We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, Helpful and Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Choza Inn

Save Saved
You added La Choza Inn to your Saves list
La Choza Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Choza Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Side northwest of the Park 300 meters West, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park ., Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, Helpful and Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The staff at La Choza was very helpful and friendly and made us feel right at home. (Yuaner at the front desk was especially helpful and went out of his way to help when my father got sick). The prices are very reasonable for what you get which includes free internet, free breakfast and a nice common kitchen - being close to a lot of restaurants and one block away from the two major tour providers in town is nice as well. I would definitely recommend La Choza Inn for independent travelers who want a good deal!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I had a lovely four night stay at La Choza Inn. I immediately felt right at home, and lucked out with a shared room all to myself with a view of the volcano. The staff and the family that runs it were all very friendly and helpful. It's a rustic place, which I mean genuinely and not as a euphemism for dirty. The building with the dorms felt like a log cabin. Sure, there were a couple of details that reminded me I was paying $8 a night - a bit of dirtiness here and there, and the bed wasn't very comfortable - but overall I really enjoyed my stay and thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Gerente at La Choza Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
hello dear starrynigth114

We are pleased to hear that you enjoy your stay at La Choza Inn.
we always like to make the customer feel at home, so our personal and rooms reflect the family feeling.
Thanks also for your advice to help us always to improve, we hope to see you in La Choza
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This place is a very good value with a nice location and very friendly staff.

The rooms are a little on the smaller side, but clean and comfortable. There is free wifi, free computer/internet access, and most remarkable, free phone calls to the US (the use the internet I think). The breakfast consists of the usual, coffee, fruit, toast, and best of all, peanut butter.
The on-site travel agency is convenient and reasonably priced (though by no means cheap -- La Fortuna turned out to be a VERY expensive destination).

The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010 via mobile

The inn was a great choice. Not too expensive and the service was great! It was within walking distance of desafio adventure which was great since we decided to go with them for the tours and we didn't regret it. Eagle tours is also run out of choza inn and I would highly recommend using them for the volcano hike if you choose to do it because they were cheapest and the tour kind of stinks either way- being crowded and touristy it's really not a hike.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Eagle Tours runs its operations out of this "hostel". My room was $25/night and was clean and adequate for a solo traveler. Not sure you would want to bring too much luggage - you would feel crowded. But the convenience of being within walking distance of restaurants, banks and town for that kind of money is great. I stayed 3 nights and took a tour arranged by Eagle Tours each day. I especially recommend the Cano Negro trip. The guides are excellent - cordial, informative and seemingly terribly interested in you having the best time in Costa Rica. There is also a kitchen for your use (thus the hostel designation) and community space with TV. But there is so much to see and so little time ! Who wants to sit in front of a television? Internet Access in the lobby.
I would recommend this hotel to people who don't need frills.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed in the Choza Inn for 2 nights and, since it was raining nonstop we ended up spending days with the staff and in the hostel, The kitchen was nice and there was cable TV which helped us alot during the rain. The staff speaks perfect English and were very nice.The rooms were clean and comfy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

My boyfriend and I took a jeep-boat-jeep (best way to go) from Monteverde to La Fortuna without an idea of where we would stay. During the second 'jeep' ride our driver and I chatted in Spanglish. I mentioned we were looking for a room for a few nights on the cheap-mid range so he took us to La Choza. (It was not a coincidence that the company that ran the jeep-b-jeep, Eagle Tours, operates out of La Choza.) If you can say one thing about the guys who run the hotel its that they are connected. There must have been 30 guys in green 'Eagle'-branded shirts coming and going from the premises. There are a lot of people to answer your questions or book your tours, there is always someone behind the desk and they do speak english for you non-spanish-speakers. (On that note, I think there was more ingles que espanol in CR- an unhappy development for those of us who travel to experience Different cultures.)

Moving on...our room was clean when we got to it. It didn't receive much attention in the way of cleaning during our 2 day/ 2 night stay; but in their defense the boyfriend was sick so I had asked them to come back later which could have been mistranslated into not needing the service altogether. The kitchen communal area is great- free internet, couches, tv, tons of dishes, big fridge. Nice outside sitting area.

I will say that it doesn't have much character as far as art, personality or color goes. So if you are looking for an original experience this isn't your place. It was just like any other hotel, not much style and the guests weren't bubbling over with personality. But for $25 a night for a room with 2 beds, private bathroom and an adorable puppy name Machas! all around it's a great deal. And the people who run it were really great.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Choza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Choza Inn

Address: Side northwest of the Park 300 meters West, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park ., Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Choza Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to la choza inn, we will be waiting for you this is your home in la fortuna arenal area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your La Choza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Choza Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Choza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.