We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Attention to detail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is a dream! Beautiful accomodations and amazing surroundings. My wife and I were in awe of the attention to detail. We would recommend it without reservation. Costa Rica is a lovely place and this is a wonderful find!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    175
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
621
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place was fantastic!

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights after spending 5 nights in another part of Costa Rica with her parents.

This hotel was simple one of the best experiences I have ever had in a hotel.

Rooms are flat out amazing.

Hotel appears to be basically brand new.

Restaurants were great and there was also a very good restaurant owned by a guy from New Jersey nearby. If I remember correctly it was called something simple like, Just Good Foods. I may be wrong on the name but it was very close to this.

My only negative was the location. Not much to do especially since we had been to the area earlier in the week with my wife's parents. Great place to relax ad do very little.

Spa in the hotel was great but a little closer to prices found in the U.S. than I would have expected but services received were worth the price paid in my opinion.

Natural hot springs on site were outstanding.

I highly recommend this hotel especially if only staying a couple of nights. If staying a week I would think it would be a little boring.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We went with a group of 9. Everyone was impressed with the property but the entire staff is what sealed the deal. All the staff seem to know and speak highly of the owner- you can tell in their level of service they are treated well. Anytime you requested something, they made it happen. There is a lot of walking and stair climbing but the views make it seem desirable. Every meal was "the best". You can't go wrong here. Best vacation ever! Thank you to everyone there who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would like to preface this review by saying that my husband and I are avid travelers and have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world. That being said Costa Rica is where our heart lies. We have been to Costa Rica on four seperate occasions over the past 10 years and have had great experiences each time. Last year we stayed at the Peace Lodge in Heredia, Costa Rica and were totally blown away (please see my review). At that time we discovered that the owner and builder had recently opened another resort near the Arenal Volcano, so that is where we decided to go this year.
I have to say that this trip was one of the best that we have ever taken. The hotel itself is beautifully constructed and designed and absolutely gorgeous and is situated in the middle of the rain forrest overlooking the Arenal Volcano. There are about 20 different natural mineral hot springs (many of which are secluded and quiet and are situated underneath the forrest canopy) scattered all around the property and each is more beautiful than the last. The rooms and the property as a whole are stunningly beautiful and every detail is attended to. One of our favorite things about Costa Rica is the people. You won't find a more gentle, genuine and sincere group anywhere else. The staff at the hotel were great, friendly, courteous and ready to assist us with any of our needs. They made us feel like family.
One of the best things about this hotel (and The Peace Lodge) is that it is also a wildlife rescue haven. The owner (through his own love of animals) has created and continues to create several habitats for these rescued animals (who cannot be put back into the wild) in which the guests get a front row seat. They currently have an area where they keep many large cats, such as Margays, Ocelots and Pumas. They are currently constructing a beautiful area for some baby orphan toucans and an island for monkeys that people will be able to walk through. As we are big animal lovers this was an added plus to our stay.Lastly, I must mention one of the best things about this resort-- The Club Rio Outdoor Center. If you didn't think it could get better they have their own river with activities such as innertubing and kayaking and are currently building a climbing wall (among other things). We also went horsebacking riding which was incredible. There is something here for everyone and it just keeps getting better. We are already making our plans for next year and can't wait to see all the new surprises.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

One of the most relaxing vacations ever at the Springs. The staff is amongst the best. They truly go out of their way for their guests and you are not just a room number which makes it very comforting. You get what you pay for at the springs and you are treated like royalty

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I feel like I don't need to state the obvious, you can read all of the other reviews to get an idea of how beautiful everything is. Instead I wanted to focus on a few of the things that were confusing to me at the time that I booked our trip.

Club Rio...... There is a shuttle that will pick you up at the hotel lobby and drive you down (about 2 minutes away). You could walk, but it seems pretty steep. There is a pretty little waterfall and a stream/miniriver. You can book little mini 'adventures' like kayaking or tubing for about $25-35 a person. There is horseback riding and maybe other things? This is all a part of the resort, so you can just go down there and walk around if you want. It is very pretty and relaxing with chairs by the water. There is a little bar area that also serves food during lunch hours. There is a Cat sanctuary as well, so cute. We just happened to cross paths with a cat tour guide (American intern) as we were heading down, so not sure what the normal protocol is, but it is free.

Tours...... There are a ton of outside tours (not run by The Springs) that you can book through the Springs. You basically just sit at the desk in the front lobby and tell them what you want to do and they set it up for you and it gets charged to your room. This works out nicely if you don't want to set things up in advance or have to go into town to do it yourself (we were there during low season, so things weren't booked up). The prices all seemed to be exactly the same as if you had booked it with the company yourself. We set up a tour with Desafio directly ourselves the first day to go Canyoning and we really liked them. So, the next day we went to The Springs concierge to set up a rafting tour and their first suggestion was some other company, but once we asked for Desafio it was no problem. I believe you are supposed to leave a tip?? But I don't know?? She only did 1 minute of work, so we didn't tip.

Roads.....We drove from Liberia airport and the roads were in great condition, UNTIL you turn off the main road to head up to the Springs. That road is a bit rough and a little long. It makes you not want to drive back into town for dinner after being gone all day rafting. About a 20 minute drive into town (once you are on the main road, the drive isn't bad).

Springs.....The springs are great. They all feel so private and closed off from the world. There is a great little water slide, alot more thrilling than I expected. The property grounds always seem a bit slippery. The springs are included as part of your stay. You receive a little rubber bracelet that you wear while there.

Food...... just eh! We never ate in one of the restaurants, seemed pricey. But really the food in town is pricey too (at least the typical tourist trap places).

Room....we stayed in an Alta vista room, view was great. Lots of birds on the property, they have feeders right outside on the patio. There are hammocks on the patio, awesome!!

Room Tip: We stayed in an Alta Vista room. View was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

The Springs was one of the most beautiful places ever! The scenery was breathtaking and the amenities were plentiful. Staff was friendly, accommodating, fun, and helpful. Many knew us by name! William and Marvin were especially great! The pools and hot springs were amazing. I would recommend this resort to friends and family and I will definitely come back again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.