We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Westhampton Beach, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Springs Resort and Spa is a must see! The spectacular views of the volcano and the rainforest provide your senses with continual delight while the staff provide you with the utmost professional and courteous service. The many pools offer varying degrees of temperature to satisfy everyone's individual preference while the layout provides for tranquility. The main pool provides for the ultimate mingling and fun complete with a bar and picturesque view of the volcano. My spa treatment left me feeling renewed and rejuvenated. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    967
    143
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
383
532
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had high expectations of this resort based on other reviews but our experience was not the greatest. I don't usually write negative reviews but just couldn't help it this time. When you spend over $600 night, you expect quality, right?

My first major disappointment was that the pools are not hot! We came to this area for the hot springs and had to pay $200 to get passes to Tabacon because the pools here range from the high 80's to the hottest of 103, which was cooler than a hot tub. By the way, there is 1 hot tub but that too was broken.. The 101-103 degree pools are "mineral pools" meaning there are red lumps of minerals floating so do not wear light colored bathing suits, they will be stained orange. Made that mistake.

We stayed for 3 days, the hotel has 1 elevator which was broken the entire time which meant hiking up & down 11 flights of stairs from the lobby to our room/the pool/etc several times a day which got old really fast. We are young & fit but after a 7 hour hiking tour, I don't want to hike my hotel.

When we arrived @ noon they said the room isn't ready but they'd do their best to rush it. 4 hours later no one had come to get us (like they said they would) we checked back a few times and nothing. Finally checked in @ 4. Half an hour after check in time.

The views of Arenal are AMAZING. The resort itself & rooms are very grand & beautiful, it's the little things, the details, that are lacking. The rocks are all fake, kind of "Disney like" although I love Disney, I come to Costa Rica for an authentic experience not fake landscaping/waterfalls. They could've spent the extra money to do it right.

Majority of the staff looks like they just finished high school. Although they were very sweet, there were a few problems with charges to our room, tour vouchers, etc & they just seemed confused and stressed.

This is a huge resort with only 42 rooms so you have the place to yourself basically, it almost feels "dead". Very strange vibe.

I wouldn't stay there again. Stayed at Tabacon the first time in Costa Rica and you can't beat it because of the unlimited access to amazing hot springs.
Would probably stay there next time. Or maybe Los Lagos.

If you are the type that doesn't want to experience true Costa Rica and only want to stay put in the resort this may be for you.

Oh and lastly this resort is about 2-3 miles from the main road and they dont maintain the road to the resort so it is VERY rough and most tour companies don't want to pick up from here or will charge extra to go there. About $20 to arenal town.

Good luck if you stay there!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Springs is probably the best resort in Costa Rica! Though quite expensive - it was very much worth it! The room was lovely with a great view to the Arenal volcano. It had a large balcony with hammocks that you can laze in. The beds were nice, bathroom was huge and wifi was free. The resort also had its own adventure club near the river close to the resort where you can kayak, go tubing or go horse backriding. The best part was the man made hot springs right within the resort which was drained each night and filled up again each morning. There was a nice game room as well where you can play video games, board games, billiards and darts. One of the minor downsides was that there were only a few restaurants within the resort which gave us limited food options (which was important because the resort was remotely located away from the town center). Lastly the service was excellent! The guys at the front desk (especially Jason) were very helpful and friendly! Overall, my wife and I were very happy with choosing this hotel for our first few nights in Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This Hotel was so much better than Tabacon. We had our own little casita with a wonderful view of the volcano from our bed. The fridge was stocked with beer and water. The swim up bar staff were very sweet. Everyone was so welcoming and lovely. Get the day pass to Tabacon Springs...but don't bother staying there! They act like your lucky to be staying at their hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room the faces the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend took me to Costa Rica in February 2013, where we spent 3 nights at the Springs, and then 4 nights in Papagayo, and it was the most amazing vacation.

Driving: We landed at the aiport in San Jose, rented a car and drove to the Springs. The drive was about 3 1/2 hours, but sooo worth it. Although I was initially nervous about driving in a foreign country, it was great and the drive made the vacation more fun, taking everything in, stopping at sodas to eat, etc. Just be prepared the directions they give are based on time and landmarks, not addresses...but it is easy cause there's only like 1 main road. Also, not all the road is paved, there may be potholes, and locals that walk on the side of the road.. but if you know to expect this, it doesn't matter. I felt completely safe and loved the drive.

Hotel: I have traveled to different countries (Italy, France, Spain, Brazil, Jamaica, Hawaii etc.) and stayed at different hotels. The Springs was the most amazing place ever. Aside from the quality and workmanship of the way the hotel is built (my boyfriend noticed this, not me lol), the rooms are gorgeous-all with awesome views of the volcano, hammocks outside, large bathroom with hottub, shower, private toilet, and 2 sinks. I hate bugs and didn't have a problem at all. The AC was great and there were ceiling fans too. The resort has so many natural hot water springs and regular pools, that we basically almost always had our own private springs. Imagine sitting in a natural hot spring surrounded by beautiful rainforest type trees. There are also other activities-a river you can go tubing, etc., rock-wall climbing, as well as horses to go riding, and a section with animals (monkeys, toucans, pumas, lions) where you can take a tour. The staff (as well as all costa ricans we met) were very friendly and helpful. Everytime our car pulled up they opened my door and asked as about where we'd been. For example, they seemed anxious and happy to carry our suitcases, drive us around on golf carts, quickly made up our rooms.

To be honest I should tell you the minor cons- there are a lot of stairs in the main building where the restaurants/reception is (about 4 floors). Although there was an elevator, it was not working. This was fine for us 30 year olds, in good shape, but an elderly couple might have had a hard time. Also, the dinner food wasn't as great as I'd hoped. But it is not all inclusive anyway. We had a car and wanted local cuisine, so we just went out to eat and it worked out even better for us that way. We went to Nene's and Don Rufino's which were both very different -one more local and one more upscale/touristy, but both delicious and cheaper than hotel! Despite these two minor downfalls, i'd still give it a 4.9999 out of 5 and never want to go anywhere else lol, the place was that amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just got back from the Springs for our 2nd visit. I wrote an extremely positive review the 1st time and we could not wait to go back. We took 3 elderly parents (over 80) only to find the elevator broken for the duration of our stay--5 days. While they did pick them up in a gold cart from the room wing down the hill, they only drop at the top level. It still required hiking down stairs to get to restaurants. The other really surprising update and someone else may have noted this as well---- they did NOT have the buffet at night as they did the 1st visit. There is a VERY limited menu in the casual restaurant and a sushi bar----a bit too limited for a 5 night stay. Breakfast was great but we were told they only have the buffets if they are at capacity. They had told us we got the last 2 rooms when we booked as they sold us rooms for $680 and $800 per night for the Honeymoon Spa room and the Oropendula Suite. As another writer reviewed, the Honeymoon Suite is not worth the price if you can help it. The spa was brown, cold and nasty. The view is more limited because you are on the bottom floor. Loved our room upstairs much better. Hammocks are great on patio. We love this resort, love the people. We were just very surprised about the elevator and buffets.

Room Tip: Normal Vista rooms are better with better views, less bugs, and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place is amazing. It is totally different than the many beach and Caribbean trips we have taken. It is definitely an adventure to get here. We landed at night, so thank goodness we had a driver to navingate the very windy roads in the dense fog. It is worth the journey. The place is new and clean and beautiful. It is built in the middle of the rainforest. You hear the sounds of monkeys and birds. The staff is like family. The food is excellent. We were truly relaxed. The property has so much to offer from the many hot springs to the wild life sanctuary to the river tubing and kayaking. And there is a lot more to do nearby - including the very exciting zip lining, hiking and hanging bridges. I am very glad we had a full week to enjoy it -- we probably could have stayed even longer! We were here after Christmas and into early January. We toasted the new year with the owner and his family -- most people went into the town for that night. It was great to be in the middle of nowhere and still have the comforts of home. They had great wifi and they let us reserve the seats at the pool bar to watch a football game -- and even served us our dinner there. The rooms were comfortable, all with amazing views of the volcano (when the clouds cooperated). We enjoyed the daily rain showers ... and under the canopy of the plants and trees you could easily take cover while it passed by. There is beauty everywhere -- really a unique not-to-be-missed experience.

Room Tip: From what we could tell, ALL the rooms were excellent. We were in the only 3-bedroom unit ... and tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.