We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day visit in a Disney-style paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Day visit in a Disney-style paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Didn't actually stay in the hotel - our tour bus brought us here to enjoy the hot springs and a dinner. I found the premises very beautiful, even though other reviewers commented on how artificial it all is. Well call me a fool but I was awestruck at the views from the hotel and the luxurious (albeit artificial) surroundings. The hot springs (pools) were very nice as they went from very hot to lukewarm and we enjoyed sampling them all. The grounds are spread out and there were secluded "private" pools which had no one in them when we went to check them out. These were very romantic and sort of out of the beaten path and seemed to me a nice place for honeymooners to enjoy the pools in a private setting, but like I said no one there...

Can't comment on the bar/drinks as we did not indulge. Cannot comment on the rooms as we did not visit any. Found the shower/changing rooms clean and convenient. Agree with most comments that the staff was not overly friendly but not rude or anything. Supper for our tour group was a choice of 3 main dishes and all were appreciated although not 5* cuisine.

Definitely not a place for mobility impaired individuals (as most places/hotels we visited in CR). Lots of levels, stairs, rocky paths.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,081
    164
    52
    19
    10
See reviews for
443
573
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Only go here if you fully appreciate that it is like staying in Disney land. If you like that type of thing, you will love it. If not, read on...

The staff here are excellent. That has to be said first off because my "average" rating does not reflect them at all. The reason that I am giving it "average" is that for me and my family, it really wasn't anything extraordinary and felt very overpriced at times.

The building is enormous, dominating and fake looking and made me feel as if I was visiting Disneyland next to the volcano. It seems to be all pre-moulded concrete decorated in a slightly dated colonial style which, when the sun isn't shining, lends it quite an oppressive feel. It feels very "resorty" like it is designed for people that pretty much want to stay on site and spend their entire holiday within the confines of the hotel. Yet at the same time, it isn't very full of life. Bars shut by 11 and everyone seems to be in bed for 10.30! The restaurants are fine but nothing standout when compared to the oustanding quality of Costa Rican food normally. Infact, it felt a little like it was catering towards the American market with a lot of American items on the menu such as waffles, burgers etc.

The rooms are really large, beds comfortable and has everything you are likely to need with a good balcony and decent views.

The pools are ok. There are plenty of them and relatively warm. They are also drained every night which I thought was good. They are very "fake" looking though I'm afraid. There are also tons of sun loungers. The views from the pools are excellent.

The hotel has its own sports and adventure club, "Club Rio", which has various activities such as rock climbing, tubing and rafting. I think it would be great for keeping kids occupied (but expensive, the activies aren't included) and the instructors are excellent but again, you just can't escape the fakeness of it all!

That said, there is an excellent animal reserve where the hotel looks after animals which were previously kept illegally. There are toucans, pumas, ocelots, monkeys and sloths and they will give you a guided tour free. This was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Springs is truly a magical place, with only 48 rooms, but a property to accommodate hundreds, you would never have to see other guests if you desire seclusion. You almost get a feeling that the resort is a little oasis in the jungle made for you ad only you (and the friendly staff you help you with everything you need). The best part of the resort is the hot springs. There are two sets of clusters of hot springs. One cluster is right by the hotel, and these hot springs are divine!!! Each spring has a different temperature, and most importantly, there is a massive swim up bar in one of them. The second set of hot springs are deep in the rainforest. These were my favorite. They are more natural looking, and when you are in them, you look out, and you are surrounded by trees, vines, flowers, exotic birds, and other beautiful plants. The best part about those springs is the "monkey slide", a super fast slide that winds through the springs, SO FUN!!! If the hot springs are not enough (trust me, they are enough, but the Springs Resort loves to spoil its guests) there is also an area of the Resort on the river called Club Rio, if you intend to have a longer stay at the resort, this is something that you must utilize. There is tubing and kyaking in the river, horse back riding, and exhibit of wild cats and monkeys, a rock climbing wall, hikes, and countless other activities, including another set of hot springs...there was a hot spring on the top of the waterfall...most gorgeous view I have ever seen...So overall, the Springs Resort was a top notch destination for a trip, beautiful accommodations, a view of the volcano from nearly every room, hot springs, tons of activities, and a great service. I would recommend it as you next trip for any family or couple!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a spectacular view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I went here for our honeymoon and our expectations were exceeded with everything. They have a ton of activities and animals right on the property. The food was great, but the service was over the top excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A disney like setting. Hot springs, pools, beautiful gardens, outdoor entertainment area. Service was excellent and the food was outstanding.

The room was probably the best we have ever been in.

The town of Fortuna was pretty. The hotel staff arranged for the driver who stayed in the area until we were ready to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at The Springs in July 2012 with our two boys who were 10 and 14 at the time. We all loved it. Like the other reviews said, the staff at this hotel is amazing. The concierge went out of her way to help us with the broken down rental car that we rented at the airport in San Jose. Don't use Budget Rental Cars in San Jose and know that it is a long drive from San Jose to The Springs. It would be much easier to take a small plane to Arenal and rent a car when you get there or use a car service. The car service that The Springs uses is the best! These guys really helped to make our trip great. *Ask for a guy who they call - Me Ray - I forgot his real name but everyone calls him this. He took us everywhere and my kids loved him. He taught us all about Costa Rica and he would stop the car when he spotted something in the trees (like a sloth) so that we could check it out. He was a guide in one of the National Parks before he worked there. He told our kids a lot of stories about growing up in Costa Rica and he recommended great restaurants. Also, he took us to a road side stand and helped us pick things out etc.
We all loved the hot springs at the hotel. The kids loved the one with a slide. We were lucky because in July it was really not that busy at the hotel. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is yummy. Also, the area that you can go to - down by the river is amazing. We toured the area where they keep the animals and a guide taught us all about the animals that were there and then the kids played in the waterfall and hot springs. Also, we had lunch down by the river and it was very nice.
I was very worried that it would rain the whole time we were there because it was the rainy season but the weather was actually very good. It did rain a few times during the day for just a little bit and it rained almost every night but it didn't bother us at all. We really liked this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

EVERYTHING was unreal. We got married here and the staff were amazing, the views were breathtaking, and resort was pure perfection. The owners of the resort made sure our stay was going well several times during our stay/wedding and made sure our guests felt welcome. We can't wait to return and see our amigos!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.