We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST PLACE ON EARTH!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“THE BEST PLACE ON EARTH!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

First of all......I would like to extend my thanks to the staff and owner of this beautiful place. (Thank you Lee, Byron, Nano, Jean Carlo, Rick, Nicole, Daniele, Rudy, Kailor, and everyone else who made this the best week ever) This was the best vacation of our lives and I think we may be back in a few weeks! Not Joking! We are currently looking for property in the area just to be closer to HEAVEN. If you are looking to be swept off your feet and shown how the other half lives, THIS IS THE SPOT!!!

I am a firefighter from Collier County Florida, and by no means wealthy. Have you ever wanted to take a trip where you felt like you were the most important person on the planet? Have you ever wanted to live, if even for a short while, in a room that was built for kings or celebrities, and treated as such? THIS IS THE SPOT!!

Upon arriving at The Springs Resort you are met by a friendly gate guard in what appears to be a field of tall grass, very quiet and quaint. Little do you know that in just a few moments you will be swept off your feet and spun into pure nirvana. A short drive on a gravel road brings you to the top of a mountain in the clouds where I promise, you will never be happier.

When you reach the entrance, you will be greeted by a friendly staff ( hopefully Kailor ) AND THE ADVENTURE BEGINS! You will be welcomed with a delicious drink made with local fruit, and booze (if you like). You will be given a tour of a small portion of the property and a map to help you navigate your way through heaven. I promise you, it only gets better!

Words cannot describe the feeling of relaxation in the rooms......

In the morning, you can take a short bus ride, and everything under the sun you might want to do is there. Club RIO, is at the bottom of the hill/mountain. River rafting, tubing, horseback riding, hiking, eating, drinking, so on and so on and so on and my favorite, climbing......Its all there! I am an avid rock climber and the (NEW) rock wall that the owner (Lee) has constructed is ridiculous! AWESOME!! The guys that work there are the best. Byron, Jean Carlo and Rick manage the WALL and are eager to help anyone who is willing to learn, at any age group or skill level. From the smallest climber to the most advanced, these guys truly love their job and cant wait to teach, or learn, everyday!

My fiance and I loved the horseback riding so much that we decided to go again the next day. Our guide, Nano, went above and beyond. He took us on an adventure that included crossing the river on horseback! We are not experienced riders, but his gentle way with the horses, and with us, made us feel so at home riding! We truly feel that we made a new friend in Nano!

If you are looking for a once in a life time experience, looking to make new friends to last a life time, the springs resort has my A+++. WE CAN NOT WAIT TO COME BACK. THANK YOU SO SO MUCH......... everyone who works there, you guys, and girls, make the difference.

Who ever handles the human resources in your company Lee, they have their finger on the pulse of progress! I have never met a group of people that enjoy their jobs and lives as much as they do! THANK YOU ,THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!!! PURA VIDA!!!!!!!!! The pure life is what you set out for I think, and you found it! ( for those of you that have no idea what Im talking about, just come see for yourself, you will not be upset.)

Room Tip: ROOM 210 is where we stayed, but every room faces the volcano, and every room that I toured looks un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    167
    52
    20
    11
See reviews for
455
585
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel, facilities and amazing views, but extremely expensive. They charge drinks and food at nyc prices... To go for a short term is ok, but more than 2-3 days it is not worth the costs..take note, that you will have to land in San Jose and then drive about 3 1/2 hours in very dangerous roads to La Fortuna where all the arenal hotels are.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I were in Costa Rica visiting family. They booked us all in to this resort for 2 nights and wow, what a fabulous treat that was!! Every room has a super view of Arenal Volcano and we were lucky enough to wake up in the morning and there it was - no clouds in site and we could even see the smoke coming out of the top of it!! The pools were all fabulous - even though it was thundering and lightning when we arrived; we still went in the pools. I know, crazy but we didn't want to miss any of the adventure and the pools were so warm. The hospitality was great - everyone is very friendly. Club Rio was so much fun - we booked in for 2 kayaks and 2 tubes for the river thinking we would switch off for the second run but my sister and I opted to keep the tubes if the guys would keep the kayaks as the river was running quite fast and we were leary of being in the kayaks. We had a blast!! I highly recommend everyone check The Springs Resort and Spa out while in Costa Rica - you will not get this fabulous experience anywhere else in Costa Rica with the volcano right out your window and all the pools that are available.

Room Tip: I think any room you get here would be fabulous as they all face the volcano and they have hammocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We've stayed at quite a few properties in the area and the Springs is the best by far. Service is great, facilities are top notch and there are amazing views from all the public spaces and many of the rooms.

Here are a few things that make this property unique:

1. Land: The property is built on a giant land estate and thus has a definite feel of privacy. They've used this land wisely in keeping it forested and creating a great small zoo on the property. The only downside is a long winding gravel approach road - but we like that!

2. View: Every hotel around Arenal has some view - but only the Springs has "The View". This isn't just subjective. From the dam of Lago Arenal, the river winds down a valley towards Fortuna. A majority of hotels are located here including the famous Tabacon. These hotels are near the road and built on the same slope between the peak and the river near the bottom of the valley. So the views are craning your neck up and looking through trees. There are a few properties on the opposite side where the elevation rises on the other side of the river but they are still close to the road. There is only one hotel where one has to cross the river and climb up the opposite hill for a long distance. This gives the Springs close, unobstructed and powerful views. The hotels on the north shore of the Lake also have similar views but they are are 4-5 miles further away.

Please note that the top of the mountain is often cloudy for days - so the view is dependent on weather.

3. Springs: These "Springs" are beautiful. Sure they are artificially placed, but the water is real (pumped from hot springs), the rocks and vegetation have all grown in nicely and the hidden pools, slides, bar make it great for kids during the day and couples at night. The best thing about these Springs are the crowds - there are none. The upper springs are built wonderfully into the hotel - you can hang out with non bathers, get food and drink easily and watch people and the lower springs are in the Jungle. The Springs are the perfect compliment to the much larger (and more crowded) Tabacon. Do them both but definitely stay here.

4. Service: Amazing service. True 5 star service.

5. Rooms: Modern with rain forest decor. Its not over the top cheesy but nicely done. His and her hammocks on the balcony with a view over the Volcano - priceless.

South Asian Tips: Fish is very good. Vegetarian was sufficient but limited. For multi-generation trips, elderly will struggle with long walks to room from lobby/restaurants. Call for a cart which takes you around behind the parking lot to the top lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Springs is amazing. A lot of couples and families, but also so much fun for a girls trip. 4 of us spent 4 nights. we reserved the 3 bedroom suite. One of the rooms was not connected to the other ones. it actually worked out nicely for us. The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer. anything they could possibly do for us was done and they exceeded any expectation we had.

The food was fantastic. We dined at Ventanas one night and each of us loved our appetizers and meals. The other nights we ate at the main restaurant where a variety of food is offered, including sushi. Perfect for our group!

The hot springs were so nice and there are so many to choose from. Awesome to come back to after a day trip adventure. One had a water slide which we decided is great if we had our kids with us.

We tried to book for massages together at the spa and was told only two were available. Five minutes later, the woman at the desk at the spa, made two more happen for us. As I said, our expectations were totally exceeded. Spa is very nice and massueses were excellent.

CLUB RIO....DO NOT MISS...what an awesome facility. First we went kayaking. So much fun. we had three guides with us and they were so awesome. the river was perfect for us and we enjoyed it immensely. After kayaking the guides took us to a spring behind the cliffs and we had fun putting mud on our faces.

Then we did the rock climbing walls. another great time. They also offer horseback riding, tubing atvs, and there is wildlife tours. we finished club rio with a delicious lunch. There are no lockers offered and your belongings are stored in the "warehouse" next to the horse stables. There are changing rooms with showers.

The concierge was great. he booked our day trips and transportation to and from hotel to airport, making everything easy for us

All in all a great trip. So happy we picked this resort and we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for five nights for our anniversary, and I truly cannot see how anyone can give this place a negative review. By the second day there we had seen probably eight different waiters and waitresses, and the every time they saw us thereafter there was a spark of recognition in their eyes, a smile on their faces, and a warm greeting. The housekeeping staff was outstanding as well; each day the room was cleaned and re-stocked perfectly. Yaneily & Michael (wait staff), and Oscar the bartender were definitely worthy of special mention. As were George Palacio, (technically our guide for the jungle cats rescue center, but we rode the transport down to Club Rio three different times and each time he managed to find unique and different things to show us and tell us about.) Our driver to and from the airport, Eric, was also very upbeat, talkative, and informative about things on the way to and from the airport. Although this is obviously how these people make their living, their smiling faces and warm greetings always appeared genuine, and it was a pleasure to be around such happy people. The views from the hotel itself are breathtaking. Whether in the main building, which consists of five floors of restaurants, a spa, and pools (both natural hot springs and two chlorine pools), or from the room. We stayed in an Alta Vista room, and had a remarkable view of not only the Rain Forest (you are in the middle of it), but the Arenal Volcano, which is a spectacle of nature all its own. I would definitely recommend going to Perdido Springs (probably 20 additional hot springs located right beside the hotel, but the property is so immense we didn't know about it until our third day!), and Club Rio. Club Rio is located 1 km below the resort, and has a restaurant/bar, horseback riding, ATV riding, kayaking, tubing, and just some great trails to take a relaxing stroll along while you choose which one of the many hot springs located down there as well. At the Treetop Cafe we saw monkeys on two different occasions as well as toucans. All in all, an unforgettable anniversary. Thank you, thank you.

Room Tip: The Alta Vista Rooms have an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I just got back from our honeymoon at The Springs. Even though the weather was rainy, our room had great views, and we hit the pools every day. We would highly recommend to couples or families looking for relaxation in close proximity to the adventure tours. The staff were all very friendly, and really made the difference between a good experience and a great one. Only points it would lose is for cost/quality of food and drinks. You are in the middle of the jungle, but when everything else is 5 star, it's the only thing lacking a bit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.