We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Springs - Day Pass” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hot Springs - Day Pass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We purchased the day pass at The Springs Resort for $50 each and it was totally worth it! It was good for two days. The grounds and the numerous pools and hot springs are very beautiful. There were three separate ares with the hot springs. Each one slightly different. We think the one all the way down by the river at Club Rio (which is part of the property and package) is the neatest one in that the hot springs are in its natural habitat, so to speak. You are surrounded by trees and nature.
We ended up spending a whole afternoon and evening at the resort and totally got our moneys worth. Definitely worth going there for the day... or two.

Please see my review of Club Rio ( http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g309226-d3915683-Reviews-Club_Rio_Outdoor_Center-La_Fortuna_de_San_Carlos_Arenal_Volcano_National_Park_Pro.html ) for more info on the activities that we enjoyed there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    167
    52
    20
    11
See reviews for
455
585
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, U.K.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

From checking in until our reluctant departure the staff were very friendly and helpful and extremely professional.The views from the large picture window and the very spacious balcony were spectacular and looked directly across the valley to Arenal volcano. This is the case with all the rooms at the hotel. The units are 2 storey and ours was an Alta Vista room which is the upper floor room and means you get extra height due to the vaulted ceiling. The hotel is on a hillside and on many levels but there is an elevator and golf cart type shuttles to take you to and from the rooms/reception.The hot spring pools are man made but the water is genuine with a high mineral content and the setting is beautiful, especially the 'Perdidos springs' in the evening. They are all drained at the end of each day and refilled overnight. There is also a chlorinated pool with swim up bar.The food was excellent and very reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality. Cocktails are around US$9, Beers US$6. The club Rio (1 km down the hill via shuttle bus) has plenty of activities on site and I would recommend the extreme ATV tour to get a good feel for the surrounding area. For any stay of more than say 4 nights the hotel's relative remoteness (3.5km from main road and US$18 taxi fare to La Fortuna ) may become a problem, but we went for a 2 night stay to explore the area, half way through a 2 week stay at the Westin Playa Conchal. We used an excellent company called Memo Adventures for our private transfers each way. If I return to Arenal I would definately choose to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Alta vista rooms give you the extra height and probably a slightly better view given that they are 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

You will not be disappointed. The resort is amazing, the staff incredible and the excursions are to die for. The only thing we would enhance is the food and choice of restaurants. We spent 5 days on the beach so the Springs was a wonderful complement. We travel all over the world and the staff at the Springs were comparable to the top resorts in Asia, Europe and the Americas.
Do not miss Club Rio at the base of the resort. It is a hidden gem. Be sure to experience the river, the climbing wall and the horses.

Room Tip: we splurged
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 5 days at The Springs. The property itself is magnificent along with the view of the volcano. This is a wonderful hotel to both relax and see the various sights.
There were many families here and they all seem to enjoy the hotel as well.
I would reccommend The Springs to both families and couples.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just returned from 9 days in Costa Rica where we stayed at 3 different hotels and The Springs was the best, hands down! The rooms were beautiful and I believe all of them had a private deck with a view of the volcano. The pools were awesome and Club Rio was lots of fun but what really did it for us was the impeccable service. For example, our waiter, Luis Angel, remembered on Day 2 that I had asked for a skim cappuccino the previous morning at breakfast and offered me that instead of just pouring coffee. Every detail was like that. My husband normally complains about everything and even he said this place was perfect!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My family of five stayed at The Springs for 2 nights in March 2013. We all wanted to stay longer and would return in a heartbeat.

The resort is beautiful and serene. From nearly every location you have a gorgeous view of the Arenal Volcano. The many pools are wonderful.

My kids (ages 14, 12 and 9) also loved the activities floor with the open-air pool table, dart board, chess board, and more.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious, but the patios with private hammocks are the cherry on top. My husband said that waking up in the luxurious room with that gorgeous view of the volcano made him feel like he was Mick Jagger.

The only minor complaint is that a very strange set-list of bad 1980s pop music played in all the public areas. Aside from that, the resort is perfection.

The breakfast buffet was terrific and well priced. The other meals were fine. Drinks a the various bars were quite good!

Our only Club Rio activity was tubing. It was just our family of five plus the two guides who were personable and fun.

We drove from Liberia. The roads were nicely paved. The switchback curves made the kids feel carsick but overall the drive was no trouble.

Room Tip: All rooms have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Springs resort is difficult to review because it presents a real conflict. On the one hand, we were put off by the atmosphere, which makes you think you’re at the Polynesian resort at Disneyworld. There is no authentic Costa Rican flavor here -- it is totally Americanized. Even the signs around the resort are exclusviely in English.

On the other hand, it is a very nice resort. We had a two-bedroom suite, which was amazing. It was very spacious, easily accommodating a family of five. Very nicely done, with modern amenities. We were very pleased.

The staff was unfailingly polite and courteous, with everyone speaking English very well.

The grounds were beautiful, although the sheer size of the place can be a little intimidating. Simply navigating around the main building takes some practice before you can comfortably know the layout. There are many pools, heated by nearby Mount Arenal. The kids loved that.

The resort has an activity program, which includes rafting and horseback riding. We did not participate in that program, however, so I cannot speak to quality or expense.

Dining at the resort was not its strong suit. Again, it’s like eating at a Disneyworld hotel. Breakfast buffets got a little old after two or three days, although we did love the copious amounts of fresh fruit. Dinner at the informal restaurant was disappointing. While there is a more formal alternative, we instead opted after the first night to have dinner in the nearby city of Fortuna.

On balance, this is an expensive but easy alternative, especially for families visiting the Arenal area. Don’t look for authentic Costa Rican atmosphere here, however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.