We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel price, hotel quality, B&B friendliness and helpfulness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Choza Inn

Save Saved
You added La Choza Inn to your Saves list
La Choza Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Choza Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Side northwest of the Park 300 meters West, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park ., Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hostel price, hotel quality, B&B friendliness and helpfulness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If this is La Choza Inn owned by Daniel with employees Danilo, Carlos, and Marta: these are the sweetest, nicest people with the prettiest rooms for just $5 or $10 above hostel prices. They are extremely helpful in arranging activities as well, have their own van, offer some tours, and serve an egg, fruit, toast, juice, and coffee breakfast included. The big kitchen and living room is charming and always open. The garden is beautiful. The location is very close to center of town and down 10 meters of dirt road from Wave Expeditions, my other favorite organization in La Fortuna. I am not sure why there are 2 La Choza Inns listed in La Fortuna. The other one listed in Trip Advisor is Hotel La Choza. Is this the same place?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at La Choza inn by recommendation of friends who have stayed here before
the place is located right by La Fortuna but away from the street or noise
right there we were able to arrange transportation and tours as they have a travel agency right in there

the rooms are clean and comfortable, you can take rooms with or without private bathroom
there is a communal kitchen and other facilities

hope to be back some day

Room Tip: we stayed at rooms 8 and 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The inn is located very close to the center of la fortuna, but far enough from the main road. A quiet place with very clean and nice rooms.
The owners and the staff are very nice and welcoming (say hey to Carlos zikokim...)
And they also have a very good laundry service with the best prices in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in a double with ensuite in the main building. The last two nights we moved into a room with aircon. This is US$45 instead of 35 a night, but we managed to get it for the same price for the last night :)

The place is clean, wifi is good in the rooms and the free breakfast is good, too. There's eggs, toast, fruit, coffee... the usual. Staff is friendly and the kitchen is well equipped, if you want to cook your own meals.

It's located one block behind the main street, which means it's very close to all the action but still very quiet.

The only thing we didn't like was the fact that the rooms smell a bit musty because the bathrooms don't have a window (but a fan). We tried to air the room as much as we could and hang the towels outside to dry, but there's only so much you can do. But I guess you don't spend that much time in the room anyway.

We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

La Choza is in a good spot, a couple blocks from the town center and quiet at nighttime. The staff was very kind and accommodating, especially Yuaner.

I did not like the room I stayed in-- it was in a rustic side building with dorm style rooms upstairs. They were not particularly clean (the top bunks were dusty and had dead bugs on them), swarmed with mosquitoes, and the shared bathroom was very rustic. As it was only $10 per night I can't complain too much, but I would recommend staying in the nicer rooms in the main building, or trying a different place if you're backpacking. The breakfast was nice to have, but lacked variety, and yes, as someone else commented, the eggs were a little off.

I would recommend this place for couples or people looking for a less expensive hotel, but not for backpackers. Also, everything in town was pretty expensive and tours were really spendy. If you are looking to travel on the cheap, La Fortuna is not the place to visit.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The rooms were clean, the staff helpful, and the breakfast great (though the eggs seemed a bit off, may have been our imaginations though.) A very reliable tour agency in the hotel, use them if you can, we didn't and got burned.

Room Tip: Decent price, clean and close to town. Stay in the private rooms though, the dorms were apparently a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Friendly staff, good prices, breakfast included, clean and beautiful rooms.
There is a communal kitchen and 2 computers.
They offer you a coffee you can make yourself in the room. Close to the centre!
I will come back and stay there, definitely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Choza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Choza Inn

Address: Side northwest of the Park 300 meters West, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park ., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Choza Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to la choza inn, we will be waiting for you this is your home in la fortuna arenal area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets, Tingo and Venere so you can book your La Choza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Choza Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Choza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.