We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to turn 50” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a way to turn 50”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband I were in La Fortuna for several days staying at a very nice resort. I told him that I had heard about The Springs Resort and Spa from another couple and it sounded wonderful. So we decided to take a drive and see for ourselves. When we approached the resort I knew we were in for a treat. We went to the front desk and I introduced ourselves to the Front Desk Manager, Patrick Mahoney. I told him that I was in the travel business and wanted to take a tour. He could not have been nicer and was thrilled to show off the property. After the tour we inquired to see if they had availability and we were thrilled to learn that they did.

The next day we packed up and moved to paradise at The Spring resort and Spa. Once we got settled in there was no need to leave, the resort has everything a vacationer would want at your fingertips. The view of the Arenal volcano was wonderful from our room. We loved to wake up and see the moneys and Humming Birds outside our patio. We went Kayaking down a white water river, we spent many hours relaxing in the mineral springs. While at the resort we met so many other couples and families who were also having a wonderful time. Many of whom we are still in touch with. The food was fabulous and the pool bar is a must. There is also an animal reserve on property that is free to all. I had never been so up close to wild animals. The staff was eager to make sure that our stay was the best experience possible. In fact we had an early flight back to the states and had planned on staying at a Hampton Inn near the airport, but Patrick (our new friend) told us that they had a sister property called The Peace Lodge that was only 45 minutes from San Jose Airport and that this resort was equally as impressive. I couldn't imagine that this could be possible, so we decided to stay our last night at The Peace Lodge. Patrick was right, The Peace Lodge, while very different wass just as wonderful. Our only regret is that we didn't get to stay a couple of extra days at The Peace Lodge. We are now planning to return in March and bring our 13 year daughter, she will just love the experience. If you have the opportunity to stay at either property you will not be sorry. Over the top!

Room Tip: everyroom has a wonderful view of the volacano
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    174
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
464
616
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My husband and I were married just last month and spent part of our honeymoon here at the Springs and it would have been the most perfect time, except for some cockroaches in our room. :( It was our 3rd day in and we had some food out and by the end of the night, saw and killed 3 or 4 huge roaches. I was traumatized! We had moved rooms, the first was a smaller room 2 doors down the infested one and then we were moved to another honeymoon suite next to the infested one. But we still saw and killed at least 1 or 2 roaches a night, it was unacceptable and we were very surprised by this and how such a great resort could have this problem. It's unfortunate, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If you see any cockroaches, change rooms, try for one higher up in the resort and try not to have fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were staying at the Four Seasons in Guanacoste and went for one night to the Springs Resort. We decided to go first class and rented the villa (Villa Calatea) which was gorgeous. We had our own golf cart to get around and were right across from the secluded Perido Springs pools. These pools and grounds were absolutely gorgeous. The views from the villa were breathtaking. The things we did not like were a) having to wear a rubber wristband. We felt like we were at ClubMed. The told us it was to disguinish the importance of the guests. Aren't all the guests important? b) We had no hot water in the master bath c) the hairdryer was from the 1960s d) the service in their premier restaurant (Las Ventanas) was the worst. We were happy to get back to the Four Seasons after this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Wow views, and everything you can imagine and more

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costarica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed only one night and I wish we stayed a little longer. The room was unbelievably gorgeous, the view was incredible and the staff was so helpful! We got a flat tire and they even even changed the tire for us. Our stay was expensive, but it was so worth it. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

We didn't actually stay overnight at the resort but we visited as part of a tour to the volcano. After our vocano hike we went to the hotel and were able to use the springs before having dinner there. Words don't do the hotel justice. It's beautiful, the view, the hotel, the springs. The hotel is at the base of the volcano and has an incredible view of the arenal volcano. It also has amazing stone work and open air concept. The springs are great and all have different temperatures for everyone. Last but not least we had dinner included which was awesome. All the courses were tasty and done to perfection. It's worth the trip.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Know why the Bachelor picked this place! Very romantic and relaxing but plenty of adventure if you want!!! Service is great and people very friendly and accomodating. Loved the food at all the restaurants. The many spa pools super and hard to decide which one! Massage also very good!!! Definently going back!!

Room Tip: You cannot pick a bad one. All are superb and everyone has a super view. The volcano and the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.