We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is Pure Magic!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Jaco
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This Place is Pure Magic!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The Arenal Springs Resort was truly an experience of a lifetime! The service right off the bat was perfect!!
Kermis our tour guide(super friendly & informative) showed us around while our luggage was being brought to our room. Let me add the view of the Volcano from out room was probably the coolest things I've ever seen! Awesome!!! Our room was luxurious and spacious!!
The hot springs were out of this world relaxing!! And there seemed like there was a ton to choose from!
All in all I would recommend this place to anyone. It's super family oriented and if you want to plan a honey moon here, do it!! Or just for a true Costa Rica get away this place is where it's at!! I Love You Spring Resort!! We'll for sure be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,064
    160
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
433
569
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, RI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Springs destination was perfect for our family - we were a party of 16, with ages raging from 5 - 80, couples and young families. There were many options for trips and tours for nature lovers (that's me), thrill seekers, hikers, photographers, and those who just want to take in the beauty of Arenal. The concierge and all the staff were incredibly accommodating, taking care of all logistics. We planned our excursions for each morning and then returned to the Springs for lunch, reading by the pools, and enjoying all the hot springs. Before dinner, we relaxed on our private balcony, with a breathtaking view, where we enjoyed the sights and sounds of magnificent colorful birds, including a toucan. We never left the resort for a meal - they had everything we could hope for, from casual to full service and even a private catered dinner for our family. Great wine selection, too. The Springs made our experience a perfect balance of adventure, physical activity, and relaxation. We came home feeling refreshed and rested.

Room Tip: Rooms near Perdido Springs may be more appealing to families with young children as it is an easy wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and I could not be happier with the accommodations at the Springs. Although it is a hike to get there, it is well worth the time. We hired a cab at the airport in San Jose and paid only $120 for both of us, and arrived at the hotel in 2 hours and 20 minutes. We were very pleased since we heard many other guests saying that it took them a good 3 ½ hours. We stayed here from April 10-15th and had a fabulous time. The hotel is spectacular, with many different hot springs pool all at varying temperatures. This very impressive resort has fantastic views of the volcano from every vantage point. The staff and bartenders/servers were all very polite and hard working. The rooms are gorgeous, with each having its own volcano view. The hotel’s Club Rio offers an endless number of activities including tubing, horseback riding, rock climbing and a mini zoo with jungle cats, monkeys, birds, etc. There are many different tours in the area, and we did the hanging bridges hike and ziplining. Be advised that both of these were extreme, we were not prepared for the steep climb and difficult footing on the hanging bridge tour, or the (crazy) ziplining tour recommended by the concierge, which we learned on the way to the mountain was the most extreme in the volcano region. Definitely not for the faint of heart. As for the food, the best is the breakfast. I do recommend taking a cab into town and eating at any number of the very good restaurants there. In summary, we had a great time here and were very impressed with the beautiful Costa Rican countryside and wonderful people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My friends and I recently stayed at The Springs for two nights and it was the most amazing, relaxing, luxurious time we have ever had!! We had a perfect view of the volcano for both days that we were there, which was great luck for us... and we enjoyed soaking in the thermal waters for two whole days. The water slide is great for people of all ages. My favorite spot is in the baths overlooking the river. What a way to vacation! I will always come back to The Springs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I believe reviews should be short and to the point.

Bottom line, The Springs Resort and Spa in Costa Rica is second-to-none. Seriously, everything from the food (high end restaurant quality), to the accommodations (luxury), to the facilities, to the pools (especially the numerous and often secluded hot springs pools), to the views, was spectacular. No detail was overlooked. The staff was tremendous and courteous. I look forward to going back! Indeed, I look forward to checking out other resorts owned and managed by Lee Banks!

If you like nature - Costa Rica belongs on your bucket list. If you are a photographer, it is a target rich environment. One of the photos I posted (the volcano) was from the patio of our room (yes - all the rooms have this view!). The concierge at The Springs took care of all off-campus trips and tours - tour of the rainforest, a hanging bridges tour, a river tour through the rainforest, a waterfall tour and a tour of the base of the volcano. We had no worries or concerns - we just had to be at the concierge desk at the appointed time. And for those who like to stay on-campus, The Springs has a wildlife preserve, tubing on rapids, horseback riding and a rock climbing wall, among other things.

The Springs Resort and Spa in Costa Rica rates a "12" on a scale of 1 to 10. Honestly superb. You won't regret booking a vacation there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our week's vacation inn Costa Rica with our two girls (ages 9 and 10). We started our trip at The Springs Resort and Spa. Upon arrival, we were graciously welcomed by the front desk and provided with delicious tropical drinks, given a tour of the breathtaking grounds with its scenic and lush backdrop, and shown to our room which was ready ahead of check-in time. Our hotel room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. My kids had their own room and bathroom divided by sliding doors and they were thrilled to have their own privacy (as were we!). We enjoyed the large balcony (especially the two hammocks often occupied by my girls when we were not out and about) with awesome views of the rainforest and volcano. You could hear the sounds of the springs and the chirping of the birds at any time of the day.

Our days were active and full. The concierge Johnny and the general Manager Roy were extremely accommodating in making sure that everything we hoped to accomplish during our stay would in fact happen. On the premises themselves, we took advantage of the hotel's outdoor Club Rio. We visited their Wildlife Preserve and fed the toucans, got close views of the monkeys, ocelets and pumas and even saw a four day old horse. We also arranged for tubing along the Arenal River with their experienced guides. The girls had a blast while getting splashed and bounced around. My husband also went on a bird watching tour early in the morning. As for activities outside the resort, we hiked "near" the volcano, walked across the hanging bridges and went ziplining twice (because apparently once was not enough for my girls).

We also spent a lot of time just enjoying the multitude of landscaped springs pools of varying temperatures by the upper part of the hotel, as well as those by the lower part of the hotel grounds called Perdido Springs. My girls (and even the adults) spent hours going up and down the Monkey slide. Constant entertainment and relaxation combined.

By the end of our stay, we wished we could have stayed longer but our vacation had been pre-arranged. We were sad to say goodbye to this wonderful hotel and its very professional and friendly staff, including the hotel's owner, with whom we had the good fortune to meet. In fact, our next destination was the Four Seasons at Peninsula Papagayo, which was lovely, but its atmosphere was more formal and corporate (i.e., less personal) and lacked, in my opinion, some local flavor. When we first arrived, my girls were begging to go back to The Springs. The Springs was truly unique in its beauty and design and offered adventure, relaxation and cultural immersion.

There is no doubt that our family will make a return visit to The Springs -- and stay longer the next time. This was our best family vacation to date.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Springs Resort as part of our honeymoon in April. The resort is tucked away and hidden from the main road. The resort is by far the most luxurious that we stayed at in Costa Rica. When you check in they give you a tour of the grounds to help you not feel so lost on the property. The rooms are gorgeous and very spacious with fantastic views of the volcano and the surrounding forest.

The food was not very good and expensive. The drinks were very weak. The bar tender down at the pools away from the main building of the resort was helpful in choosing drinks that were a little more stout.

The folks down at the Club Rio portion was AWESOME and our guide for the tucan, monkey, and cats tour was very friendly, very knowledgable, and had only been speaking english for a couple of months, but spoke english very well.

This is the place to stay if you really want to spoil yourself for a few days while in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.