We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Es lo mas , la camarera me inspira a tomar chuleta y era RICA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda La Hormiga

Soda La Hormiga
Costado Oeste de la Terminal de Buses | A la Par de Mega Super y la Estacion de Buses, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
+506 2479 9247
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Pizza, Fast Food, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on one side of La Fortuna's bus station, the best dish offered in this small place is the typical "Casado". But you can enjoy any other typical dish in this great Soda.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Es lo mas , la camarera me inspira a tomar chuleta y era RICA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

ambiance, waitress was fierce, carved wood chairs were super cute along with all the Hormigas (Ants). Cute kitty and doggy entertained me. ;)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    59
    17
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Soda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place had some quick dishes with some good flavor. A good drink menu too with some interesting drink choices. Definitely worth a lunch if you're in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food of the people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We dropped in to try the typical lunch, and that's what we found here at Soda Hormiga. I had the grilled chicken sandwich while my husband tried two lunch specials--the sausage taco and the beef taco. All three dishes were excellent! The prices are very affordable. We ate with locals, hostel residents, and a beautiful gray tabby cat. Pura vida!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best local food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We all loved this place, including the kids! The food was great! Interesting venue! Lots of locals and animals visiting too! Worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our guide recommended this soda. My goal was to go to at least one soda so we gave it a shot! We all had Casado...typical Costa Rican fare. It was great! The food....the atmosphere....the people! The staff did not speak English well which was awesome because it forced my 15 year old son to use some of his Spanish! If you want to feel like a local....gotta try this spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda La Hormiga also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda La Hormiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda La Hormiga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.