We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than the travel guides tell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Souderton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So much more than the travel guides tell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were a group of weary travelers, and had been rather loosely using travel guides to search out interesting paths and sites in the interior of Costa Rica. We headed one evening for The Springs, all agreeing that a thermal pool would be a nice way to cap the day. The road seemed endless and remote, but as soon as we turned into the entrance drive, we knew we had found something special. What unfolded was the most luxurious experience of the entire journey. Each of us felt completely taken care of from the moment we arrived. The staff was absolutely excellent in every way. The food was fabulous. The room was huge, beautifully appointed, and impeccably clean. And the hot pools- not to be missed! I must give a special mention to one of the staff, Andrey, and one of the guides, Nichole, who were especially outstanding, even beyond the high standards of this resort. If you are looking for luxury in the hills, this is your spot.

Room Tip: Many rooms offer a view of the volcano- worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    196
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
538
691
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This resort is the finest I have ever been to. Lush tropical paradise. Service is what you would expect from a 5 Star Resort. Rooms are gorgeous with an incredible view of the volcano. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. There are many things to do at the resort and close by as well and very reasonably priced as well. I just can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully furnished and have breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just returned from Costa Rica and the Springs Resort was one of the reasons we had the best vacation. Everything from the incredible two story suite to the relaxing hot springs made the trip special and unusual. The activities at the Club Rio were a blast and the staff at the club made the experience a blast for our family. Specifically, Jonathan, Daniel, Rolando, Ally (at the front desk of Club Rio) and the guys who took us on the horseback riding and atv tour, were all professional, helpful, patient and just SO nice. Overall, the service was terrific. The food was good. Better than we expected. It's not gourmet but there are a lot of options and they had a kids menu which was key. It is truly a special vacation spot that we will go to again someday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed four nights at the Springs. We were certainly not disappointed at all. Facility was beautiful, service was wonderful, staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in a first floor Vista room and our view was unbelievable. Food at the resort was very good and not unreasonably priced.

Hidden Gem..they don't mention on the website, but actually the best Hot Springs (and the most Private) are down at Club Rio. The one on top of the waterfall is really neat, and you can go past that where they have made three more pools from hot springs that just emerged as a result of the earthquake last year.

Hope to go again someday

BTW, Club Rio is a great facilty with a fun staff.

No doubt, the Springs is not a cheap place to stay, but it is a fantastic value and a place I'd love to go back to.

As far as excursions go, my wife and I were lucky..we were the only ones with our guide as we went Horseback Riding at Club Rio (gentle horses, knowledgable guide, beautiful scenery). It was also just us and the guide (Andres, thanks!) as we did the ATV Extreme through running creeks, rain forests , farms and small towns...a blast...and it was just us and a very knowledgable Nature Guide as we went to the Arenal Swinging Bridges location and wwe were above and over the rainforest! Great way to see it! Actually saw wild monkeys as well!

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and our view was excellent. Can't imagine that there is a bad room in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We purchased the day pass at The Springs Resort for $50 each and it was totally worth it! It was good for two days. The grounds and the numerous pools and hot springs are very beautiful. There were three separate ares with the hot springs. Each one slightly different. We think the one all the way down by the river at Club Rio (which is part of the property and package) is the neatest one in that the hot springs are in its natural habitat, so to speak. You are surrounded by trees and nature.
We ended up spending a whole afternoon and evening at the resort and totally got our moneys worth. Definitely worth going there for the day... or two.

Please see my review of Club Rio ( http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g309226-d3915683-Reviews-Club_Rio_Outdoor_Center-La_Fortuna_de_San_Carlos_Arenal_Volcano_National_Park_Pro.html ) for more info on the activities that we enjoyed there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, U.K.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

From checking in until our reluctant departure the staff were very friendly and helpful and extremely professional.The views from the large picture window and the very spacious balcony were spectacular and looked directly across the valley to Arenal volcano. This is the case with all the rooms at the hotel. The units are 2 storey and ours was an Alta Vista room which is the upper floor room and means you get extra height due to the vaulted ceiling. The hotel is on a hillside and on many levels but there is an elevator and golf cart type shuttles to take you to and from the rooms/reception.The hot spring pools are man made but the water is genuine with a high mineral content and the setting is beautiful, especially the 'Perdidos springs' in the evening. They are all drained at the end of each day and refilled overnight. There is also a chlorinated pool with swim up bar.The food was excellent and very reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality. Cocktails are around US$9, Beers US$6. The club Rio (1 km down the hill via shuttle bus) has plenty of activities on site and I would recommend the extreme ATV tour to get a good feel for the surrounding area. For any stay of more than say 4 nights the hotel's relative remoteness (3.5km from main road and US$18 taxi fare to La Fortuna ) may become a problem, but we went for a 2 night stay to explore the area, half way through a 2 week stay at the Westin Playa Conchal. We used an excellent company called Memo Adventures for our private transfers each way. If I return to Arenal I would definately choose to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Alta vista rooms give you the extra height and probably a slightly better view given that they are 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

You will not be disappointed. The resort is amazing, the staff incredible and the excursions are to die for. The only thing we would enhance is the food and choice of restaurants. We spent 5 days on the beach so the Springs was a wonderful complement. We travel all over the world and the staff at the Springs were comparable to the top resorts in Asia, Europe and the Americas.
Do not miss Club Rio at the base of the resort. It is a hidden gem. Be sure to experience the river, the climbing wall and the horses.

Room Tip: we splurged
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.