We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Springs 2/6-2/10 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Little Rock
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Springs 2/6-2/10 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day trip to Costa Rica and stayed only at the Springs Resort and Spa. The trip from San Jose took about 3 LONG CRAZY NERVOUS hours. The roads in Costa Rica are insane and the drivers are crazy. Seriously! I have major issues with "edges" and the 100 ft drop off's were to much for me. No guard rails, one lane bridges while your going 60 miles an hour, narrow roads, and drivers that pass you even though they can't see around a corner. If you wreck I highly doubt you will survive. The anxiety of the trip was just to much. I dreaded the return trip by car home (although it wa a little easier since I knew what to expect). We took the taxi provided by the resort and we are so glad we did! I would have never felt comfortable driving through Costa Rica (not to mention poor road signs). But, people do it every day all day-so Bravo to them. My husband was glad we did the trip via taxi for the first time being in Costa Rica.
Hotel is beautiful and secluded. Looks just like the pictures. All the rooms are great. Be prepared for tons of walking. Elevator did not work so just getting to the restuarant is a work out each day (you do this several times a day for drinks, excursions, game room, spa, pools etc.) Again, lots of walking.
Pros:
Club Rio was awesome. We loved doing the night time tour and cat tour with George. Also the inner tub rafting was alot of fun and the guides make you feel safe. We spent two long afternoon and evenings at Club Rio and was one of the highlights of our trip.
Every room has a good view-wouldn't pay extra for upgrades (but that's me)
Pool were warm
Owner was present and Assistant Manager was helpful
Great service (some better than others but always pleasant)-Main pool bar drink service was excellent, friendly and entertaining. Room service-quick and hot.
Front Desk-very helpful with minor issues (no hot water-fixed immediantly, DVD player had issues-fixed in 10 minutes, bellman-5 minutes, etc.) Very quick.
Excursions: Night tour at Club Rio, Extreme ATV (felt very extreme to me!), Safari Float
Overall-no issues really with the hotel, very beautiful and they work hard to keep it clean. Very pleased with our stay. Food could be much better but we were told Costa Rican food is bland and we found this to be very true.
Negatives:
3 horrible hours to get to the hotel. For this reason alone we will probably not return. It was unbearable. Take the flight!
MURDER- Yes, there was a triple murder while we were there in Costa Rica and the bodies were found outside our hotel (well about 2 miles but it's the main road bridge to the hotel). A local hotel owner and his two sons were brutually murdered and the bodies were left or killed on the one lane bridge about 1-2 miles from hotel (not sure of full details and I could only find one posting of this on the internet). The hotel staff provided limited information about this murder but only told us our excursions for the morning had to be canceled due to road blocks by the police investing the murders. It just made me very uncomfortable and a little freaked out. I know, murders happen everywhere but this was a little to close to home since we had gone out in Costa Rica that same night and returned home at 11:30pm, murders occured around 12pm per police. We were able to go ATVing later that evening and police were investigating one of the ATV trails deep in the forrest. They had us blocked for a very short time but finally let us through and drove off themselves. Just gave me the since that I was unsafe. Although my husband wasn't phased.
Will we return? Proabably no- but we are glad we went. Travel time was extreme (left hotel at 8:30 in morning and did not make it back home until 11:30 at night).
Tips: stop and purchase beer wine etc for your room. They charge $6 for an imperial in your mini bar (cost us about .35$ at market). Just do the buffett for breakfast $15 (it is very good), lunch-most items are about $12-18. Dinner $18-32, mixed drinks $9-all good, think at bars beer was $4.50. ask for extra coffee in room, evenings can be cool, bring a light weight sweater ladies, enjoy the hammocks. We didn't spend enough time there.
Feel free to email me with any questions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    174
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
616
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a resort! The staff, rooms, restaurant, swim up bar and of course the natural hot tubs were simply perfect. We did not want to leave. It is simply a peaceful and relaxing resort. Dinner was good though it could be hotter and the wait staff seemed to be a little over extended with the large bus tour. We loved our room with a great view of the volcano. We watched the Super Bowl at the swim up bar while sipping on Mojitos...now that is my kind of super bowl party!

Room Tip: Room 901! Great views of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Many wonderful qualities about this resort. The views upon arrival from the open air lobby were stunning. Entire resort grounds were impeccable and beautifully decorated with flowers and greenery. All the food and restaurants were very good. Pool bar had amazing views. Staff was excellent and very warming. Tons of things to do at the resort. From about 20 hot springs to an indoor golf simulator and luxurious spa, it has all the bases covered. Even had a superbowl party set up on a big screen projection. Prices were fair as well. $4.50 for a beer. Housekeeping was great, made animals from our towels everyday and left on bed.

A few minor drawbacks, it's 3hrs from San Jose airport. Elevator didn't work when we were there (about 5 floors with about 15 stairs per level) and that's after we walked uphill from our room. Concierge was incorrect with travel times to excursions. What was supposed to be a 1hr 15min drive was 2. 6 hrs total travel time for white water rafting. Didn't go on vaca to sit in a car.

La fortuna town (15 min drive costing $40) was nice. Dinner there was good. Recommend the lava lounge. Tons of souvenir shops.

Other excursions we did was rio Celeste. Club rio (located at base of springs resort), waterfall repelling. All were wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday celebration and I couldn't be happier. I know why they filmed The Bachelor here; the sexy factor is crazy high! My husband and I, of 20 years , spent 80% of our time making out. It's just gorgeous everywhere you look . There are a million photo ops all around. There are beautiful secluded little hot springs everywhere. The staff were all amazing. They would call us by name even if we were just passing by. I still don't know how they did that. We stayed in 2 different room categories; The Family Suite and The Palm Villa. Each were stunning. If you stay in a villa you get a golf cart to ride around the resort in. We loved our dinners at Las Ventanas (The Windows) restaurant. The food was phenomenal! The bruschetta is not your typical; its rich and utterly devine. For my birthday the chef made a special fish dish which was out of this world good. I even asked if we could have a picture in the kitchen with the chefs. The breakfast is quite great, too . We had made to order omelets each morning. The breakfast was substantial enough we didn't even get to eat lunch (something I actually wanted to do as I loved the food!) There's rock wall climbing, tubing, horseback riding, animals, secluded hot springs all right there. You have to sign up for zip lining too. It's about 25 minutes from the hotel; they'll pick you up. The resort is 3 hours from San Jose. We didn't have a car so the hotel arranged for an airport pick up for us no problem. The attention to detail at this property will blow your mind. It truly is exceptional everywhere you look. We hated leaving and I would go back in a second.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stopped in at The Springs Resort and Spa on a day pass to enjoy the hot springs and some lunch. (Our friend chose it over Tabacon because she has seen it on The Bachelor.) The water temp was different in each of nearly two dozen springs, making for some nice variety. About half of the springs had a great view of the Arenal volcano, and the other half were tucked away in the jungle.

It was a much different experience than Tabacon. Both enjoy the same amazing water, but The Springs has paved each and every one of their pools. Whereas, at Tabacon, you actually navigate through the river, with only the sides and paths being paved. Tabacon is definitely a bit more organic.

The lunch was excellent. I had a pear and grape salad that was super fresh.

All the employees we met spoke Spanish and English.

A very enjoyable day, and not too expensive at $50 per person (for a two-day pass).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We only used the dining room and part of the hot springs at "The Springs", and will limit our comments. Dinner was very nice, with an excellent wine; we would have preferred a table with a better view, but one was not offered although I believe they were available. The hot tub is nothing to get excited about, other than the view; 105F in the warmest section and declining from there in other ponds. The locker rooms need maintenance: shower valves do not operate and several of the handles came off in my hand, and there are no suitmate extractors (a plastic bag is not the correct alternative). It happens that the elevator was not working when we arrived; one of us had a mobility problem, resulting in a struggle to get downstairs (a more observant staff member arranged for a golf cart to take us back up; it would have been most welcome on the way down). All in all, this was a good dinner plus a bath.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I will start of my review with the "bad" things of the hotel
1) The breakfast is not included. So we had to pay $14,99 per person for the buffet. But I have to say, the breakfast is excellent.
2) We had our own hotspring included in the room, but was cold. We had to leave it runnig for at least 2 hours so that it would be warm.

Now to the good things:
1) The design of the mainbuilding is excellent. This whole complex was build very intelligent. It is away from the room's so that there is no unnecessary noise created. But at the same time you just have to walk for 1 minute and you will already be at the complex.
2) The room was perfect. We where staying in the Honeymoon Vista Plus. Is was just perfect.
The women from the cleaning service always made sweet animals out of the towels. As you can see on the photos.
3) The food in the 2 restaurants was perfect. Only once my father ordered a fish and it came completely cold. My father told the waiter that it was cold and the did not charge us for the fish + dessert!
4) The hotsprings are just wonderfull. They are completely natural. There are differnt kind hotsprings with a variation of temperatures.
5) The Springs Wildlife Preserve is an attraction that you can not miss. There are monkeys, tigers and pumas.

Well all in all The Springs and Spa Resort is a very good hotel that you should not miss going to.

Room Tip: Take the Honeymoon Vista Plus it is great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.