We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant place if you dont need anything to do:)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“pleasant place if you dont need anything to do:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Of the three hotels i stayed in costa rica this was the best of them.That being said the staff had nothing to do with that.The rooms and the views are the selling point here.It being the week before christmas and the busy season maybe they were taking that opportunity to rest up.Literally nothing to do at the hotel no happy hour no coordinated activity that they actually stick too.You can get a tour of their zoo just dont expect them to show up when their supposed to,Food was average but acceptable.Dont try to exchange money there i asked three different front desk people exchange rates got three different answers.Then when i did try to exchange all they could exchange was twenty dollars ;0

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    171
    54
    20
    11
See reviews for
458
601
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Springs Resort and Spa for three nights at the end of November 2011. I had high expectations for this resort, given its reputation and prices, and I was not disappointed. It was definitely a five star experience from start to finish.

This resort is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are amazing. The Laguna Pools and Perdido Springs are super relaxing and fairly private. The resort sells day passes to tourists not staying at the resort, and my husband and I still had our choice of unoccupied pools.

The rooms are very large, clean and comfortable. The owners spared no expense and thought of every detail. Every room has a beautiful view of Volcan Arenal (IF the clouds lift – we only saw it 1 day). Our favorite detail of the room was the hummingbird feeder on our patio. The hummingbirds swarmed over it from dawn until dusk every day. The free wifi was also a nice perk.

There was a spa promotion at the time we booked our trip, which allowed my husband and I to receive a couples massage for free. The spa was amazing after a long day of hiking in the rainforest. It has a very clean, professional and relaxing atmosphere.

Be sure to take the Jungle Cat Tour on the resort property. This is a complimentary tour and one of the favorite parts of our stay. Our guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We loved the ocelots!

The restaurants offer a decent variety of foods, and my husband and I had no complaints with any of our choices. Yes, the menus are pricey. The resort could benefit from an all-inclusive breakfast option.

Travelers should note that the resort is located about 15 minutes outside of town. My husband and I liked the privacy and preferred to stay at the resort for meals, but this might be something to consider if you expect to spend time in town or expect some kind of nightlife entertainment. There is also an upcharge for transportation for excursions you might book.

Overall, The Springs was an absolute treat. Our stay was very enjoyable, and I’d recommend it whole-heartedly to other couples who want to relax in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was our first stay in Costa Rica. We are married 15 years and it felt like we were on our honeymoon.The views of the volcano are dramatic from every spot in the hotel including the rooms. Hotel decor is rustic/modern and makes you feel comfortable wherever you are in the hotel. Rooms are spacious and laid out nicely. The staff was friendly and nice. They made us feel very comfortable and helped with all of our needs. Chef Andre was especially helpful with our dietary needs and went above and beyond. We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a fabulous vacation.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is nicer than first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

Our guide service booked an afternoon and dinner package here and it was truly a memorable day! The hotel and facility has been created by a team with an amazing vision and eye on the details. The employees are part of something great and they feel empowered to meet your every need. It is a joy to see people engaged and sharing the vision of a great leader. Congratulations Mr. banks, you have something special going on at The Springs!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We have done a lot of international travel, a large portion at upscale small hotels, but have never stayed at a more beautiful, dramatic, comfortable hotel and the superlatives could go on and on. Now we don’t have to go to Bali or Hawaii to experience such natural beauty and extensive use of nature in the design of the hotel.

The service was excellent in all the hotel venues without being intrusive. We like good service, but do not want to be over-indulged. We like to do a lot ourselves.

The design, both interior and exterior, was creatively exquisite in the best sense of the word. Everything was in proper scale and done with great taste without being overdone or displaying too much opulence. The hotel fit the environment perfectly. The room sizes were generous, and the accomodations were very comfortable. There was even good lighting for reading in bed. The owner obviously also has a great eye for design and details. I can't think of any negatives. The photos on the hotel website are beautiful and pull one in, but even they understate the beauty of the resort, where it's fun just to hop from one mineral springs pool to another at a slightly different temperature.

We were also appreciative of the owner's sincere interest in green development, saving wildlife and treating his wild animals so humanely and making them part of The Springs experience.

We do plan to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of Arenal Volcano. 2nd floor rooms probably have slightly better views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Out of the world great resort with excellent views, landscaping, hot springs pools, service, and food! My husband and I travel the world frequently, this is the place that captured our heaet. Although this place takes three hours to drive, but it's definitely worth it! We want to go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The third straight day of persistent rain at The Springs and I felt really sorry for all of those families who were standing in-line at an Orlando theme park resort. We were staying at this fabulous resort did a host family bonding activities that required no waiting or overcrowding all within the splendid beauty of nature. We kayaked rapids, we rode horses, we zip lined through pristine forests and swung like Tarzan. And it rained. The kids squealed with delight as they sped down the most picturesque water slide in the Americas. And then we soaked away our stress in the thermal spring pools. My wife had a massage and manicure that both were of good quality and value. And still it rained, but we kept smiling.

We stayed for 4 nights in early December and during our entire stay the rain never stopped, but of course that has nothing to do with the hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted with smiles and a welcome drink and after checking in a personal tour of the property. There is no doubt that this relatively new property has been conceived and managed to an exacting standard, during our stay there was nothing to suggest that this property is willing to compromise those values.

Our 2 bedroomed room was split one bedroom upstairs and one down. The kids loved this and so did we, the main bathroom included a showpiece huge bath that could actually accommodate the whole family. The balcony had a full hanging bird feeder that attracted a multitude of hummingbirds to hover and feed. We also got a visit from a coati in the early morning to have a feed also.
The beds were kingsize and comfortable and the view - although we never saw it - would have framed Arenal Volcano. Rooms were first class.

Dining was good. We ate the Ginger Sushi Bar one night and he rest of our meals were at the Tres Cascadas restaurant. All were good, without being exceptional but they certainly weren’t overpriced which can certainly ruin a stay at this kind of place. The service was first class, many of the staff addressed you by name and there was no lack of attention.

The Springs isn't cheap, but it is excellent value. I think we were fortunate that stayed there at a very quiet period - before the holiday rush - and consequently (despite the weather) was an exceptional one because of the fewer guests staying at the resort. The service really was excellent. I felt a little panicked when they presented us with wristbands at check- in and thought with horror of those resorts that make you wear such things. The truth is The Springs is a man made resort that comfortably falls on the right side of good taste, but I learned from staff that the resort will double in size and also add a casino in the near future. Only time will tell Whether that will turn this boutique sized luxury tropical resort into something hideous and Floridian.

Pluses: everything, our best family stay in a hotel / resort.

Minuses: nada, pura vida!

Summary: this is a very fine hotel with an exemplary staff, service and accommodation. Thoroughly recommend it, but for how long who knows?

Room Tip: All of the 44 rooms are excellent - be happy with what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.