We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by a local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda La Hormiga

Soda La Hormiga
Costado Oeste de la Terminal de Buses | A la Par de Mega Super y la Estacion de Buses, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 9247
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Fast Food, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on one side of La Fortuna's bus station, the best dish offered in this small place is the typical "Casado". But you can enjoy any other typical dish in this great Soda.
Salado, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Recommended by a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The guide that took us to the Venado caves recommended this small, open-air soda (Costa Rican for small restaurant or diner). The menu has English translations so it is easy to order even if you don't speak the language. The food is very simple but delicious and so much better than the restaurants we tried that cater to the tourist crowd. We went back 3 times during the week and were never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    55
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Favourite place in Fortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was hands down our favourite meal in Fortuna. Excellent prices, delicious fish and amazing fruit shakes!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
609 helpful votes 609 helpful votes
“Great prices, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ate here at the suggestion of some people we met on a tour. Food was good, service was fast but we weren't 'wowed' like we were at the nearby Soda Viquez. Although the prices here are lower, you also get less sides (and no rice pudding at the end of your meal). Our meal came to something like $8.00 for two casado plates, a water and a soda. Crazy inexpensive! Definitely worth a try while you're in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place is to the L of the bus stop. We ordered a milk shake, a more juice (blackberry) a burger and fries and a casado lunch. We were full and happy and refreshed at teh end of the meal and it cost us 5100 colones. 1800 for the burger, 2000 for the casado. We put down $11 and walked away stuffed and happy. No english but they have a picture menu posted and a larger menu at the table.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool little place, cheap and fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went here for breakfast, typical tico food, quick and fast. Great service, good prices. Since we have been coming here over the last few weeks the owners are very friendly as well as the locals. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda La Hormiga also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda La Hormiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda La Hormiga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.