We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Springs Resort is gorgeous! The reception area is beautiful and very welcoming. The room (Alta Vista) is large and luxurious with a breath taking view of the volcano. The bathroom is spacious with a deep tiled jetted tub, separate shower, and toilet area. Perfect for a family of five. The balcony faces the volcano directly and is also very large with 2 hammocks. The bad part about the room is the bed - sagging and lumpy!
The grounds of the resort are clean and beautiful as well. Many tropical plants, paths, birds, and reptiles. The pools are plentiful and of varying temperature. Many are very private, epecially in the paradisio area where the water slide is. The swim up bar had great service for drinks and food and also had a view of the volcano. Service is excellent.
Club Rio is fun. They have a wildlife rescue with monkeys, Toucans, and large cats. You can feed the Toucans and monkeys. Sloths are coming soon. The tubing was fun and safe. There are also many springs along the river which are very private. It is true that the water will stain your bathing suits.
The food is a down side to this beautiful, and otherwise, 5 star resort. Of course, it is expensive, but not worth it. We did enjoy the breakfast buffet with was Tico. Lunch is average, and dinner below average. The dinner buffet is terrible. Service at the restaurant is hit and miss, and overall very bad.
Overall, a very nice stay and would go again. A five star resort with four star food and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    175
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
619
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We heard very good reviews about the resort. It is clean, quiet and the staff is accommodating. The restaurant staff feel that they are above the clients here and they are not shy about expressing their feelings. Service is not consistent, which is good and bad, one time you get good service the next you get horrible, snobbish service. The pools are warm and clean. The swim up sushi bar is excellent. The beds feel like cement pads. Another thing that is cheesy is you have to wear the paper bracelets we normally wear at water parks. You are required to verify your room number when at the restaurant or bar, through your bracelet. Food was not that good either, the breakfast buffet is good. Do not order the cheesecake, it is the worst we have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Beds are horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Amazing views here, lots to do - but very expensive. The staff was great. We visited twice for the hot springs and then the white water tubing. But there was no local dishes to be found in any of the restaurants. Very disappointing, because Tico food is DELISH! I'd recommend visiting vs. staying here so you can save money and eat non-americana food. Why eat what you can eat at home while you are in Costa Rica!? Try something new!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Springs in La Fortuna offers views that are cinematic. From the moment we arrived we were treated h

We were greeted by Allen who provided us with a brief tour and explanation of the facility. Clearly, a lot of time and money was invested into this property. It is apparent from the moment you arrive. The road leading to the property was a little daunting, like most of the roads in Costa Rica, but once you enter the property the quality of the property becomes quite apparent.

Once shown to the room, we were stunned by the size of the Junior Suite. The upper level is this particular room is larger than the lower level. The grand two-story picture window is centered on the Arenal volcano. The woodwork, cleanliness, furnishing were all first-class - tasteful, appropriate and comfortable. Full sized balconies were part of both the upper and lower levels. The balconies come with hammocks - very cool. As I swung in the hammock, staring at the volcano, I imagined being Simon Bolivar, resting after a long trek with his troops. (I knew I was in Central America, nonetheless the imagine of Simon Bolivar persisted.)

The hotel offers several thermal pools of varying degree and size. Please remember to not wear a white bathing suit into the sulphur pools - they will discolor. There are opportunities to find privacy for your friends and family. Rather than one large pool, there are several located on alternate levels.

The weakest component of this property is the food service. The family we were meeting arrived at the property two days before us. When we met them at the hotel they warned us that the food "was just not good." I agree. It's really a shame since the surroundings, the views are incomparable in this area. Breakfast, very weak; lunch average; diner sushi about the same as at an airport. We would have loved to have eaten at the property more, but it is not up to the standard of the rest of the property.

Concierge and tourist services were exceptional. We dealt with a lovely young lade named Joselyn (not exact on spelling) and she could not have been more enthusiastic or helpful. William, a bartender/service person is one of the most charming people on property. He greeted us warmly, gave us recommendations on restaurants and tours - what a gentleman!

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this property. There is no hiding the fact that this is not an inexpensive hotel, but we felt it was very much worth the extra expense.

Best Wishes, Colin

Colin A. Burns

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hotel is beautiful, the service is first class and the view is perfect. We had a wonderful stay and they were so helpful with all of our excursions. The suites was perfect for our family of 5. If you go to Arenal definitely stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We didn’t stay at the resort, but used the two day pass to visit the pools. It’s a jarring, bumpy ride about 3.5k from the main road and so it’s nice to finally pull up to the elegant resort. The 18 pools are varying temperatures, with some hot pools surrounded by cool pools, etc. There are lots of little out of the way spots and plenty of places to explore. There’s a good slide at the bottom pool and fun waterfalls spread out. My only ‘complaint’ is that it feels very manufactured, you know it has all been built from nothing and there’s nothing natural-feeling about it. The locker rooms are very nice and they have hair dryers and you can rent lockers. If you do a package with dinner and transportation, it’s quite expensive at about $120 per person. The buffet dinner is nice, but nothing spectacular. There are other resorts in the area that sell day passes for much less, so you should look around at the various properties to see which one looks the best for your budget. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous! Probably one of the most stunning rooms we have ever stayed in, and on the one day we could see the volcano it ranks up there with one of the most amazing views ever. We were in one of the family suites (201) which was luxurious, beautiful, and HUGE.

This is a very family-friendly resort with Club Rio on site. You could easily spend a full morning or afternoon down there...perhaps even a day if you wanted to do all the activities they offer (i.e., tubing, horseback riding, kayaking, hot springs, wildlife sanctuary, climbing wall, etc.). One note when going to Club Rio: check with the concierge about the timing of all the activities. You have to take the bus there and back and it leaves from the lobby twice per hour (0:15 and 0:45). Different activities are only offered at certain times of the day so if you head down there at random, you could end up sitting around for awhile waiting for the activity start time. You can't just go to the wildlife park...you have to go with a guide and the tours are offered on the hour so if you head down on the 0:15 shuttle you will have to wait 45 minutes until the next tour. They offer a special feeding tour at 4:15 every day. The usual tours are free, but there is a charge for the feeding tour.

My daughter loved the pool. I was a bit concerned after reading reviews from others about busloads of people being dropped off during the day and taking over the pool, but we didn't experience this at all. In fact, despite the hotel being fully booked, the pool seemed rather empty.

Food on property was pretty good. I wish we done some exploring and tried some places off-site, but as others have mentioned the resort is at the end of a very hilly dirt road and the sun sets early so I wouldn't have felt comfortable driving even if we had had a rental car, and it didn't seem worth it to spend the money on a cab. Plus we were tired after our activities so we just decided to stay on property each night.

The staff was superb as well. I was impressed upon check-in that they asked us to designate a specific time we wanted turn-down service. We eat early and go to bed early, so it was nice to be able to return from dinner and have our room ready for us to crawl into bed. Typically I find turn-down service (if even offered) doesn't show up until we're already in our pajamas and don't want to be disturbed. In addition, the vendor we booked to transfer us to our next hotel screwed up our reservation. The bell staff kept asking us to confirm which company we had booked with so they could let us know as soon as they arrived. Once we figured out that the car was never going to show up, the concierge at The Springs jumped all over it and had a new car and driver there in 24 minutes. I am amazed that he found someone to make the 8 hour round-trip drive on such short notice.

My only regret is that we didn't stay at The Springs longer. We stayed for four nights and after one day each of whitewater rafting, zip-lining, and canyoning, we barely had time to squeeze in a visit to the wildlife sanctuary. And we didn't get a chance to go to the Hanging Bridges or do any hiking. Guess we'll just have to go back. And next time I am definitely going to make sure we go to Peace Lodge, their sister property.

Honestly...you can not go wrong staying at The Springs. I caught glimpses of other properties as we were being driven around in shuttles to and from our various activities and The Springs is the cream of the crop!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.