We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best volcano view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Corin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Corin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Royal Corin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cartago, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best volcano view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is excellent specially the volcano view, we were in a standard room and our view to the volcano was spectacular. The breakfast was excellent and the termal water pools and jacuzzis very relaxing. The rooms are very clean bed very confortable and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    842
    267
    44
    16
    14
See reviews for
281
643
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were at the hotel from Thursday through Saturday and had a great stay. The pillows are not the best and the food in the restaurant is overpriced but the location is central to a lot of excursions! The staff is very friendly and always there to help! I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again. The view of Arenal volcano is amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We upgraded to the suites and they are really spacious, clean , a big living room and jacuzzi .
The staff is extremely helpful and respond immediately to any request. The view of the volcano from the room is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Everything was wonderful accept the Espresso Coffee. Couldn't drink it because it was not true espresso roast bean was medium roast. Would be much better if you used an extra dark roasted bean. I love coffee so it was very disappointing not to be able to get a good dark roast coffee at a fine hotel. Like I said everything else was wonderful and service excellent.

Room Tip: Corder suites large and sunny, excellent view on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo1974, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal Corin, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you Lynn, for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you had a good time, we´ll take care about your comment of the Expresso Coffee and next time you visit us enjoy a good coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel was great, my kids enjoyed the hot spring pools. All areas of the hotel were extremely clean and with a great atmosphere. Breakfast read very good. The only suggestion will be to get more soft pillows as the current ones were not very comfortable, we asked the reception for other pillows but they don't have them. But OVERALL I recommend this place for your next vacations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo1974, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal Corin, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
MarcoC977:

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel, we´ll take care about the pillows to make more confortable the stay of future guests.

Best Regards,


Roy Cerdas
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed only one night and were sorry it wasn't longer! The staff was so gracious and helpful. This included the front desk staff who made our "adventure" reservations and then let us have a late checkout so we could wait in the room between tours, the gardener who showed me the very large resident iguana and then gave me some lettuce to feed it, the massage therapist whose 70 minute massage took closer to 80 minutes, and the restaurant staff who allowed us to have TWO breakfasts after we returned from the zip line tour at 10 a m and explained that since we left at 6:40 a m (and breakfast opens at 6:30)we didn't have enough time to eat very much.
The rooms are big and immaculate and all have rain shower heads. This was really a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and all have a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

this is a beautiful hotel situated just below the Arenal Volcano. Upon check-in we were advised that there was continental complementary breakfast in the morning, and after driving 3+ that morning, we were exhausted and hungry, and happy it was still before 10am for the complementary breakfast. When we finished we were shocked when brought a bill for $35 - when we inquired were told breakfast would be complementary the following day, not today. The breakfast was good, but i wouldn't have spent that much on it, we would have preferred go into town for a local breakfast of $4 so I'm disappointed no one advised us of the fee. Not the person we checked in with (when i remarked that it was early enough to get the breakfast) or when the person seated us and when we told he our hotel room and said checked in today didnt mention anything about a fee, or the waiter when he asked when we arrived. Since we were only spending the extra money to be here for our honeymoon and already spending a lot for that, the extra $35 pinch was painful. Other that that, beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo1974, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal Corin, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Jaime M:

Usually when we have an early check in (before 10 am), breakfast is not included. This is a complementary service provide upon the first night stay. The front desk staff always advised about this charge during the process of check in when we have early check in´s. Unfortunately we did not have your complaint during the moment of the charge or during the check out process to make at least a discount for this charge.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal Corin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Corin

Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
Hotel Royal Corin Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Corin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Corin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Corin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.