We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Arenal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Scotts Valley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Arenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband, 2 daughters (12yr & 7yr) and son (14yr) spent 4 nights at the Springs over the Holidays. What an amazing hotel! A five star resort in the middle of the rain forest. The views were incredible from every level of the hotel, including our rooms. Numerous hot springs throughout the hotel with 1 swim up bar and 1 monkey water slide that we all enjoyed. If you are planning on visiting Arenal, staying at the Springs is a MUST!

Room-absolutely gorgeous! We stayed in the family suite since their was five of us. It worked perfect. 2 stories. 1 king bed/bath downstairs, 1 king/bath upstairs with a roll away. Big beautiful room with huge windows to look out at Arenal.

Weather-it rains on and off a lot. The rooms have 2 umbrella(you don't need to bring your own), the hotel also sells ponchos if you decide that you need one.

Hot Springs-numerous throughout the resort with beautiful waterfalls, pathways, bars and a water slide.

Game room-great place to hang out at night! Golf simulator, Wii, xbox, numerous boardgames, ping pong table. Pool table and chess right outside the room. The Sushi bar is right outside the game room. It was nice to have a drink at the bar and be able to keep an eye on the kids. Jennifer in the game room was great with the kids!!

Restaurant- Our favorite was the Sushi! Your able to order food from the other 2 restaurants and sit at the sushi bar. That was nice for our family because every night everybody wanted something different. The kids didn't want to sit long. The preferred to be in the game room. Upstairs is the buffet. Great cook to order pasta. We enjoyed the live music! Breakfast was great too. Cook to order omelette & pancakes were our favorite. The views were amazing from each level of the hotel whether you were eating breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Spa- beautiful spa with excellent service! You could easily spend a 1/2 day here!

Club Rio- great addition to the property. We loved the tour of the wildlife preserve. The guides are very knowledgeable. We learned a lot about the animals there. You could spend a whole day there. Horseback riding, wall climbing, lunch on the river, wildlife preserve and tubing/kayaking down the river. Make sure you leave a day for all these activities. Also, around 10am everyday they feed the birds up by the hotel. They put bananas out on the trees and all different types of birds come to eat them.

Staff- the staff was exceptional throughout the hotel. Very professional and accommodating.

Concierge-I highly suggest using the concierge to book all your activities in the area. The reason being. I booked the Sky Trek tour through a tour agency. We must have stopped 3 times before we actually got to Sky Trek. If you book directly through the hotel, you go straight there with all of the other guests.

I suggest staying at least 4 nights at the resort so you can enjoy it. Besides the hotel. Our favorite tour was Pure Trek!! We had so much fun at the Springs and the surrounding area we plan to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the volcano. You can see the volcano from all the rooms, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,058
    160
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
430
568
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our trip was fabulous!! We went in October which is the rainy season, but we were there for a week and the weather was gorgeous! The food was out of this world! I have been to resorts that left me wanting in their restaurants, but this food was amazing. The chefs are clever and accomplished. The rooms have every detail attended to, snacks, cocktails, roomy bath, lovely patio, and the most unbelievable view of the volcano you can imagine! We went as a group of girls looking for some adventure, and we found it! The resort was luxurious, and they took us repelling down waterfalls, horse back riding, rock wall climbing, white water rafting, tubing, zip lining, yoga by the river, and more!! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you've never woken up to a volcano out of your window you have something to add to your bucket list!

I went on a Girls Adventure trip to Costa Rica and stayed at The Springs. Everything was amazing. My husband is in the hotel industry and needless to say we are hard to please. The Springs did not disappoint.

The food was amazing and the staff very attentive. The best part was that all of the vast activities are on site or can be arranged by the hotel. We started the day with Yoga and then were off to explore. We booked our adventures with Club Rio (I highly recommend them). Our group rode horses, kayaked and tubed down the river that is ON SITE. We learned to rappel from their tower and then went on a beautiful waterfall rappelling trip just a few minutes away. We even Zip-lined across the jungle canopy.

We all felt very safe the whole time and had a blast.

We were a little worried about traveling in "the rainy season" of October but we had beautiful weather the whole time. The temperature was perfect! The resort has many natural hot springs to enjoy.

As a picky traveller I can highly recommend The Springs. We are definitely going again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have the Volcano view and are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

15-20 of us wanted to travel together; pay independently, but do all activities together. We asked The Springs Resort and Spa if they could plan an adventurous itinerary for us on & off the resort property. Every detail was met! At the Resort we did rock climbing, tubing down the river, yoga, horseback riding, hiking, and then relaxed in the hot springs, enjoyed the Spa, and felt so much peacefulness with all the beauty of the flowers, volcano view, and lush landscape. Breakfast on the Terrace, drinks pool side, and the overall beauty of this resort exceeded all expectations! The rooms are spacious, designed to perfection & clean. Excellent service! October 4-8 was a perfect time of year. All adventures had professional guides.

Room Tip: I love hotels that don't have inside hallways. You feel like you are entering a home at this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Words and even photos cannot sum up what awaits you at this resort. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the rooms, view and the property overall will leave you breathless! So much to do and only so few days to do it. You can be as active or relaxed as you like- something for everyone. Book it- you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the volcano- no bad views to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband, 2 daughters and I just spent the most glorious 4 nights at The Springs. We wish we could have stayed longer! it's absolutely beautiful inside and out. The views of the volcano and surrounding lush green rolling hills are magnificent The rooms are large and very elegant in design. While many likely go there for the thermal baths/pools, there are many other things to do there. We particularly enjoyed our tour through the jungle on horseback. Our guides, Oscar and Nano were especially engaging, pointing out wildlife and interesting plants that we passed. They were so warm and friendly, The horses are small, calm and sure footed. What an amazing way to see the beautiful vast land surrounding the hotel. It was an experience my family and I will never forget!
Cherie B

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

First class all the way! The rooms - luxurious comfort finished with amazing detail. The view from the room -- ummmm: front row center from your seat/bed/hammock, on your private veranda, of the Arenal volcano. The property -- blended into the Costa Rican landscape --- relaxing pools discreetly placed all around the grounds. Adventure --- Club Rio: FUN, FUN, FUN --- from horseback riding to river tubing to rock-wall climbing to kayaking ---- and then, as if that wasn't enough --- just a short ride to zip-lining, canyoning (repelling) down 150 ft. waterfalls and ATV-ing through the rain forest. But not to worry about that word "rain", I was there in early October and the weather was just perfect - pleasantly cool in the morning and pleasantly warm in the afternoon. My 4 day stay at the Springs and Spa has to rank as one of the most action packed adventure trips I've ever taken --- and I've been on plenty! And somehow or another, I still came home feeling as though I also had a relaxing vacation. I guess it was the easy going environment, excellent service, beautiful room and delicious meals that made up the "relaxing ingredient" to balance out all of the other high-octane activities that I chose to participate in. Head for The Springs! I know I'll be going back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.