We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort to your Saves list
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Personalized luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Royal Corin is an experience in luxury with personal attention by the entire staff. You are greeted by the bellman and registration staff who have been awaiting your arrival and are welcomed by a refreshing tropical drink. The hotel is beautiful with a strong Asian influence. There are multiple pools with a wonderful swim-up bar in the largest. The Loto Spa is fantastic. Most of all it is the staff. Everyone is there to ensure you have a vacation of a life-time!

Room Tip: We needed two beds and one was a roll-in, but it was very comfortable. You may want to double check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank advtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that offers fabulous views of the Arenal Volcano and is just a few minutes drive away from the town of La Fortuna. Hotel Royal Corin and La Fortuna was the second stop on our recent Costa Rico honeymoon.

Besides the outstanding view, the property has beautiful heated swimming pools and hot tubs. I especially enjoyed the stone lounge chairs inside the heated pool, and the in-pool bar area for drinks and snacks.

This was a great location to serve as a base for excursions in the area. You can literally walk right across the road to the Baldi Hot Springs and many other adventures are within just a few minutes drive.

Room Tip: It appears that all of the rooms face the Volcano and pool. We were on the top floor, which probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York. PA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On February 23, 2013 my wife and I stayed at the Royal Corin. We registered there as part of tour organized by Colette Travel Services. We were struck by the beauty of the hotel and the surrounding area. The area is noted for its hot springs and of course the Arnel volcano right across the road. Royal Corin had numerous pools both in front of the hotel and also to the rear. We obtained our keys and retired to our room to rest. The room was very nice and clean. There was a small veranda outside the sliding door looking onto the volcano. Unfortunately the clouds had covered most of it. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very nice. The shower is one you read about but never have an opportunity to shower in. The huge showerhead was directly overhead and there were jets lined on both sides from top to bottom. Then of course there was a radio. I guess there are no water restrictions in Costa Rica since every shower and faucet I turned on ran full force. We ate breakfast twice in the restaurant and dinner once, both enjoyable. Although we did not have an opportunity to use the pools we were told by fellow travelers that they were very pleasurable. The staff at the hotel was courteous and professional but not particularly friendly.

The cons: When my wife walked into the bathroom It had a very unpleasant odor. I looked around. The only place I could find was a floor drain. My wife reported this to the front desk before we left the hotel for the day. I also reported that our coffee maker only gave us and partial cup of coffee. When we returned we found there was an attempt to correct the odor but it was unsuccessful and there was no attempt to fix the coffee maker. If your room to too far from the main lobby you may not get their free wifi signal.

Would I return to the Royal Corin, yes. If we had more time I am sure we would have had the opportunity to enjoy the amenities we were not able to take advantage of.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the elevator or steps are most desirable for convience on any floor although one ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drs1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here for 3 nights. This hotel exceeded my expectations. It was very elegant and soothing. Loved the thermal pools but they can get really hot. Just note that there is a good-sized pool on the left that is only 80 degrees Fahrenheit and it is great for a dip to cool off. Everyone at the hotel was friendly, welcoming and helpful. All rooms have a great view of the volcano, but if the weather doesn't cooperate, you may not see it all the way to the top during your stay. We didn't but that was fine as our stay was so lovely. It rained on and off every day but don't let that put a damper on your activities. Just bring a poncho or waterproof windbreaker and take it with you everywhere as the showers start and stop throughout the day. Speaking of showers, we were thrilled with our standard room and its rainfall shower! Awesome bonus! The room was very clean, good-sized and had a balcony which we spent a lot of time on. It has sliding glass doors so you can just leave the sliding door open all night and you are sleeping in fresh air and nature. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. We loved it and we will definitely return! Thank you, Hotel Royal Corin, for making our stay in La Fortuna so happy!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

One of the nicest, most comfortable places we've every stayed. The staff was warm and welcoming, and every detail perfect. The food in the restaurant was superb! Don't miss the tequila flan. We had a terrific view of the volcano from our balcony and enjoyed the hot springs-fed pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoyleLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff was extremely accommodating for us, friendly, and helpful. They even let us borrow umbrellas for our day trip (in the rain). The hotel was spotless, and very comfortable. Great views from every room overlooking the volcano and pools and waterfalls below. Breakfast is included and was quite a spread. Had I known, we would have stayed more than one night! I didn't book any spa services, but after I went in there just to peek, I wish I would have!

Room Tip: The rooms with "twin" beds are actually closer to full.. Very comfortable and rooms are sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel may look like a monstrosity to its neighbours but once inside it is actually quite comfortable and has good views. On rainy days (ie: most days) the hot pools offer a good place to warm up. The main pool is even swimmable unlike the one at Nayara. Also the rooms are brighter and generally functional except for a shortage of hooks to hang clothes on.
The meals at the restaurant were quite good and reasonably priced.
You won't fall in love with this place but overall we found it quite practical as a base from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anachronist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.4 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,647 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 68 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#12 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing