We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rafting experience ever !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wave Expeditions

Wave Expeditions
La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+(506) 2479 7262
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Best One-stop Destination for Outdoor Adventure! WAVE Expeditions Adventure Company invites you to explore the famous northern zone of Costa Rica. WAVE Expeditions is BEST option for all your favorite outdoor activites in one location. Arenal is the one stop destination for Rafting, Canyoning, Hiking, Wildlife, Canopy, Biking and much more! WAVE Expeditions has earned a reputation for professionalism, organization, and high quality trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best rafting experience ever !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our family of 7 joined the Wave Exteditions La fortuna in Costa Rica last week.
We did rappelling in the morning and rafting in the afternoon.
The staff members were very friendly and helpful, and everyone was full of energy and fun to be with. They provided a very special local lunch that we all enjoyed (remember get enough food because they clean up fast, ha). I'll never forget about the break time half-way through the white-water rafting with sweet waternelon and pineapple right beside the river with their cute presentation. We had a big blast!!
This is the company that knows how to do their job and makes sure everyone is safe,happy and having fun! if you want to know the not so good side, I can just say the bus is kind of old, but with all the fun we had, it's not a big deal anymore.
Traveling is full of unknowns, and we were lucky to find them!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    59
    10
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exciting ride with great guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We took our two sons, 9 and 13, on this trip down the Balsa River. It was an exciting and scenic trip. Our guide Carlos was super, very take-charge and charming. We felt in very good hands. The company had a very strong emphasis on safety, along with the fun. Afterwards, we were taken to a magnificent house/restaurant for a traditional Costa Rican lunch. It was a great day. And don't forget you sunscreen!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The most exciting day of my vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I throughly enjoyed my day on the river. I would probably start with the class II and III rapids next time, as I had never been white water rafting before, and this was definitely very rough rapids. The guides were very friendly and kept encouraging you throughout the day that you were doing fine. The snack and meal that they provide you with were very delicious. They provide door-to-door pickup service which was very nice. They also do a very informative safety talk.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We took our 8 and 11 year old kids on the Balsa River, which is a Level 2/3 river. The trip was super fun, and the guides were safety focused and spent lots of time showing us bits of nature. One thing to consider is not let a young kid "ride the bull". Our 11 year old did it and was tossed into the river in the middle of some rapids, which got pretty scary. A great touch was a great lunch and seeing how sugar cane is processed. Guides were nice, fun, and seemed to know what they were doing. Finally, they took great pictures from a few locations. You get the CD for $25.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“They really care!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the moment we got picked up at our resort, the folks at Wave Expedition really went out of their way to make our day special. They were thorough with their safety talk, stopped to show us poison frogs on the hike to the river and expertly took care of us all on the river. The lunch and snack were excellent - highly recommend this company - the fact that they cared so much was evident by the high level of service they provided. We want to bring our kids back and we would not hesitate to do this again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wave Expeditions also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Wave Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wave Expeditions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.