We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of surprise fees” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Corin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Corin to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Corin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beware of surprise fees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

this is a beautiful hotel situated just below the Arenal Volcano. Upon check-in we were advised that there was continental complementary breakfast in the morning, and after driving 3+ that morning, we were exhausted and hungry, and happy it was still before 10am for the complementary breakfast. When we finished we were shocked when brought a bill for $35 - when we inquired were told breakfast would be complementary the following day, not today. The breakfast was good, but i wouldn't have spent that much on it, we would have preferred go into town for a local breakfast of $4 so I'm disappointed no one advised us of the fee. Not the person we checked in with (when i remarked that it was early enough to get the breakfast) or when the person seated us and when we told he our hotel room and said checked in today didnt mention anything about a fee, or the waiter when he asked when we arrived. Since we were only spending the extra money to be here for our honeymoon and already spending a lot for that, the extra $35 pinch was painful. Other that that, beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo1974, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal Corin, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Jaime M:

Usually when we have an early check in (before 10 am), breakfast is not included. This is a complementary service provide upon the first night stay. The front desk staff always advised about this charge during the process of check in when we have early check in´s. Unfortunately we did not have your complaint during the moment of the charge or during the check out process to make at least a discount for this charge.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    312
    53
    19
    16
See reviews for
335
710
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Food was very good. Michael the waiter is excellent. Very nice. Hotel is beautiful. Staff is super helpful. Amazing view. Bathroom was spotless. Bed is comfy but pillows are uncomfortable. Shower is really cool. Balcony was nice at nighttime to see the volcano. Spa was incredible. We got the 70 minute hot stone massage definitely recommend it. Make the trip into the town. It's definitely worth it. Pool was a little hot for me but the bar was great. Try the ABC drink. It's amazing!! Zip lining, hanging bridges, ATV, safari rafting were definitely worth the money!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wonderful Hotel, the best in the La Fortuna / Arenal Area!!! The hotel was beautiful with great views of the Volcano. Everything was immaculate. The rooms were big and modern, the restaurant was fabulous, and the pool and hot springs were perfect. By far the best place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms face the volocano, but request the 3rd or 4th floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Hotel Royal Corin for 2 nights this month. We were greeted with a welcome fruit drink from Esteban. The room was beautiful with a wonderful view of the Arenal Volcano and gorgeous pool that was lovely to look at in the evening. It was quiet and relaxing. At night the area "came to life". The sounds of the wildlife at night i shall never forget. It was pleasureable to wake up to the sounds of birds. The grounds of the hotel were immaculate. The staff were very helpful to assist in arranging excusions and whatever we needed. The food was tasty and visually appealing. Extensive selection of food at breakfast. Dinner was exceptional.
The duck dish we had was great. Portions were generous . Staff always attentive , topping off the coffee often. Esteban and Daniel were two staff members that we had been in contact with. They were attentive, courteous, and genuinely friendly. We definately would stay there again. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Awesome place! All the rooms have the Arenal Volcano view. Great view! The pool area is amazing, hot springs, jacuzzi, steam room are great to spend a relaxing time. The rooms?.. Wow! I was with my boyfriend in the master suit and it is beautiful, everything with a exquisite decoration!
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After the disappointment of "Hotel and Country Club" in Guapiles we stayed 3 nights at Royal Corin at La Fortuna.

A difference of day and night.

Lovely room, excellent food beautiful view.

We enjoyed our stay

Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Royal Corin for two nites and we highly recommend it. The front desk spoke fluent English and were very friendly and helpful. We waited till we got there to book our excursions and they did everything for us. The room was really nice and the bed was super comfortable. We slept with the screen door to the balcony open and had such a nice breeze accompanied by the sound of their hot springs fountains. The shower head was waterfall style which I became slightly obsessed with. The resort is a bit quieter so if you are looking for a resort to party at this is probably not your place.. But if you are looking for a quiet place to de-stress from your busy world, this is your place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Corin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Corin

Address: 4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Corin 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Corin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
Hotel Royal Corin Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Corin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.