We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic resort for couples including all the essential ingrediants for love and passion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Boucherville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic resort for couples including all the essential ingrediants for love and passion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

The welcoming party was wonderfull. They showed us to our room in on our way we saw the spa tubs and all the fantastic restaurants, spa and fitness center facilities.

A definite jewel with a direct view of the Arenal volcano in our room. Insured intimaty and total relaxation.

We also recommand the sushi bar. We had a full boat of sushis cruising to our palette.

The only element of improvement would be the organized tours. We had to insist a lot to get all the desired information for hiking on the volcanoes. But as soon as we got the information and the tour were booked we definitively had a great time thanks to Alberto, Karina and the head guide Hector.

Jean-Pierre and Isabelle

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    167
    52
    20
    11
See reviews for
454
583
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Our family recently had the pleasure of an adventure filled five-day stay in The Springs Resort. What can I say that most haven't already expressed about this exquisite property, it's perhaps one of the most beautiful destinations we've ever visited in our lifetime.

Needless to say...it's always a challenge traveling with a large group of eleven adults & kids, especially when traveling abroad. Our concerns immediately evaporated from the moment we stepped foot on to the property, where we were welcomed by an extremely courteous staff, ensuring our comfort from start to finish. We thoroughly appreciated the guided tour of the grounds and our rooms we received immediately, it gave us an excellent lay of the land and feeling like we belonged.

There were many highlights of our stay, starting with there warm & friendly staff, always eager to lend a hand to the knowledgable concierge team of Natalia and Johnny, who helped us navigate through five days of tours and reservations, making it a seamless and effortless week for us, thank you guys!!!!!!

Each of our rooms were generously sizes and boasted of exquisite views of an active volcano and lush landscaping right off your balcony. You'll never get tired of the numerous hot springs and waterfalls that line the property. After a long day of activities, it's exactly what the doctor ordered.

We've traveled to many countries and stayed in some of the most beautiful resorts in the World, never have we experienced the complete package as we did at the Springs. A must-see if you're interested in a world-class resort with all the bells & whistles!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Of the three hotels i stayed in costa rica this was the best of them.That being said the staff had nothing to do with that.The rooms and the views are the selling point here.It being the week before christmas and the busy season maybe they were taking that opportunity to rest up.Literally nothing to do at the hotel no happy hour no coordinated activity that they actually stick too.You can get a tour of their zoo just dont expect them to show up when their supposed to,Food was average but acceptable.Dont try to exchange money there i asked three different front desk people exchange rates got three different answers.Then when i did try to exchange all they could exchange was twenty dollars ;0

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Springs Resort and Spa for three nights at the end of November 2011. I had high expectations for this resort, given its reputation and prices, and I was not disappointed. It was definitely a five star experience from start to finish.

This resort is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are amazing. The Laguna Pools and Perdido Springs are super relaxing and fairly private. The resort sells day passes to tourists not staying at the resort, and my husband and I still had our choice of unoccupied pools.

The rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. The owners spared no expense and thought of every detail. Every room has a beautiful view of Volcan Arenal (IF the clouds lift – we only saw it 1 day). Our favorite detail of the room was the hummingbird feeder on our patio. The hummingbirds swarmed over it from dawn until dusk every day. The free wifi was also a nice perk.

There was a spa promotion at the time we booked our trip, which allowed my husband and I to receive a couples massage for free. The spa was amazing after a long day of hiking in the rainforest. It has a very clean, professional and relaxing atmosphere.

Be sure to take the Jungle Cat Tour on the resort property. This is a complimentary tour and one of the favorite parts of our stay. Our guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We loved the ocelots!

The restaurants offer a decent variety of foods, and my husband and I had no complaints with any of our choices. Yes, the menus are pricey. The resort could benefit from an all-inclusive breakfast option.

Travelers should note that the resort is located about 15 minutes outside of town. My husband and I liked the privacy and preferred to stay at the resort for meals, but this might be something to consider if you expect to spend time in town or expect some kind of nightlife entertainment. There is also an upcharge for transportation for excursions you might book.

Overall, The Springs was an absolute treat. Our stay was very enjoyable, and I’d recommend it whole-heartedly to other couples who want to relax in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was our first stay in Costa Rica. We are married 15 years and it felt like we were on our honeymoon.The views of the volcano are dramatic from every spot in the hotel including the rooms. Hotel decor is rustic/modern and makes you feel comfortable wherever you are in the hotel. Rooms are spacious and laid out nicely. The staff was friendly and nice. They made us feel very comfortable and helped with all of our needs. Chef Andre was especially helpful with our dietary needs and went above and beyond. We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a fabulous vacation.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is nicer than first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

Our guide service booked an afternoon and dinner package here and it was truly a memorable day! The hotel and facility has been created by a team with an amazing vision and eye on the details. The employees are part of something great and they feel empowered to meet your every need. It is a joy to see people engaged and sharing the vision of a great leader. Congratulations Mr. banks, you have something special going on at The Springs!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We have done a lot of international travel, a large portion at upscale small hotels, but have never stayed at a more beautiful, dramatic, comfortable hotel and the superlatives could go on and on. Now we don’t have to go to Bali or Hawaii to experience such natural beauty and extensive use of nature in the design of the hotel.

The service was excellent in all the hotel venues without being intrusive. We like good service, but do not want to be over-indulged. We like to do a lot ourselves.

The design, both interior and exterior, was creatively exquisite in the best sense of the word. Everything was in proper scale and done with great taste without being overdone or displaying too much opulence. The hotel fit the environment perfectly. The room sizes were generous, and the accomodations were very comfortable. There was even good lighting for reading in bed. The owner obviously also has a great eye for design and details. I can't think of any negatives. The photos on the hotel website are beautiful and pull one in, but even they understate the beauty of the resort, where it's fun just to hop from one mineral springs pool to another at a slightly different temperature.

We were also appreciative of the owner's sincere interest in green development, saving wildlife and treating his wild animals so humanely and making them part of The Springs experience.

We do plan to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of Arenal Volcano. 2nd floor rooms probably have slightly better views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.