We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Corin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Corin to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Corin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$231 (USD)
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Very Good Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here for three nights on the first leg of our honeymoon---very nice hotel. The pools were great and the staff friendly. We stayed in a junior suite---great view of the volcano and a really really nice set up in the room. The food at the hotel is good, but it is a few miles from La Fortuna. It costs 8 USD to get to La Fortuna by taxi--ask staff for great eating suggestions. Overall, we were very pleased with the place and would go back again. It does have some mold issues, though it is in a rainforest and it rains every day so that is going to be everywhere--the staff was actively fighting the mold and we really didn't notice anything dirty or bad about the place---we really liked it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    305
    51
    18
    15
See reviews for
325
704
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Really loved everything here. The room was fabulous. The staff beyond expectations. The hot water pools there to make you feel pampered. Swim up bar tender went out of his way to meet our needs. Even the iguanas posed for pictures for us. Highly suggest asking staff to direct you to eat where they would eat in the town of LA fortuna. You will not be disappointed. They even arranged transportation. Loved our stay here 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I feel it is my duty to inform everyone that this hotel is dirty and full of mold. The management does not care about their guest and refuses to address the issue. I checked the hotel across the street and it did not have any mold and was a much better hotel all around. You will find the staff is not very customer service oriented. STAY AWAY

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

While this may not have as much zen power as the other larger thermal hotels in the area, this is a great place if you are out and about for much of the day, as we were. The rooms were well appointed with a volcano view ( when it finally cleared) and immaculately kept. The pools are yes, smaller and perhaps not as plentiful as the Tabacon but I felt that for what we needed, 5 or 6 pools are great. They do close at 10 pm, which is great as it can get a bit noisy even though the thick window panes. ( and most people are so tired from the day adventures!) We found the front desk staff, and wait staff every attentive at breakfast. We were not on an all inclusive. So, if you;re looking for a pretty place that does not have "all the bells and whistles" but more than enough for most- this is a wonderful choice. Make sure you go to the penthouse bar. Very cool.

Room Tip: all rooms on volcano view, not sure if higher rooms may be slightly less loud after 9 pm?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Hotel Royal Corin is beautiful on the inside and kept very clean. It has an interesting Asian theme for art/decor and the hot spring pool was very nice. The room was fine but could have used some updates--the wall paper was peeling in some areas, shower tiles were missing, and the safe had a key instead of a lock code.
Notably, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and the balcony view was awesome! The breakfast that was included was decent and had some variety; however, the dinner food was excellent and although pricy, well worth it. Surprisingly, the outside of the hotel was not kept even remotely as nice as the inside. The umbrellas and canopies in the pool area were worn out, faded, ripped, moldy and dirty. Some of the furniture was falling apart and the roof over the pool bar looked like it had not been cleaned since the hotel was first built. The drinks at the pool bar were okay, and the bartenders were pleasant enough but the ambiance and vibe of the outside area was "blah."
Lastly, the hotel does not have a fitness center, which was also surprising because it looks like the kind of hotel that would have a state of the art facility. Although I took advantage of many active adventures during our stay in the area, I did miss having access to a gym. Overall, my husband and I were pleased with our stay at the Hotel Royal Corin. It was a solid choice, especially for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our first trip to Costa Rica. Absolutely loved Royal Corin. Everything about this hotel is quality. Great food, room and pools. Loved the swim up bar. Our server Daniel went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. Great complementary breakfast. Food in restaurant was top quality. Would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: All rooms a great. Face the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Food was good for the all-inclusive price. The hotel looks breath taking in pictures but when you get there you realize that the pools are very small as well as the hotel. I do not know if it was because we are locals but service wasn't as good as I thought it would be, specially the bartender at the wet bar, he seemed to hate to be there which made us feel very uncomfortable. Service at check in and at the restaurant was great. Rooms were just not what I expected, they seemed very old and smelled weird and the wi-fi connection didn't work in our room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Corin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Corin

Address: 4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Corin 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Corin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
Hotel Royal Corin Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Corin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.