We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Corin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal Corin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Corin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Klundert, NL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights but I wished we stayed 3 weeks. The welcome in the hotel is very good. We were very early, around 11 am and we were able to check in right away. A fresh fruit cocktail was our welcome. Very tasty. The people working in the hotel are very friend.

The suite 401 we stayed in was amazing! A lott of space, very clean, a very big king size bed, much bigger then we have seen. We had 2 balconys, a jaccuzy with TV, rainshower, TV it was to much to mention.

If you want to spoil yourself, go to this hotel! With a perfect view on the Arenal Vulcano. Get up early an enjoy the view it is amazing.

The swimmingpool is very hot and is a pleasure to be in. There are beds in the swimmingpool where you can relax and enjoy a drink. Perfect! Also different hottubs to enjoy!

The hotel is perfect. The only thing they should pay a little more attention to is the breakfast. The hotel is so nice and everything is so perfect that you expect a bit more of the breakfast. The breakfast is good, no complains, but I had expext it a little bit more fancy but it still is good.

But if you are looking for a place to stay, take a suite in this hotel! You will be glad you did!
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a suite for example 401!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    882
    277
    48
    16
    14
See reviews for
297
667
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very nice four star property with several natural hot springs pools on site. Very good breakfast buffet included. A four star restaurant on site. Note that restaurants in Costa Rica typically include a 10% service charge in your bill, and you need to adjust your gratuities accordingly. While closer to La Fortuna than Arenal Manoa and close to the main highway, still requires either a cab or a rental car to get around. However, this is true of most hotels in the area. Fortunately cabs are relatively inexpensive. We were there during peak season (Dec 29th) and found room rates somewhat excessive. However, it is a function of the market and the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel room was very nice and clean with a great view of the volcano. Spa was really good!

However, for the amount you pay for the room, food and drinks the customer service could be a lot better. Key tips for the hotel staff:
1) Smile!
2) Manners (please and thank you go a long way)!
3) Dont make the customer feel like their request/s is/are such a bother. especially when you pay $400+ for a room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo1974, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal Corin, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Darren R:

Thank you for your review, we are really sorry that you felt our customer service not according with your expectations, we´ll take care about the points you mentioned to improve our service

Roy Cerdas
Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hot springs were great to dip in to after our days of activities!
We were not at the hotel much but while there we enjoyed the accommodations.
The food was ok but it (morning buffet) was super convenient when heading out in the mornings.
The 5th floor has a nice lounge!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon and this was our first stop and what a fabulous experience! We were immediately greeted by welcome cocktails and friendly service. Our room was beautiful with an amazing view from our balcony of the Arenal Volcano and the pools and jacuzzis. The rooms are spacious, VERY CLEAN, and the showers are fantastic! Our room was so comfortable, I actually slept through an earthquake! We had complimentary delicious breakfast every day of our stay with wonderful staff and beautiful garden views if you sit outside. We also had dinner there one night and it was a delicious meal (and we are tough critics food wise!). We utilized the incredible spa on site for couples massages (followed by cocktails next to their koi ponds!) and the treatments were AMAZING! The pools and jacuzzis were wonderful and not too crowded during our stay. Another fun bonus was the nightly treats left for us in our room, we specifically loved the strawberry cream puffs! Not only would we recommend this hotel to anyone looking for beautiful adult accommodations, but we would absolutely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Quite unexpected to find such a modern hotel in the middle of so much nature. The standard rooms are clean the bathrooms are modern and clean as well , the balcony areas always share too much open space with one of the rooms next door .
The decor reminds me of hindu art , yet simple enough , nice green view. The Jr. suite was much nicer compared to the standard rooms in every aspect.
The hot volcanic water pool was very warm with a wet bar to have drinks while in the water, Besides the other two pools and the cave like Sauna . Very good breakfast and very good lunch menu at prices that I would usually not pay.
Serious but helpful staff working in the ever changing micro climate between sunny and rainy of la Fortuna area. (no wonder why they have so much natural hot water . I did not check out the Lava bar nor the spa .

Room Tip: Rooms at the sides of the building are nice to just sit on the balcony and relax without being the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Location = Amazing
Quality of Room = Beyond Amazing
Quality of Service = Beyond Amazing
Quality of amenities = Beyond Amazing
View = Amazing

Food, Food Service, and selection = Eh. For a 5 star hotel it had 2-3 star selection at 5-6 star prices.

Room Tip: breakfast is slim. mostly pastries and buffet limited food. beyond that AMAZZZZZZZZZZZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal Corin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Corin

Address: 4,2 Km West of Catholic Church | on Road to Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Corin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal Corin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
Hotel Royal Corin Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Corin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.