We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
INDIANAPOLIS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

AWESOME. We loved this place. Greeted so warmly and immediately knew we had found a great home for a few days. All of the staff bends over backwards to help you, always with a kind greeting.

All of the family amenities you can imagine for kids, all the while meeting parents expectations. Great spa, etc. Gorgeous and super pool, super hot springs pools, just beautiful beyond compare. The grounds on this property are stunning and I could walk them and stare at them and sit at every different location for hours on end if I could! Club Rio is a quick ride down the hill, offering kayaking, tubing on a rapids river ... my kids loved it. Sushi bar was awesome, and a great place to watch ball games during March Madness. Right off the sushi bar is the very complete kids room, with tons of games electronic and otherwise. The other restaurants are good .. nothing special in terms of food, but fine.

We had a clear and beautiful view of the volcano one day, but apparently this isn't always the case and people get disappointed. The weather is always in flux-- so the view can be obstructed by clouds for days or weeks at a time, apparently. Also, the volcano is not active, despite all kinds of awesome pictures showing erupting lava online. It is a STUNNING view from the hotel, when it's clear.

We had two rooms that were not connected -- despite confirming connecting rooms. The guy looked at me like I was crazy as he was letting us in to them and I questioned that they weren't connected. Because the hotel was full I didn't fight it, and my husband and I just split up and each stayed in one. The man at hotel said "oh people leave their kids in their own room all the time." Maybe I was overreacting .. or maybe not ;-) One of our rooms had a bad moldy smell, which I notified them of... surprising for a place this nice (avoid room 108). And our safe was locked upon arrival, which never got fixed despite asking for help. (we just used the safe in the other room.) Oh well, Pura Vida! Despite these minor issues, the rooms are beautiful and the bathrooms are all marble and just beautiful. Lovely patio with two lovely hammocks too! The Springs was a favorite in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to have a great view. I'm sure they're all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    182
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
481
629
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Long overdue review of this resort (visited in Jan or Feb of 2012). I did not stay here but utilized a two day access pass to enjoy the springs and facilities. After a day of horseback riding and ziplining, nothing says vacation than a tropical drink and soaking in hot springs.

This place is one of my top 5 favorites in the world --- and yes, I have stayed or utilized 5 star resorts throughout the world.

Eat the sushi -- fresh and delicious. Have a couple drinks -- refreshing. Take a tour of their sanctuary -- beautiful animals. Enjoy the waters --- it is a true paradise, both at night and during the day.

This place is a MUST to visit and enjoy when in the Arenal area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We didn't actually stay a The Springs, but we used the Hot Springs Two Day Pass to have dinner (twice), swam in the hot springs and explore the Club Rio Outdoor Center. This review is about our special dinner at Las Ventanas. This trip to Costa Rica was the culmination of my surprise 50th birthday. Part of that surprise was dinner at fabulous Las Ventanas (The Windows), located at The Springs Resort and Spa, with a view of Volcán Arenal. This is truly a first class facility and they really make you feel welcomed and part of the family. Our reservations were at night, so didn't get to see the volcano but the experience we had there (service, food, recommendations, etc.) make us want to return as soon as possible. We started off with the Wild Mushroom Bruschetta Appetizer (Caramelized Leeks, Pancetta, Rosemary and a Sherry Cream Sauce served on Crostini). For dinner, LJ had the Blackened Mahi Mahi Entrée (with a Jalapeño Beurre Blanc sauce and served with Pearl Potatoes and Sautéed Vegetables) while I had the Bleu Cheese Ribeye Entrée (Certified Angus Choice Rib Eye with a Bleu Cheese Compound Butter served with Potato Au Gratin, Green Beans and Oregano Oil). To end the evening, we selected the Caramelized Apple Dessert (a very delicate combination with a Confit Sweet Potato Quenelle, Basil Sorbet, Cream of Flan and Mixed Candied Nuts) and Caffè Corretto.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the Hot Springs Two Day Pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Lots of activities for the whole family. Thermal waters are amazing with several pools that spread throughout the area so you are never crowded. Many restaurants offer a variety of choices. Magnificent view of the Arenal volcano from all areas of the resort. Comfortable accomodations and great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Springs Resort and Spa is really just the perfect meeting of luxury for parents and fun for kids -- making it the best family hotel we have ever stayed in. It is a moderately sized hotel which means that the staff is very engaged in making the stay extraordinary -- from the woman who cleans the room to the concierge arranging life changing and thrilling activities -- everyone works to make the stay marvelous. The rooms are luxurious and have magnificent views of the volcano. The property is fabulous with "Club Rio", a fun spot on the river with a climbing wall, tubing, a small collection of exotic animal (Tucans you can feed and a baby jaguar who will playfully run the length of the enclosure with the kids), and a really terrific horse facility. A wrangler named Nano worked to make the horseback ride the best of my children's lives and that is saying something because our children ride weekly. Finally, the Springs themselves, a collection of 20+ pools dotting the property, at least one with a really fun slide -- make it possible to conclude everyday with a relaxing and fun soak in a hot pool, swim or slide. I highly highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were a group of weary travelers, and had been rather loosely using travel guides to search out interesting paths and sites in the interior of Costa Rica. We headed one evening for The Springs, all agreeing that a thermal pool would be a nice way to cap the day. The road seemed endless and remote, but as soon as we turned into the entrance drive, we knew we had found something special. What unfolded was the most luxurious experience of the entire journey. Each of us felt completely taken care of from the moment we arrived. The staff was absolutely excellent in every way. The food was fabulous. The room was huge, beautifully appointed, and impeccably clean. And the hot pools- not to be missed! I must give a special mention to one of the staff, Andrey, and one of the guides, Nichole, who were especially outstanding, even beyond the high standards of this resort. If you are looking for luxury in the hills, this is your spot.

Room Tip: Many rooms offer a view of the volcano- worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This resort is the finest I have ever been to. Lush tropical paradise. Service is what you would expect from a 5 Star Resort. Rooms are gorgeous with an incredible view of the volcano. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. There are many things to do at the resort and close by as well and very reasonably priced as well. I just can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished and have breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.