We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horsing Around at Club Rio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horsing Around at Club Rio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Springs Resort experience for our family was nothing short of magnificent. The staff was extremely polite, friendly, knowledgeable, approachable, and pleasant. They truly became part of our family.

Our children range in age from mid-teens to early twenties. We all thoroughly enjoyed our experiences at Club Rio from tubing to horseback riding. The wildlife tour of rescued animals should not be missed. Best to go in the cooler parts of the day when the animals are more active.

In particular, as a complete novice at horseback riding, I found this adventure most rewarding. The guides at Club Rio (Oscar and Nano) have a relaxed teaching approach that worked well with my lack of horse sense and initial nervousness. During two one-hour tours through fields and trails (even a cool down in the Arenal River), they observed and adjusted my riding technique that quickly built my confidence. On our final day, our family embarked with Oscar and Nano on a 2-½ hour journey from Club Rio into the surrounding countryside. Additional pointers along the way further enhanced the enjoyment of this journey of great sites and memories. Pura Vida!

Consult the Concierge regarding time availability of activities at Club Rio. There are plenty of changing rooms and bathrooms onsite. Bring your swimwear as after riding or climbing, there is nothing like a relaxing dip in the hot spring.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,088
    164
    52
    19
    10
See reviews for
448
575
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Trip Advisor was a big reason for us choosing this hotel, and we were not disappointed at all.

Arriving at the Springs is a real experience. You turn off the main road and drive 2 miles on a dirt road, then turning the corner and arriving at oz. Valet your car and after a brief checkin, your given a great tour of the property and your room. The main building houses the restaurants, spa, lobby, bar and the rooms are below. The tour of the property shows off how amazing it is: the layout, the views, the great hot springs pools, the landscaping.

Then you head to the rooms. Check out the Springs website - those photos are very accurate. While it's good sized room, they've really created a magnificent living space: great woodwork, great view of the Volcano, rocking chairs, accent lighting, spa tub.

The hot springs tubs are wonderful - there are a number of pools on the property, so chances are you'll have one all to yourself. The spa treatments were good and the facility was very very nice.

They have an adventure area near the river (10 min bus ride) called Club Rio and houses a small collection of wild animals - loved that.

We were able to spend some time with the owner/developer Lee, and he has a great vision for the property and his expectations of service.

The food was very good. I would like to see a little more variety on the menu, but the quality and service were great. Jose at Ventana's did a great job.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor - the higher ceilings really make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is by far a trip I will remember forever. I went with a massive group of 16 people, some were kids.(including me only being a 14 year old boy). Every moment of the trip you will have something to do. Club Rio is probably the coolest place I've been too, horseback riding was my favorite. We went for 2 hours exploring all the land of Costa Rica. The guides Nano and Oscar are probably the nicest people I know. I never ever ever went horse back riding before this trip. But the new experience was amazing. My 5 year old sister even rode. Then she couldn't stop talking about it. Even as a new rider I was comfortable with the horses. The employes all are more nice then most the people I know. The sweetest people ever.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Springs Resort is gorgeous. The property and landscaping is lush and beautiful. We stayed in the honeymoon vista rooms. The rooms are roomy, absolutely beautiful, and extremely well thought out in their design. Having our own private hot springs off of our patio with his and hers hammocks was such a treat. Our view of the volcano was superb and the privacy garden attracted a nice array of birds. The service at this resort was topnotch and the activities offered via the resort's Club Rio makes it so that you almost don't have to leave property. The numerous hot springs throughout the property were fun and relaxing (my husband had to wake me for dinner every night!), the water slide was fun and the tubing was thrilling. The animal conservatory is nicely done as well. The food was not great, but the meals in the smaller dining facility were very good and the sushi bar was pretty good as well. The spa was extremely nice as well -- beautiful, relaxing and very good technicians. I received the most thorough facial of my life. My husband had a very enjoyable mani-pedi. Although his manicurist arrived 20 minutes late for his appointment due to some traffic issue, she gave him a free upgrade to their nicest mani-pedi and discounted his treatment by 50%. He was more than happy with that concession.

Room Tip: I recommend splurging for the Honeymoon Vista rooms -- the view is absolutely gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Springs was definitely worth the long trip -- beautiful hotel in a amazing location!! So much to do with kids -- the staff was great, the rooms were new & clean, the concierge was so helpful with all of the daytime activities (zip lining, water fall repelling, tubing, horse back riding, etc.). The spa was fabulous too & the pool options/hot springs were fantastic. My only slight issue would be that it was too bad they offered day passes to the Springs, it would have been nicer and less crowded if they limited it to hotel guests. The breakfast buffet was great but dinner & lunch were passable, definitely not amazing! That being said, this was the perfect family location and such a great place to experience the eco-adventure in Costa Rica. Highly recommend the water fall repelling at La Rocca with Sunset Tours -- it was a really fun adventure w/ the kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Springs Resort is gorgeous! The reception area is beautiful and very welcoming. The room (Alta Vista) is large and luxurious with a breath taking view of the volcano. The bathroom is spacious with a deep tiled jetted tub, separate shower, and toilet area. Perfect for a family of five. The balcony faces the volcano directly and is also very large with 2 hammocks. The bad part about the room is the bed - sagging and lumpy!
The grounds of the resort are clean and beautiful as well. Many tropical plants, paths, birds, and reptiles. The pools are plentiful and of varying temperature. Many are very private, epecially in the paradisio area where the water slide is. The swim up bar had great service for drinks and food and also had a view of the volcano. Service is excellent.
Club Rio is fun. They have a wildlife rescue with monkeys, Toucans, and large cats. You can feed the Toucans and monkeys. Sloths are coming soon. The tubing was fun and safe. There are also many springs along the river which are very private. It is true that the water will stain your bathing suits.
The food is a down side to this beautiful, and otherwise, 5 star resort. Of course, it is expensive, but not worth it. We did enjoy the breakfast buffet with was Tico. Lunch is average, and dinner below average. The dinner buffet is terrible. Service at the restaurant is hit and miss, and overall very bad.
Overall, a very nice stay and would go again. A five star resort with four star food and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We heard very good reviews about the resort. It is clean, quiet and the staff is accommodating. The restaurant staff feel that they are above the clients here and they are not shy about expressing their feelings. Service is not consistent, which is good and bad, one time you get good service the next you get horrible, snobbish service. The pools are warm and clean. The swim up sushi bar is excellent. The beds feel like cement pads. Another thing that is cheesy is you have to wear the paper bracelets we normally wear at water parks. You are required to verify your room number when at the restaurant or bar, through your bracelet. Food was not that good either, the breakfast buffet is good. Do not order the cheesecake, it is the worst we have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Beds are horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.