We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb *****” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Superb *****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently went and stayed at the springs and I just have to compliment for the atmosphere of heaven on earth there, everything seemed so tasty, I don’t know where to start, my eyes were touched by the stained glass, the vitral at the heliconia bar is a tropical flowers printed. Since the arrival to the check out the staff was so classy, the springs during the day are so refreshing and the water slide is hidden in a different path is just the end of a blasting afternoon, hungry? Afterwards the wet bar makes the special fruity drink, “the lava flow” and I had there, best nachos ever, at night this place is when dresses his gala, the springs are illuminated and is like a fairytale, after dinner which was over the top, we had a gelato fount with different ice cream flavors, the outstanding architecture is everywhere, the giant bay sleeve pieces are the guardians of the place. I had a room on the ground floor and the view of the volcano is perfect , the rooms have a good mix of class and luxury with a rustic touch, bamboo… the feather kilt and comfy bed is like sleep in a cloud, loved the shower and wished had used the Jacuzzi. This place is a winner; the staff is so interactive even the owner is not ashamed and is willing to advise whoever would like an advice about adventure and what to do, definitely I can’t wait to be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor has better view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,088
    164
    52
    19
    10
See reviews for
448
575
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

One of the most amazing places I have stayed. Our hotel room faced the volcano and I was able to watch lava fly out of the volcano as I laid in bed, how cool is that???

The water features on the resort were fun and beautiful. There os a small water slide in the jungle that was fun for both kids and adults. Food was great and local Costa Rican food. accommodations were amazing. The room was made with natural wood and tile. My wife and I had a large bed downstairs and our son and daughter had a bed and a couch bed of their own. We had a balcony complete with hammocks. The hotel had a small wildlife zoo with local jungle cats that is free with your stay.

I marked it down to a four for value only because it is a bit pricey. However you do receive a lot for your money when you add the accommodations, zoo, water features, beautiful grounds, etc.

I look forward to returning to Costa Rica and when I do I will again stay at the Springs!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We visited here on a day trip from a hotel about 4 hours away, it was well woth the drive. First we went to the animal sanctuary on the property and had a private guide accompany us the whole time. Next we spent several hours in the hot springs and hidden pools all around the property. There is a small bar and waterslide in the "Perdido Springs" area - an adult waterpark for a change. The view from the main part of the hotel is stunning. When it came time for dinner we ate at the outdoor restaurant overlooking Arenal Volacano. It was a nice treat to have 4 waiters look after us. They were very well trained and made our dinner just that much more special. This is a must visit place in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Loved the resort from check in to check out. We drove in on our own so upon arrival they took our car parked it for us we had a tour of the resort and complimentary drink. Rooms were beautiful only complaint would be the mattress is just OK. Springs and pool were beautiful. Restaurants were excellent not overpriced. We went tubing that was a neat experience, we saw a poisonous snake which was pretty big, but our guides were great and handled the situation well. Apparently they don't see them often so no worries. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. We only stayed 2 night I would probably like to stay 3 nights next time. We hope to go back one day. You could also tell the hotel must treat their staff well everyone seemed to be so happy and you could tell they really enjoyed their job.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was staying in a boutique hotel and town and wanted a chance to enjoy the hot springs. I was able to get a deal to have 2 days at the Springs with unlimited use of their pools, springs, and animal/water sports park and one free dinne. I never got around to the animal and water sports park. But noticing my surroundings upon checking in and walking around, this place is amazing. I can only imagine what the rooms look like, because the lobby area was amazing. the locker room is nice as well. Had many great hot springs and pools on top of a fantastic view of the volcano. I honestly did not want to leave. It is a ways away from the town-super secluded.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Last October, we stayed at The Springs Resort and Spa for 4 days. This resort has to be one of the top ten resorts in the world. In addition to the incredible fine detail in landscape, waterscape, architecture, and interior design, there are numerous ways you can relax and enjoy the Costa Rica experience. The resort has pool scenes second to none. The resort is situated on the side of a mountain with whitewater river activities at the bottoom, naturally fed hot springs rock pools located on the slope of the mountain where you can sit and watch one of the most active volcanos in the world , and the resort with pools, spas, restaurants, etc. at the top of the mountain. Also at the resort, you'll find controlled habitats on display of various animals indigenous to Costa Rica, including 30 cats representing every species of cat in Costa Rica. This eco friendly resort has an extreme emphasis on the preservation of Costa Rican habitat and natural environment.
The rooms at the resort are top of the line equipped with everything you may possibly need on your vacation.
At the resort you can also enjoy horseback riding, river tubing, kayaking, hiking, wall climbing, yoga, ATV'ing and numerous other activities. They thought of everything at this resort for couples, families, or singles. A truly memorable experience.

Room Tip: Every room is great with an amazing view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was fortunate to experience a 4 day stay at The Springs Resort and Spa in December 2012. I have not experienced a more beautiful property during my world travels than this magnificent development in the Arenal Volcano National Park. The splendor of the rain forest, hot springs, water falls, river and all of its inhabitants have been preserved and protected for all to enjoy. The hotel accommodations, restaurants/food/dining experience, bars, spa, outstanding staff service, outdoor center/wildlife preserve, the views all warrant an A+ rating. In addition, an extensive adventure package is offered to include the hot springs, kayaking, river tubing, horseback riding, mountain biking, ropes course, nature tours, hiking trails, jungle cat and other animal sanctuaries. Your body, mind and soul will be refreshed and recharged at this wonderful property. I commend Mr. Lee Banks, the owner, for his vision and expertise in developing a truly first class vacation destination.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.