We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words cannot describe...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We wrapped up our honeymoon trip to Costa Rica at The Springs for just two nights and immediately said how we wished we could have stayed longer. The springs/pools feel like you're in the middle of a rain forest, at night especially, but safe and clean. It also felt very private where we were able to spend ample time, day or night, in springs with no one else around. And the views from just about everywhere in the hotel are breathtaking. The view from our room of the volcano was majestic to say the least. We were lucky to be there for some of the sunniest days Arenal sees. The architecture and design is outstanding how the space is built into the natural landscape. And the food and service were exceptional as well. Food/drink were reasonable but our room was pricey due to the time we traveled. All in all, well worth it and a place to travel again for a special occasion.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basic/most affordable room and it was the best place we've stayed in yet, incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    175
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
617
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent Chrismas night here for 3 hour dinner and pools. Absolutely beautiful place - both the building and the many many pools to try. Small slide at the bottom (but a little scary in the dark).
A really lovely way to end a day of adventure in the Arenal area!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived at our actual hotel late and very disappointed.. trying to fix the situation, we found out we could get day passes to the Springs and promptly drove there to get at least an hour or two of relaxing hot spring time. We were very pleased - the service was lovely (even though we weren't staying there!) the springs gorgeous and it's great to have both natural pools and pools close the hotel. We ate at the sushi place (the rainbow roll was fantastic) and at the fancy restaurant with the view... the food was gorgeous! And again, the service impeccable. If I had known in advance, I would have definitely stayed there instead! Very romantic as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me and my girls spent an amazing weekend at the springs. The service was great! We even met the owner Lee and he was so welcoming and accommodating. We did everything from ATV riding, horse back riding, kayaking and tubing all on the resort! I highly suggest zip lining as well. Not even a lil rain could damper our time! I will defiantly be returning but the next time it will be with my honey. The resort is as romantic as it is accommodating for girls weekends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family recently spent 5 days at The Springs and you cannot improve upon this guest's experience at this five-star establishment. While it is a phenomenal architectural creation on its own, this special staff ensures that you will not be disappointed for a moment. Not only did they take care of all of our personal daily arrangements with tours and excursions, they spent time ensuring that each family member felt a special vacation experience. The rooms are a showcase, the views are unimaginable, the food and drinks are excellent and well prepared. In spite of the daily rain showers, we really enjoyed our time viewing the memorable Costa Rican landscapes, talking with the local residents and sharing family activities. By the way, the staff's English is better than that which I hear in the U.S. on a daily basis.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite with 2 alta vista rooms. The views are great from all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Spring Resort for our honeymoon in November. Although the weather did not allow us to see the volcano we still had a wonderful stay. the staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The springs were amazing! Due to the natural minerals in the water I would not recommend wearing any light colored swimwear (the white on my husbands swim trunks is still a bit orange), but it is to be expected in a mineral pool. Everything was absolutely amazing, and there were so many different areas that it was easy to have an entire pool all to yourself. I did a lot of research prior to booking and was very happy with my selection. We would love to return someday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This resort is beautiful, private and luxurious. Needless to say, the rooms are spotless, bed was very comfortable and room service was pretty fast. All (accommodations, service, food and property) are SUPERB and of high standards. The view of the Arenal volcano is probably the best in town and the pools are simply gorgeous. Loved the wetbar! We saw gorgeous exotic birds, monkeys and other animals around the property. The highlight of this fabulous resort (for me) was the Los Perdidos Springs. My husband and I spent an entire day soaking and enjoying drinks, it was heaven on earth. We later moved on to a much simpler property in order to meet other bakcpackers and have some crazy fun. Wifi available everywhere, which gave me the opportunity to tweet, blog and stay in touch with family. This property is excellent for enjoying a luxurious and relaxing vacation surrounded by the beautiful Costa Rican rain forest. I’m in love with this place! I used booking.com to book this gorgeous hotel for 4 nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.