We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stay - but enjoyed the day passes Very much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Tour tickets
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Didn't stay - but enjoyed the day passes Very much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived at our actual hotel late and very disappointed.. trying to fix the situation, we found out we could get day passes to the Springs and promptly drove there to get at least an hour or two of relaxing hot spring time. We were very pleased - the service was lovely (even though we weren't staying there!) the springs gorgeous and it's great to have both natural pools and pools close the hotel. We ate at the sushi place (the rainbow roll was fantastic) and at the fancy restaurant with the view... the food was gorgeous! And again, the service impeccable. If I had known in advance, I would have definitely stayed there instead! Very romantic as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    190
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
499
663
12
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girls spent an amazing weekend at the springs. The service was great! We even met the owner Lee and he was so welcoming and accommodating. We did everything from ATV riding, horse back riding, kayaking and tubing all on the resort! I highly suggest zip lining as well. Not even a lil rain could damper our time! I will defiantly be returning but the next time it will be with my honey. The resort is as romantic as it is accommodating for girls weekends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family recently spent 5 days at The Springs and you cannot improve upon this guest's experience at this five-star establishment. While it is a phenomenal architectural creation on its own, this special staff ensures that you will not be disappointed for a moment. Not only did they take care of all of our personal daily arrangements with tours and excursions, they spent time ensuring that each family member felt a special vacation experience. The rooms are a showcase, the views are unimaginable, the food and drinks are excellent and well prepared. In spite of the daily rain showers, we really enjoyed our time viewing the memorable Costa Rican landscapes, talking with the local residents and sharing family activities. By the way, the staff's English is better than that which I hear in the U.S. on a daily basis.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite with 2 alta vista rooms. The views are great from all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Spring Resort for our honeymoon in November. Although the weather did not allow us to see the volcano we still had a wonderful stay. the staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The springs were amazing! Due to the natural minerals in the water I would not recommend wearing any light colored swimwear (the white on my husbands swim trunks is still a bit orange), but it is to be expected in a mineral pool. Everything was absolutely amazing, and there were so many different areas that it was easy to have an entire pool all to yourself. I did a lot of research prior to booking and was very happy with my selection. We would love to return someday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This resort is beautiful, private and luxurious. Needless to say, the rooms are spotless, bed was very comfortable and room service was pretty fast. All (accommodations, service, food and property) are SUPERB and of high standards. The view of the Arenal volcano is probably the best in town and the pools are simply gorgeous. Loved the wetbar! We saw gorgeous exotic birds, monkeys and other animals around the property. The highlight of this fabulous resort (for me) was the Los Perdidos Springs. My husband and I spent an entire day soaking and enjoying drinks, it was heaven on earth. We later moved on to a much simpler property in order to meet other bakcpackers and have some crazy fun. Wifi available everywhere, which gave me the opportunity to tweet, blog and stay in touch with family. This property is excellent for enjoying a luxurious and relaxing vacation surrounded by the beautiful Costa Rican rain forest. I’m in love with this place! I used booking.com to book this gorgeous hotel for 4 nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Beautiful location. But rainy most of the time. Kayaking at club rio (at the resort) is very fun. The guides are very friendly Highly recommended resort. The restaurants are all very good. A little hard to get to but worth the effort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place is magical. We came here on a rare clear, sunny day and were greeted in the lobby by a stunning view of the whole volcano. The next 3 days were spent on 1/2 day or 3/4 day excursions (all excellent to outstanding), followed by late afternoon and evening soaks in the hot springs. The pool is beautiful with a swim up bar. The rooms are nice - we stayed in a two bedroom opporendola (?) suite. The suite takes up two stories, with the top floor being a large open room that has a sleeping area, sitting area and master bath (two sinks and large shower).The top bedroom easily accommodated my husband and me in the "bedroom" area, and our two kids who had a portable bed set up by the picture window. The room is so large that there is a sitting area in the middle with a TV. The bottom room is smaller, and well suited for a couple. It has its own TV, and bathroom with shower and separate soaking tub. The two rooms are connected by a small foyer and interior staircase, so there is a common entrance (but each room has a door you can lock). Very comfortable sleeping arrangements.
The facilities are great - lots of paths along the springs. Also two water slides for the kids. It can get crowded as visitors can buy a day pass to the springs. The main dining place has buffet options and menu options. Food is decent but pricey, and there is no place within walking distance. Also the road to the springs is long, winding, and poorly paved. It is quite a hike, and even with a taxi it takes 15-20 min just to get to the main road. However since it is off the main road, the resort really feels secluded and a magical haven in the midst of the rainforest.
It is very romantically lit at night. There are definitely families with children too so the afternoons can be noisy but really not too bad as the resort is huge.
I enjoyed taking early morning walks around the property to hear the birds and the sound if flowing water. There is a small zoo on the premises with rescued animals that is worth checking out with the kids. You can feed the monkeys! There are hummingbird feeders on the balconies which were cool to watch. All in all, I would definitely love to go back, but will need to save up before we go again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.