We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VOLCANO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“VOLCANO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

You will never find a Nicer Hotel, I stay in a resort/Hotel 160 nights year and am a world traveler. This has to be in my top 3 hotels in the worls , Staff is to die for , they are so nice it kills you, the food is so yummy, and the hotel takes your breath away,if you think the hotel is pricey you want think that after u check in , if u stay anywhere else u will be sorry breath taking views and so much to do , great for families, we took our 3 year old , or perfect romantic sight its so big you will be all alone no matter were u go , 5 star all the way
Great job guys
your favorite UFC fighter

Room Tip: all rooms are to die for , no bad room just another example of a great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,058
    160
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
430
568
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is one of those rare places where a beautiful setting conspires with great design to create an unforgettable experience.

Rooms: huge, breathtaking views (we had the ones on the second level up). Bathrooms you could throw a party in

Hot springs Lots of them, different kinds and temperatures. Spectacular at night with the mists rising to create a surreal feeling of peace and other-worldliness (really!). Not crowded when we were there.

Food: Excellent and fresh,. The high end restaurant really does offer better food as opposed to the usual tactic of more expensive /same food!

Your fellow guests: Friendly, well travelled, low key, and NO ONE was tacky enough to try to reserve lounge chairs.

Activities: Great place for kids - pool, game room, lots of high end TV stations, good reception, horse back riding with excellent guides on property and AWESOME zip lining (try not to go when raining though - or if you do wear rubberized clothes and goggles.

Service: Fantastic at all levels good gym, also.

Prices are high, but here as in many other places, you do get what you pay for.

Room Tip: anything facing the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had a great time here. We had a view of the volcano out our window, room was spacious and had a king size bed, the pool bar and sushi was awesome, breakfast was a great buffet, service was best we saw while in CR. Taxi into and from town ran $20 total but the hotels closer to town didn't have the view/space etc,

Room Tip: We had a room at the very back of the resort on the second floor. It was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Springs at Arenal is a truly awesome resort. The hot springs were so beautiful and felt really good. The people were most helpful and very kind. Wish we could've stayed longer. We hope to get back there again soon. We fell in love with Costa Rica. The Huval's

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is stunning. We were in the 2 BR Oropendola room. Our terrace looked directly at Arenal volcano - amazing view to wake up to each day. The rooms are gorgeous, extremely clean (clorox wipes remained in the suitcase), spacious and beautifully appointed. We had a staircase that led from our room downstairs to our boys' room upstairs. Bathrooms were big and beautiful!

The truly amazing thing about this hotel is that, although it was completely booked (feb break) - you'd never know it. The only evidence we'd see of other people - were in the restaurants and around the various hot springs scattered throughout the property. But nothing was ever too crowded. There are only 47 rooms in the hotel.

The one small negative i have with the hotel is that it is up a crazy 10 minute long winding dirt road. It's odd because within the property - the roads are nicely paved - but on the way up (which i'm not 100% sure is on hotel grounds) it is a very rough, long road. After a long day out on our various adventures - coming back up this dirt road, made you not really want to go off campus for dinner. Just the thought of going back down that road was too much.

It's about a 20 minute ride into the nearest town (La Fortuna). We only wound up venturing into town for dinner one night (Don Rufino - really good meal). The other three nights - we ate at the hotel's various restaurants. Would have liked a little more variety. But what is very nice is that you can order from any and all of the restaurants' menus - no matter which one you are in.

You will not be disappointed by this stunningly beautiful hotel. The people that work there are great and extremely helpful. There's a reason this is considered the nicest hotel in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This resort was absolutely beautiful and the staff is top-notch. We felt right at home from the moment we walked in. We stayed in room 101, which is on the bottom floor and has a great unobstructed view of the volcano. The room was a Vista Plus, which worked out great for our family of four. It allowed for the adults to have a king bed and a master bathroom and our two teenagers each had a twin bed and their own bathroom. If you like smoothies, make sure to try one of the many flavors offered at the resort. The smoothies and the hammocks on the patio were both highlights for our teens.

Room Tip: Our room on the bottom floor had an unobstructed view of the volcano. The only downside of the bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The springs blew us away. It had everything, and if they didn't have it, they were either in the midst of building it, or they would put you in touch with someone who does. After spending two weeks on the road, we were ready for some comfort, and the Springs was just what we needed. I think it would be an understatement in saying that the The Springs Is an ambitious project. The location is utterly breathtaking, the attention to detail in the buildings and landscaping is par none, excellent. Yes folks, the facilities are top notch, on level with any North American spa retreat with a five star rating. Wow,wow,wow.

The icing on the cake for the spring though, as it is with any successful business, is the respect the staff have for the customers, and for the work they do. It was extremely clear to us during our three days at the resort, that the staff were extremely committed to excellent customer and they were proud, very proud of their work. It was just so great to be in such a positive environment the staff AND in paradise on earth!! We will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.