We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring for The Springs Resort Arenal Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Tour tickets
Petersham, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spring for The Springs Resort Arenal Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were given a tip to go to The Springs if we wanted a hot springs experience by the owner of Lucky Bug. She says all the locals go there rather than Tabacon which costs$85.00 for a one day pass. The Springs costs $60.00 for a TWO day pass and it is well worth it. 13 hot pools are there to entice you with a range of hotness. The pools are somewhat secluded for privacy and also include a "monkey slide" from a platform into the last hot pool. We tried it and it was great fun. In addition thr resort has several restaurants and a snack bar all of which we thought were most reasonable and delicious. The view of Arenal volcano is tremendous and takes your breath away. No eruptions when we were there in early August but you could see smoke coming from the top We highly recommend The Springs. Oh for an additional $40.00 per day there is a wide range of resort activities including tubing down the river, horseback riding and other outdoor activities.

Room Tip: We didn't actually stay at the resort . We only used tg\he Spa activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    194
    57
    21
    11
See reviews for
513
665
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the resort in early September. It was very beautiful! We celebrated our one year anniversary. I shared that information upon booking and we arrived to the resort with the entire staff knowing about our celebration and a bottle of wine in our room. The staff is extremely friendly. They arranged for someone to pick us up at the airport and even though we were delayed a little at the airport, the shuttle driver waited with no issue. He stood outside with a sign with our names on it- made us feel like VIP. He also stopped for us to get lunch as we were starving!!The ride from the airport is bit long (about 3.5 hours), but it's worth it. To see a country from one end to another is a great experience. We visited all of the different hot springs but spend most of our time in the one with the wet bar. Great scenery in all places of the resort. The food was amazing. Alot of the review I read talked about the food not being "five star". I just have to say, for this resort, the food was as 5-star as it was going to get as it is a resort that reflects the country. They served traditional Costa Rican foods and of course if you've never had food like that before, you may or may not enjoy it. We did do tubing and kayaking at Club Rio. That was a lot of fun! We wanted to do zip-lining but the day we were going to do it started raining like there was a hurricane outside with thunder and lighening. It's very cloudy there and may be hard to get a view of the Volcano. I suggest getting up at 5-6am to get a view, that's when we got ours. Even though we only had a clear view one day, it was definitely worth it. My only regret is that we didnt stay longer. All in all, the place is very nice and worth every penny. I recommend it to any and everyone. It's a nice place for couples as well as family as there is alot to do. I do not recommend anyone driving here unless you know the place well. On our way back to the Holiday Inn Express by SJO airport, there was alot of fog. We couldnt see anything, we had no idea how the driver was able to drive in such condition but he's been doing that for years and knows those roads like the back of his hand. A tourist would not be able to drive in that at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Went here for my birthday in the middle of our honeymoon. The place is divine and the service as well as the rooms are exquisite, Mary Antoinette would have been loved it! No words can describe it just go! One important comment though is in low season we got them down to 170 and apparently you can even bargain more. Regardless incredible!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O' Lakes, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a glorious vacation to Costa Rica. It was a long awaited vacation filled with excellent accommodations, local food, ecological experiences and adventure. But the highlight lodging was our three-day stay at the Spring Resort and Spa in Arenal. Our stay set the bar high for any other lodging accommodations we will experience in Costa Rica. We were greeted so warmly upon arrival. And the resort staff that we saw regularly greeted us by name. Our room was so beautiful and spacious. Our view of Arenal Volcano and the rainforest was breathtaking. We did not realize all of the activities that were available right on the property but did take advantage of a hike through the grounds, visiting the rescued cats and the stables. Each afternoon, we made a point of enjoying the mineral spring fed pools. We ate every breakfast and dinner in Tres Cascades because the food was so deliciously Costa Rican. There was no reason to leave. Our only mistake was not staying longer at the resort. We are looking forward to the Springs in Arenal and visiting the sister property, Peace Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The best hotel I've stayed at by far. It is at a beautiful place and location. They had the best service and were extremely helpful with answering all my questions. A lot of activities to do there, they even help you plan them! Everyone is so nice there. I would definitely advice you to go there for a honeymoon, family vacation or even a get away. There is something for everyone there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I visited for the day the Hot Springs at The Springs Resort early this year, and we loved it so much that we decided to celebrate my husbads birthday at the Resort a couple of weeks ago. We are so glad we did, it exceded all our expectations.

Upon our arrival, the service at the front desk was impecable, the staff was friendly and very helpfull. We where taken to our Vista Guest room which was very nice, tastefull details all over and the best part, an amazing full view of the Arenal Volcano. We spent a lot of our time at the Hot Spring pools, we loved Perdidos Springs, so romantic and unique. We decided to have dinner at Las Ventanas restaurant, what an amazing view and the place is georgeos! Tha staff was great and the food delicious, we highly recommend this restaurant.

On the next day we decided to spend the day at Club Rio, we started with a horse back riding, the horses are in great shape and the guide took us around the huge property, lots of hills and beautifull views, we loved it. We then decided to try the tubbing through the river, it was such a fun and unique tour, just the two of us laughing like kids going down a small rapid river, you have to try it!

We spend the rest of the afternoon chilling at The Laguna pool, sipping on Mojitos, watching the huge, amazing and stunning volcano right infront of us, it was the perfect way to end our day.

This resort is a must, you have to stay here if you are coming to Costa Rica. Their food is delicious the service is excellent, the property is amazingly beautiful and there is so much to do in the Resort and in the area. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I just came back and it was a beautiful place. Service was excellent and staff was very friendly. Place is really big so be prepared for a lot of walking and a LOT of steps! Room was great although if we were spending too much time in a room there's something wrong! My only complaint was that we thought the food was very average and the menu's never changed while we were there, same special (see singular) the entire week. We had much better food in town (LaFortuna), even dinner. Food and alcohol is expensive ($4.5 for can beer - basic, $8 -$9 for an inexpensive glass of red wine) so it does add up.. Spa was awesome, very beautiful and the treatments were very good and varied. Lots of tour options! Another issue (not the owners fault) is that the road in is like driving on the moon! Horrible! If you get carsick bring out the Dramamine, you will need it!. Supposedly, the owner wants to pave the road but the area residents are blocking him.. I would definitely go back here again. Their sister place (The Peace Lodge) is also awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.