We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Top Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had all ages represented on this trip including 70+ year old parents, my kids and brothers kids from ages 5 through 12. Everyone loved the resort and had a great time, even though it rained for most of our trip. We are all amazed by the intricate detail put into this resort, including the lobby/entrance, the restaurants, bars, hot springs and accomodations. Someone made the comment that the ceilings were nicer than the floors in most resorts. We had the 2 bedroom Junior Springs Suite (room 317), but don't think of this as your typical "junior" suite. It was huge .... our kids will be forever spoiled (as will we) by this suite. Two huge bedrooms and two huge bathrooms. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were luxurious. Hot springs were very enjoyable ... so much better than swimming in chlorinated pools. Club Rio was excellent, even got my 70+ year old parents to do the tubing (make sure to get the bigger blue tubes for older folks, larger-bodied adults or those who don't want to flip into the water). Club Rio took video the whole time and made us a fairly professional video of the tubing ... I think the video only cost $30 but was worth way more. Offsite, best activities were ziplining, waterfall repelling and river safari. In terms of the food at the resort, we actually thought it was very good for resort food, but it probably started to get a little boring towards the end of our 6 day trip, so I would recommend going out a few nights if you don't mind the amount of time it takes to get on and off the property, which would be my only very minor complaint ... it would be nice if they could pave the entry road. Since it is unpaved, it takes a really long time to get to the resort from the main road when you are coming and going each day for excursions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    972
    145
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
386
535
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

a new favorite hotel. the views are unbeatable, the staff was amazing, the rooms beautiful...honestly, nothing negative to say about it. close enough to town, but feels very remote. I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Springs Resort was amazing. Our room was stunning, the views were breathtaking and the service was outstanding. My only complaint was that I didn't find the food that great; don't get me wrong, it was good, but not great. The springs all around the property were gorgeous. We went in quite a few of them but found the hottest ones to be at the top of the property.

We did a river tour (booked it through the Springs) and it was so amazing. Our guide was so informative and was so very nice. We also went Zip Lining which was a blast, but it was raining so it hurt our eyes a bit (bring sunglasses even if it's cloudy).

The Springs is a great place to spend 3 or 4 nights, but I would suggest going down to the beach as well. We didn't see the sun at all for the 4 nights we stayed there. Yes, I know it's a rain forest, but I thought we may see at least an hour of sun a day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is definitely 5 star! The help is wonderful and the facilities are unbeatable. One thing I found strange is that the prices for room service were cheaper than the same item at the restaurant. The sushi was fantastic!

Room Tip: My room was on the bottom floor and was excellent. It was beautifully appointed and the tub was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Beautiful and relaxing - spas are amazing. We spent a week in February and our room overlooked the volcano. Hummingbirds everywhere. Relaxing entertainment. The manager was great. He personally helped us retrace our horse back riding tour to track down a lost personal item - we found it. Much of the staff were friendly and top notch - especially the wait staff. The bartenders could have been more friendly and attentive.

There is a swimup bar with a great view of the volcano.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My friend and I somehow ended up in the honeymoon suite! Shame I wasn't on my honeymoon. The unit was amazing. 2 bedrooms 2 baths. Perfect view of the Volcano. The sushi restaurant was great and a few spots in town were good too! Nene's was one of the in town restaurants recommended to us.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

While I would never go there on dry season (nor could I afford to!) this resort was COMPLETELY worth the money. The hot springs are bountiful and beautiful, the view is incredible and the game room is pretty great too! Everyone who works there is SUPER especially our seemingly personal bell hop Allen. And if the resort wasn't great enough, the rescue animal house is an added bonus. Rudy was a terrific guide with lots of information and a great attitude in general. The one downside was that for how much we paid breakfast wasn't included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.