We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best resort in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Springs Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best resort in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I went to The Springs Resort and Spa in La Fortuna in June 2011 to celebrate my birthday. Although I was excited to check the place out after seeing it on The Bachelorette, the road leading into it is quite deceiving because it's very rough terrain, but then opens up to this beautiful resort!

The hotel is gorgeous. It's fairly modern, but a bit rustic, all wood, etc. It has an amazing view of La Fortuna and Arenal volcano. There are about 5 levels in the hotel, with things on each floor - restaurants, spa, gym, bar so be prepared to walk up and down a lot of stairs. However, if you wish, the hotel staff will drive you to and from your suite in a golf cart so that you can relax.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which is the same as the regular suite, only with your own hot springs hot tub. Pretty awesome! The room is very large with a lot of space to put your things, the bathroom is large, there is even enough space for 2 chairs in the room to lounge in. The patio looking at Arenal volcano is really lovely for both the view and there are 2 hammocks for your relaxing enjoyment!

There are 18 - yes 18! hot springs pools on the property. About half of them are up by the hotel and the others are down in the forest, complete with a water slide. The varying temperatures and minerals in each were very interesting and fun to experiment with! There is also a regular swimming pool, with a swim up bar for both drinks and food, which is handy when you're hungry but don't want to get out of the pool.

There were quite a few people staying in the hotel, but it never felt over crowded which was nice. You could really enjoy the experience without feeling like there were a lot of people around. And it IS an experience. That hotel is LUXURY in Costa Rica. It's beautiful, serene, relaxing, all of the services and amenities are top notch, the staff is great. The package came with a spa credit which we used for a couple's massage and it was wonderful!

Overall, it was an amazing weekend trip and I will stay there again any time I go back to Arenal for a visit. It's pricey, but well worth it!

The couple of disappointing things were that the volcano didn't erupt at all so no flaming red lava at night like I was hoping. However, I've been told that it's very inconsistent and there's no 'right' time to see it, you're lucky if you do, so I was expecting not to see it. The other thing was the kids. It's a very serene, romantic resort and screaming kids splashing in the pools and spas took a bit of the ambiance out of it. However, I wouldn't let that hinder anyone without children from going because it is so spacious there, you can be on your own a lot of the time in the springs pools, at a restaurant, in the spa, or your suite.

You really don't have to leave the resort for your whole stay! Lots to do, and the beauty of it all will make you not want to leave. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    968
    143
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
383
532
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Set on a hillside overlooking Arenal Volcano, The Springs is a beautiful property with 18 pools, all but one with hot springs pumped directly into the pools. The main pool is a regular chlorine pool with a very nice swim-up bar and great volcano views. The developers and owners did an excellent job of design, architecture, and detail. We stayed in 2-bedroom suites that were just as elegant. Now for all of this, one must pay the price. Room rates, drink prices and food costs are probably the highest you'll find in all of Costa Rica. Service was subpar considering the rates you're paying. Food quality, especially in the buffet restaurant, is terrible. Would we do it again? No. Did we have an experience of a lifetime? Yes.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Vista Plus Suite is a 2-3 bedroom unit with its own natural outdoor hot water jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

This resort offers fine dining, hot springs, and beautiful panoramic views of lush Costa Rican countryside. And a view of a fantastic volcano from every room. Luxurious rooms with exotic hardwood furniture and paneling, walk-in showers, granite and tile bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs. The staff caters to your every whim - even babysitting service. Super courteous - I never heard "con much gusto" so much. But if you're going to drive yourself from an airport, get a 4 wheel drive vehicle. Roads can be questionable in places.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Back after 4 days at the Springs Resort. Family loved it. Stayed in Villa Calatae: 3000 sq ft villa was huge and supplied with a golf cart to use (very helpful getting tired kids up the hill to the main resort). Springs are warm and well spread through thick and beautiful jungle. And NO BUGS! Not one bug bite for this family of 5 without any use of sprays. I think they treat the areas every morning. Monkey slide is plenty fast and fun, if you have kids plan to camp out near it (and take some trips down yourself to make everyone laugh).
This is a "wow" resort, 44 room (2 villas) and a main resort ready for 100 rooms (still buiding down by the river but you'd never know it or see it). Resort was full, but since so many guests take advantage of the excellent local excursions, we never felt crowded. Many days we had springs all to ourselves and never waited a minute to get a table in any of the restaurants. Beware the slow service at the only indoor steak restaurant. But where else do you have to go anyway?
Food was good (sushi restaurant was okay 1st night, but excellent the last!?), and one night we ate at the pool swim up. Ordering from any menu is allowed no matter where you are eating. My picky oldest (11) appreciated the chicken tenders and one night we ordered a pizza to be delivered for him from a nearby restaurant (it was okay, but he felt it was special). They also opened a meeting room for xbox (bigscreen), pingpong, puzzles, etc with a dedicated worker who played with my kids while we drank at the outdoor sushi bar just outside, everyone had fun.
Saw the preserve (feeding time is best), puretrek canyoned (everyone's favorite and even my 4 year old was able to go... strapped to a guide-absolutely amazing, but a tough hike back up at the end for 20 minutes that no one ever mentioned before), and river rafted at the hotel on the river with friends of the owner, Lee. He lives in Ft. Lauderdale, but was on site for those guests and was friendly and welcoming to us. He even sent us a fruit basket to our room one night. Very cool and likable guy.
Only warning is the roads in CR are bumpy and windy. We had to break 1/2 way from and to the airport in San Jose to calm our stomachs(my youngest threw up, but recovered admirably) and buy touristy stuff . The towns are so friendly, my wife and daughter took a cab to town one morning and shopped at their leisure - no pestering, no problems. They felt safe and really enjoyed the time together.
My kids are already thinking of which friend they would bring with when we go back eventually. With a little older kids, we would zip, atv, and horseride. People who did it had fun. The rain is brief and heavy, but feels great and kept the rainforest feel to everything. Unlike the beach, when it rains here everything just keeps going strong. By the 2nd day, we never even noticed it and it only rained rarely. Best when it rains to enjoy the springs with a big pineapple drink in hand. Cool rain and hot springs. Stop reading all the reviews and just go and enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

We loved everything about our stay especially the attention to detail. Free Internet always gives an added good feeling. The stairs from the accommodation to the hotel may be difficult for some.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This was our second stay at this drop dead gorgeous hotel. It is truly a breathtaking spot in paradise. The rooms are very nicely done with cozy comfortable beds and every room has an amazing view of the volcano. The Springs are beautiful with waterfalls and lush gorgeous tropical landscape. We also spent some time at the new area of the hotel down near the river which was also wonderful. The service is very good and will tend to your every need. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Had a spectacular time at the springs can't say enough about the facilities and the staff. everything was fantastic the food was terrific and the rooms were spotless,
Plenty of exciting excursions,to book right at the consergie, I recommend repelling down the water falls or Sky Trek zip line was grea fun . The Springs also has ATV tours on site and horse back rinding as well . The veiws of the Arenal volcanoe are amazingly beutiful .
I recommend it to all, fun for the entire family or a group of friends or just the two of you, we truly enjoyed our Honeymoon and met many freindly people.

.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Near Montana de Fuego, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class luxury resort featuring spectacular Hot Springs, picture perfect views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and four restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 18 mineral-laden, artesian hot springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. On our exclusive 165 acre rain forest and riverfront property we offer horseback riding, river activities, ATV and hiking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.