We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Friendly Service, Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Corin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Corin to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Corin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$295 (USD)
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Hotel - Friendly Service, Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Hotel was clean, great atmosphere, and not too far from everything. The staff explained the different excursions available and made it easy to book them. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    974
    318
    57
    20
    17
See reviews for
343
736
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this resort and would definitely stay again. The service is outstanding and the the resort is very clean. Beautiful view of the volcanos. The front desk helped us arrange all of our activities without any issues. The food was very good at the restaurant for all meals. If required the front desk can arrange a low priced taxi (6 dollars) for the short trip back into town to go for dinner at a local restaurant (which we did). The driver then came and picked us up after dinner. Again service was exceptional. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just finished 5 days at the Royal Corin, and it was absolutely wonderful. The hot spring pools were amazing. Breakfast was delicious. Happy hour at the Lava Bar was always welcoming after adventuring all day. Not to mention the incredible views of Volcan Arenal. Staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Plus you can smoke on the balcony of your room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the volcano, so you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I actually laughed when I got an email from Royal Corin asking to write a review. I guess they are begging for some bad publicity.

A week before we arrived we received an email explaining that there would be some construction in the parking lot going on but we would be placed on the opposite side of the hotel to avoid any noise.

When we arrived at the hotel we were told the same thing. Then while walking to our room our bellhop sprinted up the stairs after us with another set of room keys saying this room will be better.

We were placed on the top floor over the construction, all day banging, yelling, trucks and bulldozers driving in and out, dumping rocks, backing up and beeping.

Even on the other side of the hotel you could hear the noise.

And when you are having breakfast and lunch in the dining room, the trucks and bulldozers seem to be on an endless loop through the driveway which lays adjacent to the dining area. Loud trucks and machine. Very relaxing.

Thumbs down!

also there's a dog that barks all night, non-stop in the farm next door. Sweet dreams.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal Corin, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Cfoer:

We are really sorry for the inconveniences’ during your stay at the hotel. We tried to minimize as much we can the discomfort for the maintenance work in the parking lot. All the works were scheduled from 8 am to 4 pm to avoid the noise. The work took 10 day and now is already done. For sure now everyone that come to rest and relax will be not disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an excellent hotel to stay in the Arenal area. The rooms were clean and modern. The beds had wonderful linens and comfortable mattresses. The hotel has very nice hot springs and and a swim up bar.

We travelled with several children, and they really enjoyed the hot springs! Jorge, the maintenance man, walked the children around the pool to show them the resident iguanas and their babies. That was so sweet of him. Thank you!

The complimentary breakfast was delicious and offered something for everyone.

The staff was very nice and communicated well. We appreciated them setting up all of our tours. We emailed them ahead of our arrival and the hotel responded quickly. They also set up our transportation from the airport.

We went on some amazing tours with the kids, We went on the float ride which was fun, but simple. We saw some monkeys, a cayman, lots of lizards and iguanas. We also went to Ecocentro Danaus, the Sky Walk (Hanging Bridges, Sky Tram, and Sky Trek. We did all the "Sky" tours on the same day. I would recommend everything, especially the Sky Trek (zip ling)

The only complaint was that we had requested adjoining rooms in our reservation and also during our email conversations, but the hotel does not have adjoining rooms. We didn't learn of this until we arrived. Consequently, my husband and I had to sleep unexpectedly in separate rooms with children.

Otherwise it was an excellent place to stay. Great value and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a very nice stay. Very nice staff. Good breakfast. Very nice clean rooms with great showers. Unfortunately there was construction going on. Enjoyed Jorge the Gardner and meeting Valentina the iguana

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Took my daughter to Arenal for her high school graduation trip. Royal Corin was the perfect choice for us. We were able to arrange transportation from the airport to the hotel. Our driver was waiting for us at the airport, which was a great relief. The trip is long (about 3 hours) but the van was comfortable and cool in the humidity. We stopped at a great mid point souvenir/ coffee shop and I had the BEST cup of coffee which perked me up after the long flights and trip to hotel.
The hotel is beautiful and clean. The lobby very inviting (as was the welcome punch). Our room with balcony faced the volcano and despite being there during "low season", we had great weather during the day and had a great view of the volcano each morning. Breakfast is included and more than enough to get you going. We visited the Lava Bar (top level) several evenings for 'happy hour' and enjoyed the light fare and view. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I loved the fact that the hotel had a driver "Danny" who took us back and forth to La Fortuna and also to a local ecological reserve. He gave us great suggestions for restaurants and I would recommend Cafe Rainforest, Nene's, Pizzaria Vagamundo.
Everyone was friendly, happy and helpful, which says a lot re: the management. My only complaint, which was not foreseen, was some type of repair being done the day I scheduled a spa treatment in the beautiful spa. It had to be postponed and also moved to a different location, not as appealing as the actual spa. The receptionist did more than her part in making my experience as good as it could be.
We booked all of our excursions through the hotel and after "shopping around" town I decided it was worth it, plus their recommendations were the safest possible. My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Royal Corin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Corin

Address: 4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Corin 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Royal Corin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
Hotel Royal Corin Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Corin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.