We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Heavenly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place is magical. We came here on a rare clear, sunny day and were greeted in the lobby by a stunning view of the whole volcano. The next 3 days were spent on 1/2 day or 3/4 day excursions (all excellent to outstanding), followed by late afternoon and evening soaks in the hot springs. The pool is beautiful with a swim up bar. The rooms are nice - we stayed in a two bedroom opporendola (?) suite. The suite takes up two stories, with the top floor being a large open room that has a sleeping area, sitting area and master bath (two sinks and large shower).The top bedroom easily accommodated my husband and me in the "bedroom" area, and our two kids who had a portable bed set up by the picture window. The room is so large that there is a sitting area in the middle with a TV. The bottom room is smaller, and well suited for a couple. It has its own TV, and bathroom with shower and separate soaking tub. The two rooms are connected by a small foyer and interior staircase, so there is a common entrance (but each room has a door you can lock). Very comfortable sleeping arrangements.
The facilities are great - lots of paths along the springs. Also two water slides for the kids. It can get crowded as visitors can buy a day pass to the springs. The main dining place has buffet options and menu options. Food is decent but pricey, and there is no place within walking distance. Also the road to the springs is long, winding, and poorly paved. It is quite a hike, and even with a taxi it takes 15-20 min just to get to the main road. However since it is off the main road, the resort really feels secluded and a magical haven in the midst of the rainforest.
It is very romantically lit at night. There are definitely families with children too so the afternoons can be noisy but really not too bad as the resort is huge.
I enjoyed taking early morning walks around the property to hear the birds and the sound if flowing water. There is a small zoo on the premises with rescued animals that is worth checking out with the kids. You can feed the monkeys! There are hummingbird feeders on the balconies which were cool to watch. All in all, I would definitely love to go back, but will need to save up before we go again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    175
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
619
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beeville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was the greatest place we have ever stayed. The grounds were just beutiful, our accomadations were very very wonderful along with being very comfortable. The staff at this resort was outstanding, so very pleasant and polite, they made us feel like they were so very happy that we were there. The hot springs were unbelieveable. This seems to be a place you could easily spend a week or so of fun and relaxation and never have to leave. We will visit again and bring friends. Thank you for a very wonderful experience

Room Tip: Our room was a split level with a view of the Valcano, it was great. I would for sure like a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I and another couple spent 5 nights at The Springs Resort and it was one of the best travel experiences we have ever had. We stayed in the Villa Callatea and it was more spectacular in person than what we expected from the pictures on the website. The inside was spacious and well decorated. There were several outdoor patios with a hot tub, hammocks and tables and chairs. Every single employee that we encountered went above and beyond the usual service that you would expect. They were all so pleasant, friendly and helpful. The views were amazing and all of the natural springs were so relaxing. We did the tubing at Club Rio and they even took a video of the entire group and then edited it to a CD for us that showed mostly our group of 4. That was a nice surprise. We also booked some outside tous through the resort and the companies that ran those were also great. I would highly recommend The Springs for a trip to a warm destination that isn't just beaches.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had all ages represented on this trip including 70+ year old parents, my kids and brothers kids from ages 5 through 12. Everyone loved the resort and had a great time, even though it rained for most of our trip. We are all amazed by the intricate detail put into this resort, including the lobby/entrance, the restaurants, bars, hot springs and accomodations. Someone made the comment that the ceilings were nicer than the floors in most resorts. We had the 2 bedroom Junior Springs Suite (room 317), but don't think of this as your typical "junior" suite. It was huge .... our kids will be forever spoiled (as will we) by this suite. Two huge bedrooms and two huge bathrooms. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were luxurious. Hot springs were very enjoyable ... so much better than swimming in chlorinated pools. Club Rio was excellent, even got my 70+ year old parents to do the tubing (make sure to get the bigger blue tubes for older folks, larger-bodied adults or those who don't want to flip into the water). Club Rio took video the whole time and made us a fairly professional video of the tubing ... I think the video only cost $30 but was worth way more. Offsite, best activities were ziplining, waterfall repelling and river safari. In terms of the food at the resort, we actually thought it was very good for resort food, but it probably started to get a little boring towards the end of our 6 day trip, so I would recommend going out a few nights if you don't mind the amount of time it takes to get on and off the property, which would be my only very minor complaint ... it would be nice if they could pave the entry road. Since it is unpaved, it takes a really long time to get to the resort from the main road when you are coming and going each day for excursions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

a new favorite hotel. the views are unbeatable, the staff was amazing, the rooms beautiful...honestly, nothing negative to say about it. close enough to town, but feels very remote. I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Springs Resort was amazing. Our room was stunning, the views were breathtaking and the service was outstanding. My only complaint was that I didn't find the food that great; don't get me wrong, it was good, but not great. The springs all around the property were gorgeous. We went in quite a few of them but found the hottest ones to be at the top of the property.

We did a river tour (booked it through the Springs) and it was so amazing. Our guide was so informative and was so very nice. We also went Zip Lining which was a blast, but it was raining so it hurt our eyes a bit (bring sunglasses even if it's cloudy).

The Springs is a great place to spend 3 or 4 nights, but I would suggest going down to the beach as well. We didn't see the sun at all for the 4 nights we stayed there. Yes, I know it's a rain forest, but I thought we may see at least an hour of sun a day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is definitely 5 star! The help is wonderful and the facilities are unbeatable. One thing I found strange is that the prices for room service were cheaper than the same item at the restaurant. The sushi was fantastic!

Room Tip: My room was on the bottom floor and was excellent. It was beautifully appointed and the tub was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.