor taught me how to squeeze out my liver (being an MD back home, I was skeptical) nontheless it was quite tranquil.
The next three days were filled with repelling, kayaking, zip lining, horse backed riding, ATVing, tubing, climbing, karaoking, monkey sliding, artesian springing, etc, etc,.... I must say that four days spent at the Spring resort seemed much longer. I truly feel that this was the most relaxing and rejuvinating vacation that I have had in a long time. Let me say that if you wish to experience Costa Rica, it is worth it to spend it at The Springs resort. The food is great, the staff is wonderful (we were on a first name basis the first day), the excursions are fabulous, and the facilities are as nice as I have ever experienced.
From a cynical and jaded world traveler.
Sincerely,
J. McDowell
Nashville, Tennessee

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of the volcano. Our room was exquisite (not the presidential). Any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enges, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were there by chance, my husband, my three years old little boy and myself. We hadn't planned for this hotel but sometimes somebody else plans for us. WE LOVED IT! Worth every penny. The rooms are more clean than CLEAN. The bathrooms very nice. the views unbelievable. some of the members of the staff were very friendly. The pools are very well imagined. The access to the river and some outdoor activities very good. There is also a guided tour to some ocelots and other wild cats that were taken from houses that had them illegaly. My son loved the day and didn't want to get out of the river and the hot pools. My husband and I enjoyed every minute. I highly recommend it. The only one thing would be that food is too expensive for what it is. But served with the views of the volcano: who cares?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Every inch of the property is impeccably designed/decorated. The food, drinks and service are top notch. We had four fun filled days that included waterfall canyon reppeling, canopy ziplining, ATV extreme tour and of course enjoying cocktails in the natural mineral springs. I highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are large and have an breath taking view of the Volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is as close to perfection as possible. The architectural details are incredible. Little details like every key place in the hotel from the infinity pool bar to the restaurants to the rooms themselves having a perfect view of the volcano. The staff is as well trained and friendly as any place I have ever stayed. My wife and I are complete foodies and they absolutely did not disappoint. No need to ever leave the hotel for a restaurant. I don't know how many mineral pools they had but it was likely almost a 1 to 1 ratio to rooms. If you have a lifetime travel checklist you must put this one towards the top of your list. You will not be disappointed. Oh, and make sure you do the zip lines, repelling down waterfall cliffs, horsebacking, tubing and ATV adventure. We packed all that in 4 days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Springs Resort and Spa is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. We were with a group of new and old friends and it was the perfect place for us to all get together. We could lounge at the beautiful pools or do one of the many activities they recommended. There are so many hot spring pools around the resort that I did not have time to see them all. The staff was exceptional! They knew us by name and they catered to our every need. They truly wanted everything to be perfect for us. The rooms are gorgeous and they all have beautiful views of the volcano. I can't wait to visit again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The pictures do not do justice to the scenery and can no way describe the service received at The Springs! The views from each room take your breath away. We are still in awe of how this resort appears to be indiginous to the area, and is so well kept, one would think they are the first guests to stay there. The service made us feel like royalty and nothing was left for us to ask for. We feel as if we will never be able to recreate the incredible time we had there and cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Each room faces the Arenal Volcano, which is the same from every one of the hot spring pools and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;